Bridgestone Turanza T005

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 85%
Wear 80%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 81%

The Bridgestone Turanza T005 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Developed and produced in Europe, Bridgestone Turanza T005 delivers outstanding wet performance and fuel economy, combined with high mileage, to give drivers full control in challenging daily situations, especially on rainy days.

Bridgestone Turanza T005 will be available in a wide line-up on the European replacement tyre market from January 2018 and will replace the current T001 EVO. Turanza T005 size line-up will provide almost complete coverage of touring tyre demand by 2019, with more than 140 sizes for 14" to 21" rims. At the same time, Bridgestone will simplify its touring tyre line-up, with Turanza T005 and DriveGuard covering the complete touring segment.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo

Show All

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 126,115 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test - 7th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and short stopping distance on dry and wet surfaces, high aquaplaning resistance, low rolling resistance, good level of comfort.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Good.

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 10th of 45 tyres

2019 Summer and All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 18 tyres

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Turanza T005

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Turanza T005

2018-08-10 - Are these tyres suitable for the 2009 Honda F-rv cdti EX 2.0l diesel

As long as you match the size and load rating specified by Honda, there's no reason the T005 wouldn't be suitable.


2018-09-03 - Would it be OK to have these on front with my conti premcontacts 5s on rear... On a Golf...

As long as you're changing in pairs that shouldn't be an issue. The usual advice is to put the newest tyres on the rear of the car.


2018-09-24 - I'm about to buy a pair of tires to replace a set of very satisfying Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance 205/55 R16 91V I've been driving for the past 3 and a half years. I've been reading about the latest tests on this size, hoping to find the Goodyears still being good enough. But they seem to have been beaten by the latest generation of Michelins, Contis and Bridgestones. I've looked at the current prices and have all but decided in choosing between a set of T005 or Primacy 4. The Bridgestone seem more satisfying overall but the Michelins are known for lasting longer and have better wet braking. They're slightly more expensive (10%) but do carry rim protection (whitch I sort of like). Could you help me decide on whitch to go for a family estate driven mostly in town or B roads?

Both are excellent tyres. Michelin perform very well through the whole life of the tyre which means I would probably side with them, however it is going to be super close between the two.


2018-10-06 - Well-known web tyre outlet currently has the 205/55 R16 91W cheaper than the 91V. Is there any potential disadvantage with going for the 91W? (Will the W be heavier?)

Without knowing the specifics of the tyre it's hard to say, but the differences will be tiny if there are in fact any at all. Just be sure one of the tyres isn't OE marked for a car manufacturer.


2019-01-31 - Is there much rim protection on these? Do they offer even a small kerbing lip?

Rim protection can differ per size, so you would have to speak to Bridgestone to work out what rim protection your size of T005 might offer.


2019-02-18 - I got the Bridgestone Turanza T005 in size 225/40/18 with my new Golf GTI Performance which I drive since December. I didn't use them yet, as I'm now on winter tyres. I'm a bit disappointed that I got touring tyres with a sporty car and I'm considering selling them and getting the Michelin PS4. Can I please have some advice? Some info about my driving habits: I never go to a track, I tend to drive carefully in suboptimal (ie. wet) conditions, I don't care for wear as I'm typically driving around 9000 miles a year and will probably change my tyres due to age first, not wear I don't care for mileage unless it's a crazy difference like 20% I DO care for comfort and reasonable wet grip for daily driving (would be afraid to drive the Cup 2's just from looking at the tread) and I'd like to have some fun in dry conditions (grip when launching, mountain roads etc) My question is, how much of the sportiness am I sacrificing with the Turanza's compared to PS4's? Along the lines of your test of PS4 vs PS4S vs Cup2, if PS4 is 100% sporty, how would you rate Turanza? How much comfort am I sacrificing going the other way around?

A good question. Given the T005 just won the 2019 ADAC tyre test (now on the site) I would certainly try them before worrying about changing. It doesn't look like you'll get any extra grip from any other brands, and I'm not sure there would be a huge step in handling with something like the PS4. Give the T005 ago, you might be surprised!


2019-03-03 - Hi. I'm looking at a set of these in 195/50 R 16 for a current model MX5. Its my wife's daily car so sportiness isn't the main thing here but good wet performance is up there. It does get taken onto B roads for fun at the weekends so progressive handling is a secondary requirement if not ultimate handling grip. Is there any other tyre I should be considering? These are for summer use only.

In that size, the Bridgestone is a good option. The only other possibility would be the Dunlop Sport BluResponse, but that's now an older pattern.


2019-04-26 - Hello! Thinking of T005 for my Q3 (235/55R17), or else I'll go for the FK510. In your opinion, what are the main differences between these two for such a car? Pls consider that the roads I drive provide minimum traction (slippery tarmac, esp. when light rain after several dry days), with lots of bumps as well. P.S. I guess you know you're doing a great job!

In theory the T005 should be more comfort bias, and the FK510 a little more sporty but in reality they will be very close. The Falken seems to test a little more consistently.


2019-05-26 - Hi, I am thinking of changing from a 195/55/16 to a 205/55/16, would this effect the gearing or anything else with the car, as it would make it a taller tyre.

Yes is would make the car accelerate more slowly and change the accuracy of the speedo. If you google "tyre size calculator" you will be able to get accurate data on this change.


2019-10-15 - I just bought Traunza T005 195 /65 /15 for my Honda Civic 2005 VTI 1.6. I feel that its noisy and side walls are very soft. Can i get any explanation for this?

Nearly all modern touring tyres have thin, soft sidewalls as it helps reduce rolling resistance. It might seem louder than the tyres it replaced due to higher tread depth tyres being more noisy than very worn tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/45 R16 £68.65 - £80.62 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £42.30 - £73.01 (45 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £51.79 - £82.66 (66 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £65.62 - £189.14 (70 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £73.45 - £112.48 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £65.27 - £102.12 (77 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 125 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Bridgestone Turanza T005 Review

Given 88% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
Fitted these to my Golf a few weeks ago...and v glad I did so. Drive back from Scotland in sleeting conditions, with slush on motorway...great traction on slushy road...and v sure footed during aqua planing. Road noise and mpg excellent Please sir...can I have some more!
503 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2018   

Latest Bridgestone Turanza T005 Reviews

Have you driven on the Bridgestone Turanza T005 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Turanza T005.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane (195/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought this tyre after using a pirelli p1 cinturato before. the p1s were very good tyres with excelent road feedback and confidence both dry and wet..this turanzas are a level above p1s...wet grip is just amazing there is no plenty of road feedback but confidence is top notch...breaking is great and comfort is good...I do not no about wear yet but p1s last about 25.000km which is not that good...before p1s I had michelin es plus and they lasted 35.000km easily..I recommend bridgeston t005.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2019   
Nissan Datsun 260z (195/70 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
The car - 1970’s 1100kg classic sports car pushing out over 230bhp and 210lbft to the rear tyres.

In short - I am gobsmacked by how good these tyres are and recommend a buy any day in this size and for this type of car (powerful, light, RWD).

Previously using the Michelins Energy Saver tyres, they suddenly and without any notice lost grip on a damp road at around 30mph and on say 20%throttle in 3rd. It sacred the b’jeezez out of me snaking across both lanes of the dual carriageway and ending up on the stuff on the side of the road. So in came the T005 tyres.

Getting caught out in torrential rain in Silverstone, the wet grip and handling were utterly phenomenal!! Even on the surrounding dirty country roads. I was pushing 90% or more as hard in the wet as I could in the dry, carrying big speeds into the corners. This is no exaggeration. They inspire so much confidence in the wet. For example: With the Michelins I could easily smoke up the rear tyres in the wet or dry pulling out of junctions. With the Turanzas it takes a LOT of effort to make them let go in the wet let alone in the dry. I would be burning the clutch at 5krpm to get them to let go in the dry.

Dry grip is excellent and road feedback is way better than the Michelins.

The on the edge handling behaviour is very progressive in the wet and a tiny bit mushy in the dry before they start to let go. But the 70 profile probably contributes to that. Although you get plenty of feedback as to when they are reaching that limit. Roundabouts are an absolute hoot.

Braking in the wet as you expect is outstanding. Dry braking is also excellent but again can get a little mushy before lock up (no ABS on my car). Having said that, it is MUCH harder to get lock up than with the Michelins and it’s now a rare occurrence, allowing for braking much later and harder, carrying more speed into the corner and able to get on the power much earlier.

I can’t comment on wear as the car only does a 1000 miles a year with some light track work. Given how grippy they are, I doubt they would last a million miles, but that’s the compromise you make on any tyre for having great traction.

I was hoping to use the excellent continental premium contact 6s I run on both my other cars, but given they aren’t available in this size, the T005s in my humble opinion are as close as you can get.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2019   
Are you trying to decide what type of tyre is best for your own winter motoring? Watch this video!
Given 93% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Excellent, exemplary all-round tyre. Grip and handling as good as for premium sport tyres, but these are better in comfort, wet performance and fuel economy.
19 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2019   
Given 58% while driving a Subaru Impreza (205/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
As a Subaru Impreza driver of almost 15 years, tyre expectations were previously set and needed to be met. Sadly, whilst the Turanza T005 has some good positives, overall it's one word. Bad.

Dry grip is extremely good along with confident wet grip. Comfort wise it's excellent. And that's it, unfortunately. Feedback is mediocre and handling is towards the poor end of the scale. Why? The sidewalls are ridiculously soft resulting in a tyre which looks flaccid and has response and handling to match. Even the coast to a speed hump sees the tyre give way whilst it tries to right itself.

Circa 3 weeks old and it's not possible to comment on longevity or wear, but this tyre will not be purchased again. Big disappointment, Bridgestone. In hindsight, I could have spent less and got much more.
21 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2019   

See all 28 customer reviews of the Bridgestone Turanza T005 (newest first) >>

Advertisement