Continental Eco Contact 5

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 67%
Wear 74%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 54%
 
Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £41.20 - £85.70 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/55 R15 £52.80 - £84.42 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £46.60 - £78.83 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £77.90 - £110.09 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £56.40 - £101.80 (84 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £92.70 - £142.43 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £68.30 - £95.52 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 67% while driving a Vauxhall Viva (2015 19) (185/55 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 spirited miles
Good in mild dry and mild wet, good mpg.
Based on the scoring options they appear 'on paper' to be decent tyres.
But - and there's a big but -

They're lethal on muddy, icy, snowy or cold roads - the most dangerous and unpredictable tyre I've ever experienced in autumn/winter weather which is why I'd never buy them again, nor any other eco-labelled tyre.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2019   
Given 69% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Lasted quite well after 3 years and 25k miles. good fuel consumption ( as much as I can compare with similar cars, no way to say precisely until after I change the tyres). ok in dry, wheel spin on occasion, especially uphill (light car?). more wheel spin in the wet when accelerating in 2nd, not great on breaking in the wet. Just had them understeer fairly dangerously in a roundabout. the back is coming out in bends on dry and wet, not too hard to control usually but it can surprise you. terrible in snow, got stuck in a parking lot, seems to be able to reverse out but unable to drive forwards in snow! About to replace them, hope for something with better grip.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 33,554 easy going miles
Those are the original tyres on my car. I have driven them for 54000 km, so in my opinion they are very durable . Their grip is good on dry and wet surface (my driving style is moderate). I haven't experienced any problems so far. I feel confident on any road. Maybe the only problem is that they are a little bit noisy.
I want to replace them because the tread depth is reaching its limit and I want to do so before the winter . If it wasn't for their high price I would have purchased them again. I definitely recommend these kind of tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2019   
Given 47% while driving a Renault Clio IV TCe 90 (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Fitted from new on a Scandinavian spec Renault Clio 0.9Tce Sport Tourer (estate).
Have now covered just over 4000mi / 6000km.

To summarise; these tyres have been good for fuel economy and reasonably grippy, but the steering and handling characteristics are not confidence inspiring or enjoyable, in my opinion. Can also be noisy on some surfaces.

These tyres might be ok if you want something for low speed city / town use, or if economy is your only major concern.

For me personally, I like a car to handle in a positive and responsive way. These tyres don't strike the balance I'm looking for, so they will soon be changed out for something more responsive.

Positive:
- Grip quite well in the dry
- Grip quite well in the wet too (no unexpected ABS / sliding / wheelspin to date)
- Low rolling resistance, hence good fuel economy.
- Seem to wear reasonably well (so far)

Negative:
- Slow / soggy steering response, seemingly due to soft sidewalls.
- Lack of steering feel or feedback. Numb around the dead-ahead.
- Car slops / wobbles around laterally on these tyres following a sudden steering input (e.g. if swerving to avoiding a pothole or something in the road). Seems to take a while for these tyres to settle following such a manoeuvre.
- Unexpectedly noisy on some road surfaces, though reasonably quiet on others.
- Not the most comfortable, despite apparent soft sidewalls. Can feel harsh / jittery over road imperfections such as drain covers and bridge expansion joints.
- Went out of balance within the first 3000km (2000mi).

Other Notes
Increasing the tyre pressures (above recommended for the Clio, but well within specification for tyre) helped to improve the steering response and feel, but the basic characteristics described above are still present.

Driving another Clio 0,9tce on a different brand of tyres (a dealer courtesy car) made me realise how lively the steering and handling on my car can / should be.


1 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a Hyundai I10 (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 17,250 average miles
Grip is significantly decreased on wet, especially after a light rain.
3 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019   
Nissan Juke (225/45 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
I have bought Nisaan Juke in June 2018. Brand new car and brand new tyres. 14 000 miles later both front tyres are bold with metal bits sticking out. I am driving on A3 most of the time and locally near Guilford. Will avoid these tyres as much as possible. Will not recommend to anyone.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (195/65 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 14,500 average miles
Good tyres, long lasting, and have great fuel savings. The only problem with them is that the sidewalls are mad thin to reduce weight, and with all the potholes in the UK it can lead to gouges forming on the sidewall.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2019   
Given 65% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Having come fitted on our new Clio 4 we were not disappointed. We live in Crete, Greece so 95% of our driving is on dry roads. Having said that the roads here are VERY winding and great fun to push the car around. The tyres make you feel confident and have great grip on tight country road corners. I have never felt at risk from these tyres at all. Our national road ( motorway) is also very winding but the tyres feel well able to handle fast driving on good tarmac. As for the wet, I cannot comment as you always drive carefully after a dry spell when it first rains. I love these tyres for our type of driving but cannot comment on wet conditions.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2019