Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat

Dry Grip 72%
Wet Grip 53%
Road Feedback 55%
Handling 49%
Wear 56%
Comfort 32%
Buy again 29%
 
Size Price Range  
225/35 R19 £138.00 - £149.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £92.70 - £99.80 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £84.20 - £90.40 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/30 R19 £160.20 - £175.80 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £154.00 - £162.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 20 tyre sizes - View all.

Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 31% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
On a 2016 520d M sport with 275/40/18 on rear.

Absolutely dreadful tyres.

I agree with all other reviews.

Extremely hard ride, tram lining constantly, barely any grip.

Worst tyres I’ve driven on.

Do not waste your money, get some Pirelli/Michelin/Goodyear. I’ve had a much better experience with them and they last a decent amount of distance.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2019   
Given 30% while driving a BMW 135i (235/30 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I got Re050s only on the rear of my BMW 135i as they were the only Runflat tyres available.
Despite always being properly inflated and driven quietly they were harsh and have only lasted 18 months and around 20,000 km before failing a vehicle check. Very disappointing.
I’m replacing them with the OEM Dunlops.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2019   
Given 30% while driving a BMW Z4 (255/30 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Absolutely terrible ride comfort. These tyres are so stiff they may as well be made from plastic.I've seen rear wheels cracking due to the stiff sidewall these have. I felt like selling my Z4 due to these awful tyres. No idea why BMW thought these would be a good tyre to go for.

I recently purchased some Goodyears (non-RFT) and the car is now transformed. Less road noise, more grip, less tramlining, more steering feedback which loads up nicely and a more comfortable ride. The car feels like a proper roadster now - great drip (especially in the wet) and the feedback I get is out of this world. Love my car now!

If you're thinking of moving away from Bridgestone run-flats, do it!
2 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2019   
Given 31% while driving a BMW 335i (225/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These tyres are simply awful. Grip is fair to good in most conditions but that is all I can say that is good about them. Ride is rock hard, it like having no suspension. They cause massive kickback through the steering whilst hitting bumps. I have also had three of the four tyres split between the tyrewall and tread area, despite being only a few months old and never been run flat or underinflated. Did I also mention than they are very expensive? I have since removed them and fitted regular non runflats, ride and handling is now miles better and they were much cheaper. I now carry a tin of tyre foam and a pump in the car for emergencies. Fitting non runflats also helps prevent wheels cracking, as with a runflat there is nothing to cushion the wheel from the bumps as they are so stiff. Not sure how Bridgestone got away with selling these...
2 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2019   
Given 43% while driving a BMW 330d M Sport (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
BMW 330d Not great in any respect. Have xDrive which is just as well as I can get the car to lose grip without trying very hard. Have done about 10,000 miles on them and as expected as the tread wears the grip is getting progressively worse. Have just gone to Pirelli P Zeros on the front and life is much much better.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2019   
Given 37% while driving a BMW 330d SE (255/30 R19) on mostly town for 4,000 easy going miles
Unfortunate enough to buy full set of these tyres for 330D. On changing found original BMW wheels cracked-2 rear. Changed full set to 19 inch Rivas within weeks one rear tyre ripped and yet another wheel cracked. 6 months later MOT failed 2 cracked rear wheels. 1) Avoid 19 inch wheels 2) Avoid Bridgestone Run Flats 3) Avoid Riva brand so weak.
The road sound is unbelievable and despite the amount of rubber on the road I didn't feel too confident on grip especially wet.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2019   
Given 24% while driving a BMW Z4 35i (225/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
The worst tyres I have ever had the misfortune to have on a car. The BMW Z4 has a stiff chassis to start with. The Run Flats made every bump and pot hole excruciating. They probably caused the crack in my windscreen and definitely responsible for the cracked rim. Just replaced them with Goodyear Eagle F1's. A world of difference.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2019   
Given 49% while driving a BMW Z4 (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Terrible on roads with rutting.
Car jumps in a turn with bad road surface.
BMW Z4
3 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2018   
BMW 3 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Initially I hated these tires . Been using them from 2006 and still using them at present.Many failures in the first two years due to poor quality control . Zero assistance from Bridgestone.Theteafter the problems seems to have diminished. Good Tyre I would recommend them
4 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2018   
Given 40% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 600 spirited miles
OEM tyres on dealer approved used BMW F20 bought one month ago.
Terrible grip in wet or dry. If you want to drift or power slide, these are for you. If you want to drive on Devon country lanes or even dual carriageway without tramlininig, skittering, vibrating to death or cracking a rim, DO NOT get these.
Without doubt the worst tyre ride I have ever experienced.
They are trying to kill me!!!!
Going tomoz.
2 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2018