Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 72%
Wear 68%
Comfort 55%
Buy again 54%
 
Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £131.65 - £140.68 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 6 tyre sizes - View all.

Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 76% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Ultra sharp and fast steering. Perfect fit for Mini Cooper S Cabrio's character.
Road feedback and handling is great!
Very good dry grip, good wet grip.
Not comfortable as these are not the latest generation runflat tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2019   
Given 36% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
If you don't want any teeth by the end of the year get these run flats! seriously, on a car with any kind of sporty ride these are un-livable with for a daily driver on most Uk roads, and possibly even dangerous imo. My car has developed 2 new rattles since these were fitted, but it's not just a problem on bumpy / potholed roads, on a flat motorway they tramline into grooves and in the wet they just feel super nervous, like they could snap on you. My car has a heavy sports steering, with just mild hydraulic assistance for lots of feedback, but all you feel with these is like you are connected to the road via a hard plastic toy car wheels, there is just no give or progression they just feel very 'skate-y'. You get understeer in the dry because they just hop across any road imperfections instead of gripping. Absolutely hate them. Swapping them next week already for a massive loss but I cannot wait to get literally anything else (non run flat).
1 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2019   
Given 53% while driving a BMW 530d F11 (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 15 easy going miles
Fitted to BMW F11 530D SE Touring.

Whilst this is the first car I have had with run flat tyres I am not overly impressed. The car originally had 19" rims but when I bought the car I had the garage change the wheels to 18" as British roads are now so bad.
Firstly ride comfort. You feel the shock of every potholed road imperfection. I had to replace front wishbones at 50,000 miles (Driving for a living I have never had to do this on any other car!) and a buckled front wheel.
My driving is 80% motorway driving style for economy so tyre wear is disappointing. Considering the continentals were new when i bought the car, in 30,000 miles i have had two sets of rear tyres and will shortly need a third set and am on my second front set. When driving Miss Daisy I expect better mileage! I have just put Bridgestone Driveguard on the front and will see how they perform. Front tyres lasted 28,000
0 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2018   
Given 43% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (270/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Continental SSR3s on a 2013 BMW 520D M Sport, Rear runflats lasted 13500 miles with careful driving. Front wear lo but new shuddering ate motorway speeds. fronts been off and balanced and still as bad, tracking is perfect as done by a hi performance local company that does all expensive motors as it was not set up from BMW new when I got it. Wet grip on SS3s scary.. Driven for 30 plus years. Getting rid and going to non runflats. Beautiful car ruined by badly wearing runflats. 245 45 18 front and 275 40 18 rears.... Drives very straight and quick in dry, corners fantastic, grip is amazing,,, but when it rains... slow down to micra speed. Its so bad I don't like my wife driving it in wet greasy roads... My 120D has Turanza ER300 runflats and is so good in the rain !!!!!!! moving to Goodtyear Eagle Assy 3 as recommended by a local hi performance workshop.

1 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2017   
Given 44% while driving a BMW X5 (315/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 10 average miles
Appalling tyre, noisy, hard ride with no compromise ..traffic jams have become a pleasure ! Will replace asap with Dunlop Sport Max or better still, non-runflats.
Sadly made the X5 a torturous SUV to drive on sub-standard English roads - all OK in Germany of course where they would have be developed ...never again !
5 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2016   
Given 78% while driving a BMW 520d (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
Car was delivered new with Bridgestone Turanza and I am pleased to be back on Conti SC3s, having had them on my last 5 series. Car feels much more agile and road nose reduced. Have now run Ptenza, Turanza and Sport Contacts on the same 18 inch wheels over the years and think the Sport Contacts are best of the bunch (Obviously none of them are acceptable in Snow so I swap to Dunlop Winter tyres on 17 inch).
2 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2015   
Given 60% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
ive drive a BMW 323 and run flats would be the only option for the car as it has no spare tyre nor a compartment for it. if not for the fact that i have to use it i`ll definitely change to another type of tyre. Average grip on dry surface and i must say very poor wet grip , the car slips and aquaplane everytime it rains here in Malaysia(it rains a lot here btw).i drive between 60 to 100km/h and no more if it rains as im not really confident about the grip. one must think that well it must be only good for 1 thing and that is RUNFLATS. here the story ive puncture my tyre once and drove it to the nearest tyre shop which is about 30km and drove around 60km/h. arrived at the tyre shop only to discover the tyre is unusable anymore its almost shredded beyond repair. BMW please no more RUNFLATS. its pricey , bad wet grip and driving while having a puncture would mean a replacement WTH???
4 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2015   
Given 57% while driving a BMW 530d F10 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
NOT BAD BUT STILL NOT COMFORTABLE
4 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2015   
Given 97% while driving a BMW 118d M Sport (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Lasted 22k on a rear wheel drive car, excellent in the dry and wet although a bit harsh but what run flat tyre isn't.
55 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2014