Continental Premium Contact 6

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 91%
Wear 82%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 82%

The Continental Premium Contact 6 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The new PremiumContact 6 replaces both the PremiumContact 5 and the SportContact 5, unifying the comfort and efficiency of the PremiumContact range, with the high performance, steering precision and grip of the SportContact.

This tyre replaced the Continental Premium Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 169,380 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling on dry and wet surfaces, good wet handling, high braking performance.
  • Negative - Increased noise level.
  • Overall - Exemplary.

2019 EVO Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The best tyre on the road route, offering low noise and high comfort, and strong in the wet.

2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced performance with good wet handling, short wet and dry braking distances, low rolling resistance, low wear.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning results.
  • Overall - Highly recommended.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Premium Contact 6

Questions and Answers for the Continental Premium Contact 6

2017-02-28 - Will the Premium Contact 6 be available in 205/55/16 size and when? Thank you!

It's a very likely the Premium Contact 6 will be released in 205/55 R16 in 2017, however there has been no date announced by Continental yet.


2017-10-23 - I have nearly new contisportcontact 5 on the rear of my focus mk3 Zetec S & worn ones on the front. Can I put the rear to the front & put the new conti premium contact 6 on the rear without upsetting the grip/ride etc. The car has always had Continental tyres on since new, then contact 5 so I would like to keep using Continental.

Moving your PC5s to the front and then fitting the new PC6 to the rear would be the ideal :)


2018-03-13 - What does it mean when the wear has a higher or lower % means? Higher % means wear faster ? Or higher % means can last longer

A higher percentage in wear means the tyre lasts longer.


2018-05-01 - Continental have designed the Premium Contact 6 for good ride comfort and sporty feel, how does it compare to Goodyear Asym.3, which also has good ride comfort and is a summer tyre?

I have not had the opportunity to test the two tyres directly back to back, but looking at other tests the Premium Contact 6 often scores poorly in terms of comfort meaning it is likely the Asymmetric 3 which has the edge in comfort.


2018-06-24 - Conti states the premium contact 6 is 15% better wear than CSC5. Review of CSC5 last no longer than 30000km. Can you verify that the premium contact 6 has less than 35000km? Wear rate is a bit concern for most conti tires from what I gather.

Wear is very subjective and difficult to compare between different driving cars and driving style. It's best to look at the tests and reviews on this site to help you understand the real world mileage you could achieve.


2018-07-26 - Time to replace front tyres on Mazda CX6, 225x55x19. I'm pretty much settled on the Premium Contact 6. But I see there's a "standard" 99 load index, rated C rolling - A wet, and an XL version, 103 load index, A rolling - B wet. Two questions - are the C/A and A/B rating differences significant to daily handling (I've seen what happened yo your little foam friend in your budget/premium video, with only a 5% difference in residual speed) and will the increase in load index make the ride rougher over bumps and potholes? Thanks for your help, and a really useful website

The answer is yes to both of your questions, but it will likely be a small amount in both categories. It's interesting these tyres have such differing label grades, are you sure one of the tyres isn't an OE marked tyre which will have OE specific changes to it?


2018-10-05 - I own a 2006 Mercedes E-Class 550 V8 sedan. I was actually pretty much settled for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 for next season. Yet I feel tempted to go for the Premium Contact 6 instead, since steering Response was praised in a couple of tests. I'm not seeking ultimate grip and fast lap times, but a sporty feel is welcome. Have you guys been able to test them back to back? Second part of the question: both tyres are offered in 93 and 97 LI. The 93 is sufficient and I rarely drive the car fully packed. Would the 93 LI be the obvious choice? Thanks in advance.

Sadly I've not yet driven the two back to back, looking at the various tests it seems the steering feedback switches depending on the size used, so make sure you're referencing a tyre review in or near your size. If you're interesting in steering feel, the higher load rating might be the smarter choice.


2019-03-10 - I am going to replace my factory tires Cont Premium Contact 5 (205/55 R16 91V) at my Golf Mk7 (122 PS).I want to choose between Cont Premium Contact 6 (205/55 R16 91V) and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (205/55 R16 91W).Which ones would you recommend when grip and braking distance is the priority? Michelin Sport Pilot 4 for this size is available only at higher speed index (W) than the recommended by a manufacturer (V).Does the putting on stiffer tires with a higher speed index (W) can cause significant changes in handling, electronic traction control systems, comfort or grip (when the car is unloaded)? Can stiffer tires cause faster wear to the suspension or other parts of the car?

Both tyres are extremely close in performance, you won't be disappointed with either the PC6 or PS4. There's no concern fitting the W either, the differences would be negligible if at all.


2019-07-05 - Hi I'm planing to replace the current Bridgestone tires (245/40/20) on my Cadillac XTS V-sport to PC6 but I only found this size in SSR (run-flat) spec which I don't like that much. my question: would SSR spec alter any of the characteristics / performance aspects of PC6? & 2nd: what are the alternative non-run-flat options you recommend ?

The comfort and handling would be fairly different, so if you don't want runflats I'd avoid. This website should show you the rivals, but the usual suspects would be the Asymmetric 5 and Pilot Sport 4.


2019-09-12 - Hello, I own a C200 Mercedes 1.8 163bhp. On the front rims the tyres are 205/55/16, but on the rear are 225/50/16. As you may know the size 225/50/16 is a kind of rare for most tyre brands so I ended using a set of Hankook VP3. However i have another set of wheels 205/55/16 and i was thinking to use it on my rear axle using the Continental PC6. So my question is this: Which would be better for my rear axle? A set of 225/50/16 with the Hankooks or a set 205/55/16 with the Conti PC6? Thank you in advance

Unfortunately we cannot comment on tyre size changes as there's too many factors involved, but I will say the PC6 is an excellent tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £78.78 - £108.29 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £69.35 - £95.42 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £94.50 - £125.80 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £120.78 - £161.20 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 89 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Premium Contact 6 Review

Given 87% while driving a Renault Megane (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Ready to test! Cheers GC
192 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2017   

Latest Continental Premium Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Premium Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Premium Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 Quattro 220 bhp TFSI (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Great overall experience, awesome tyre modell for sport cars.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
very good in dry and wet roads. very comfort also but a little noisy. we shall see about wear.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2019   
Are you trying to decide what type of tyre is best for your own winter motoring? Watch this video!
Given 95% while driving a Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
So far they are very good, better than my previous Assymetric 3s. But time will tell, most tyres are good in their first few miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2019   
Given 70% while driving a Audi A6 Avant Quattro 2.0TDI (225/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Had these tyres a few months on my Audi A6 Avant Quattro which has very light steering and they improved the handling and directional stability of my car hugely compared to the Michelin CrossClimate+ tyres. The Contis are superb when cornering whereas the CrossClimate felt wallowy and difficult to keep in a straight line at speed. However, and it’s a big however, the Contis are very noisy on the high number of poor road surfaces in the UK, whereas the CrossClimate+ were quiet and comfortable. Apart from on the best smooth road surfaces, I don’t find the Contis comfortable and I’m almost constantly aware of the noise levels. It’s a trade off between comfort and handling.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2019   

See all 33 customer reviews of the Continental Premium Contact 6 (newest first) >>

Advertisement