Bridgestone Potenza RE040

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 70%
Wear 65%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 54%
 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £73.88 - £73.88 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £126.00 - £156.37 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 9 tyre sizes - View all.

Bridgestone Potenza RE040 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 76% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Very good tire at all road conditions.
No weakness at dry,wet or cornering.
Problem is very noisy tire, if comfort is important and your car isolation is not perfect replace them with a low noise tire immidiately.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2017   
Given 39% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
inherited these on the front of my secondhand mazda 6 sport - very noisy, tramlining dreadful particularly in slippery conditions - just replaced at 16000 miles, probably could have gotten another 3-4000 miles out of them but they were spoiling the driving for me and they were starting to look at bit fatigued - chose goodyear efficient grip performance and its like driving on clouds - just joyful! would never have bought these in the first place being a self confessed michelin fan but having driven on them for 18 months I cant recommend them at all
0 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2014   
Given 81% while driving a Audi 3,0 tdi quattro sport (225/40 R19 R) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
Over 32000 miles on my Audi A8 3.0TDI Quattro over mixed roads
2 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2013   
Given 74% while driving a Infiniti G35 Coupe (235/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Tires stick like sh*t to a blanket in the dry. Not too bad in the wet, but could be better.
It must be noted that these are very noisy tires. A G35 is a very quiet car, and these tires were very audible. Very stiff sidewalls, which is most likely the reason for the awesome feedback. They're also vey progressive when peeling out from a corner.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2013   
Given 69% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Hard. Good dry. Average wet. Noisy.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2013   
Given 70% while driving a Audi a6 avant 3.0 tdi s line (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
In my opinion this tyres are amayzing. Very good grip on dry road. Very quiet, good grip, but wear is very bad. I bought them at 50%wear, and in 10,000KM were sliks:)). I was very happy with them. In my drive limits them never lost grip. I was afraid to push more but this summer i will. Now I have more experience. Very good tyres for 20E per tyre.(second hand)I had only 2 Potenza on back. This summer I will buy 4.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2013   
Given 70% while driving a Infiniti G35 Coupe (235/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tires are amazing. Really smooth on peeling off from traction round a corner, and really great feedback through the steering wheel.
No squeal when I do break traction from an intersection, which is also an added bonus.
Extremely good performance in the dry, and not too shabby in the wet either.
I didn't think the life of the tire was very good, but my style of driving probably doesn't help matters one bit.
Probably the only downside to these tires are the noise. They are, in my opinion, a very noisy tire. 100km/h motorway cruising and they are noticeable. Not deafening, but definitely audible.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2012   
Given 50% while driving a Nissan Primera (185/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
If you are thinking of buying the Potenza RE040, make sure you have a good sound system to avoid the loud noise of these tyres!!!!..Also in wet condition ,ride seems unsafe as hell..I'm not happy!!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2012