Avon ZV7

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 72%
Wear 78%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 78%

The Avon ZV7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Replacing the acclaimed Avon ZV5, the newly-developed ZV7 incorporates a range of advanced technologies that mean it offers a host of added features and benefits.

The distinctive tread pattern of the new Avon ZV7 is designed with large circumferential grooves that clear water quickly and efficiently to reduce aquaplaning in the wet. It features sequenced tread blocks to reduce noise generated from the road, providing a quieter driving experience.

The Avon ZV7 tread pattern also features 3D sipes, which have interlocking three dimensional points inside the sipe. The 3D sipes provide the same benefits of a traditional sipe, including helping the tyre warm up and providing enhanced wet grip, but limit the amount of flex in the tread block which helps control the amount of heat generation in the dry and keeps the tread block stable.

Using the latest available polymer technology and advanced mixing techniques, the ZV7’s tread compound delivers excellent wet and dry grip while also reducing rolling resistance for great fuel efficiency.

This tyre replaced the Avon ZV5

Show All

Tyre review data from 63 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 319,406 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 25th of 45 tyres

2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Quietest tyre on test.
  • Negative - Weakest tyre in the dry and wet.

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tyre Test - 14th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning result, good comfort.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry, average price.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R15 82V   E A 68  
195/55 R15 85V   E A 69  
205/60 R15 91V   E A 69  
205/45 R16 83W   E A 69  
195/50 R16 88V XL   E A 70  
195/55 R16 87V   E A 69  
205/55 R16 91W   C A 69  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 93V   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 70  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70  
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C A 70  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 70  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 70  
215/55 R17 94W   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 70  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 70  
225/40 R18 92W XL   C A 70  

Questions and Answers for the Avon ZV7

2016-09-06 - Hi, when did the Avon ZV7 replace the ZV5? thanks

The Avon ZV7 was launched in April 2016


2017-05-03 - Could you let me know ZV7 tyres are unidirectional please? I have purchased a pair of 225/40/R18 for my VW Golf online, I request a pair suitable for my front axle, nearside and offside front, however they have arrived today and appear to for one side only, ie inline. I would be grateful for your advice.

The Avon ZV7 is asymmetric, which means it can run in any direction. The tyre must be mounted correctly on the wheel, but it can go either side of the car, even if the tread pattern does look slightly different side to side.


2019-06-07 - Would the Avon ZV7 fitted to my Volvo V70 2009, be ok as I tow a caravan. Within the specification it states for passenger cars.

Yes, as long as you're within the specified load rating.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £55.91 - £68.04 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £41.71 - £60.22 (34 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R16 £56.76 - £75.25 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £61.27 - £87.70 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £47.88 - £69.02 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 43 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Avon ZV7 Review

Given 90% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Great dry grip in any direction! Wet grip is excellent when starting and stopping; they do slide a bit when pushed to the limits although you do have to push it very hard!
The ride is smooth at all speeds although this does limit the feedback you get for them.
Overall they are fantastic value and they definitely keep up with tyres over twice the price.
274 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2016   

Latest Avon ZV7 Reviews

Have you driven on the Avon ZV7 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the ZV7.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 54% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Bought these for the front of my 08 tdi fiesta 1.6.
On the 5 April covered 7000 miles since then. Went back to get two rear last Friday 20th September, and was told that I needed two front also..even wear across tyre, just wore out...
23 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Volvo V40 D4 Cross Country (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Had new set of 4 ZV7 to replace set of Continentals. Instantly noticed better handling in dry and in particular in heavy rain. They are more responsive on tight cornering also much quieter on road noise. Have not had them long enough to give opinion on wear. But they were recommended to me by friend who got 29,000 miles return from his set and replaced with new set of ZX7. But the best part is they are British made, and buying them is supporting British jobs.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2019   
These are the best tyres in the world. Watch now!
Given 100% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Fitted a new set of these tyres to my Mondeo 2.5 v6 in early 2017 and have done about 18,000 miles since. Wear - They are just about due for changing on the front but I can't complain at all about the wear as I tend to be a little more heavy footed. Back ones have around 1/2 left.
Handling - Amazing, the turn in is so direct and they grip all day long. In the wet they are fantastic, never had wheel spin or lack of grip even with the high power through the front wheels.
Noise - Well as far as i can say they're pretty much silent, I never hear any tyre roar.
Value for money - Spot on, can't complain when I paid £70 a corner at the time.
All weather - ironically i managed to get up a slope to my house in light snow no problem at all! I'm not for one minute saying they're winter tyres but they got me a small incline from flat standstill!
In the wet, I've read these tyres aren't quite up to the mark but in reality (certainly on my car) they are fantastic and you even feel the confidence through the wheel that they will grip exceptionally through sharp turns and when braking.
Performance off the line - I had some poor landsails on before and the difference was astonishing when I changed, the car felt so much more agile through bends and responsive. Excellent.

Overall I would 100% recommend these tyres and having experienced 'premium' tyres such as Continental or Pirelli, would say the price upgrade is not worth considering as they perform just as well in all conditions.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2019   
Alfa Romeo (225/45 R17 W) on for 500 miles
Only 500 miles so far but accurate turn in quiet ride and fuel consumption the same as for previous Pirelli P7 Cints. Driven on dry roads and in heavy rain and they give confidence when pushing in. Will no more about higher speed roadholding and wear as time goes on.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 4,500 average miles
These tyres are very good performing as I would have expected from past experience.
However the tyres I have fitted to my Volvo have only covered 4500 miles and all 4 have around 7mm of tread left so loads of life in them. Except that all four tyres are cracking at the base of the treads. The sort of quality I would not expect unless they were Chinese obscure branded D rated rubbish.

Not happy at all that I now have to look for new tyres which will not be Avons.

Check yours they could be the same. Mine have two different date numbers on but these relate manufacture within a few weeks of fitting.
10 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2019   

See all 62 customer reviews of the Avon ZV7 (newest first) >>

Advertisement