Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 83%
Wear 52%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 47%
 
Size Price Range  
235/50 R18 £142.87 - £164.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £138.06 - £138.06 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/60 R18 £132.00 - £140.57 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R19 £177.98 - £177.98 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 93% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/55 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Fitted the tyres to our Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander when the original Hankook tyres needed replacing. This will be the third time I have fitted Continentals when available and they don't disappoint. Steering, braking, feel and comfort are all superior to the others I have owned, and I couldn't see myself buying any other brand regardless of price.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I am very pleased with these tyres. They have lasted for 3 summers, and have had everything thrown at them, long distance motorway trips, towing trailers and caravans, country roads and the commute. The only fault came from a nail that punctured a tyre, but even that managed to hold together with the sealant to get us and the caravan 400 miles to our home. That tyre was immediately replaced with another Conti, despite there being a cheaper option on the shelf at the fitters. I've never had any issues with grip, handling, noise or economy with these tyres, and an estimated 30k miles shows that they can last, despite being fitted to a fairly heavy car. They are now at 3mm, so not suitable for another summer of use, but a new set is going on once the winter tyres come off.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2019   
Given 44% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R19 R) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Bought a Brand New Nissan Qashqai 2018 had these tyres on them. At 15000km Service Tyres on front needed to be swapped for the rear ones as tread was worn off , I had done 15500 km at this time & will need New Tyres well before 20000 km. Very disappointed & won't be buying these or any Continental Tyres ever again.
Dealership has gone back to Nissan NZ and this is what Tim Greene has come back with:
"The Conti sport model fitted to the Qashqai is a ver high-performance focused tyre.

Unfortunately, increasing grip levels and friction coefficients will also result in an increase in tyre wear rate.
This is the case throughout the automotive tyre industry and is more prevalent with the larger rims and lower profile tyres fitted to the higher specification models.

It is possible to fit "lower performance" tyres to achieve a longer wearing life, as long as the client is made aware that moving away from the manufacturers specifications is likely to reduce the vehicles over-all grip level and have a negative effect on handling and braking characteristics."

So feel pretty dis-appointed that its looking like I will get 20,000 km at the most out of these tyres.
You need to advertise that these lower profile tyres get an increase in tyre wear & that you only get this amount of km out of them. That's if what I received from the Dealership is accurate?.
Please advise me, looking forward to your reply.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2019   
Given 56% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R19 W) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
No complaints about how this tyre grips in all weather conditions, and noise levels are low, but, and it's a big but, in nearly 40 years of driving I have never had a tyre wear out in less than 10,000 miles. Every other tyre I have got over 20,000 miles of use. Always inflated to correct pressures, tracking spot on, and always driven with care. I will never buy this, not cheap, tyre again.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a Opel insignia (235/50 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
The tyres are factory fitted on Open Insignia B Country Tourer. The car is set up mainly for comfort a much less for sporty driving. The tyres correspond with the setting nicely. Even though CSC5 is sporty tyre according to the name they are quiet and refined. The grip in dry is good and in the wet very good. The tyres are progresive at the limit in wet but the steering in Insignia does not give much information to the driver.
The only other tyre I can compare to at the same car is winter Matador MP92 in the same size. The comfort and noise level is very similar. To my surprise even the steering feel is somewhat similar. Maybe that is given mostly by the high sidewall profile of the tyres for Country Tourer version of Insignia or the SUV version of CSC5 aims for more comfort.
Many people complain about the wear rate. In my case the front wheels lost 1 mm of tread depth and rear wheels 0.5 mm of tread depth in 10,000 kms. In my opinion that is very reasonable wear for tyres with such a good wet grip.
Overall I am very satisfied with CSC5 SUV. The grip in both dry and wet is very good and they are comfortable and quiet. The only disadvantage is price. For the future Falken FK510 or Fulda SportControl 2 might be a good and cheaper replacement.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2018   
Given 51% while driving a Ford Edge (225/55 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I bought a Ford Edge automatic in December 2017 and the Continental tyres are worn out after 12,500 miles. The rear tyres are worn to 2 mm and the front ones are illegal.

In 2013 I had a Volvo XC90 whose Continental tyres needed replacing after about 13,000 so I am beginning to think Continentals are not a good choice for large SUVs.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2018   
Given 70% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
I purchased a Ford Edge 2.0 Titanium 210bhp with these fitted. Having covered just over 5000 miles the rears are at 3.2mm(max) and the fronts are at 5.2mm max. At this rate I’ll have to replace all before 10,000 miles - absolutely disgusting. Will not buy Continental tyres to replace them.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2018   
Hyundai (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 13,000 easy going miles
Very high wear rate on Hyundai Tuscon 1.7 diesel on front driven axle after 13000 miles only 3mm left and will need replacing in the next 1500 miles at 2mms for safety. Previous car Jaguar XFS Dunlop Maxx on driven axle lasted 45000 miles.
Might try Michelin all season tyres.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2018   
Given 57% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,200 average miles
These are original equipment on the Hyundai Tucson Premium SE 2.0CRDI. These are the original tyres.
At about 9200 miles on the clock, we have the following minimum 3/4 centre band tread, accurately measured:

2.8 4
5.5 5

Even if we ignore the anomaly on the F/N/S, the wear is pretty poor - 5-5.5mm on the rear for a front wheel drive car.

I'll be trying another make on the front.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2018