Firestone RoadHawk

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 57%
Wear 51%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 46%

The Firestone RoadHawk is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The Firestone Roadhawk targets mainstream motorists who drive all types of journeys – urban, highway, commute, school run, shopping – on a daily basis. These drivers want a tyre that gives them long-lasting performance in road conditions where wet weather, heavy traffic, sudden braking and motorway speed are all part of the daily mix. In short, a tyre they can always count on.

Show All

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 94,850 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 NAF Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - High lateral stability, quick steering, neutral balance.
  • Negative - High noise levels.

2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 18th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Short dry braking.
  • Negative - Understeer balance handling and limited steering precision in the dry and wet, poor aquaplaning reserves.
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended.

2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout - 13th of 45 tyres

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Firestone RoadHawk

Questions and Answers for the Firestone RoadHawk

2017-04-24 - Are Firestone Roadhawk tyres Directional as regard fitting, or can they be fitted any way, ie inside out etc.

The Firestone RoadHawk is an asymmetric tyre so can be fitted in either direction, just make sure the "outside" is on the outside of the wheel.


2017-08-14 - I will be needing new tyres in approx. 6 months and wondered if the Firestone Roadhawk is due to be tested this year. It appears to be in my price range, and seems better than most at that price point. I just wondered if anything conclusive has been printed??

All the summer tests of 2017 have been published now, but if you read our launch report there are some figures from TUV which shows the Firestone RoadHawk performing favourably.


2017-08-17 - These firestone tyres have not been tested against a 'good ' tyre such as the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. They have been compared with lesser tyres I believe. And they don't seem to be available with 95 rating only 99 or XL rating. Which I am not looking for as my car has quite hard suspension anyway. Would you think the Hankook tyres would be a better purchase?

I would argue the Uniroyal RainSport 3, Fulda EcoControl HP, Kleber Dynaxer HP3 and Nexen N Blue Plus TUV tested the RoadHawk against, which is covered in the RoadHawk launch report, are good tyres for the sector. Unfortunately I've seen no benchmark for comfort so can't comment on which option will be more comfortable.


2017-09-05 - What is the thread depth of the Firestone Roadhawk 195/65/15 please?

I believe the starting tread depth of the Firestone RoadHawk is a little over 7mm.


2018-06-20 - is the roadhawk 94w run flat tyre?

As far as I'm aware there is no runflat version of the RoadHawk currently.


2019-02-19 - where are the tyres made ?

Firestone and Bridgestone use factories all over the world, you would have to check directly with Firestone for the size you are looking at.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R15 £51.66 - £76.56 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £37.72 - £61.99 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £65.56 - £94.03 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £42.61 - £65.08 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £60.92 - £86.09 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £54.69 - £81.37 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 69 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Firestone RoadHawk Review

Given 61% while driving a SEAT ALhambra TDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Purchased Two front tyres @ Halfords as they where cheap for a mid to premium tyre and had £20 Argos voucher attached.
When I checked tyre tread depth found only 7mm middle and 6.5mm outer edge.
Never had a new tyre under 8mm before, alway 8 to 10mm.
May be that's why there cheap!
Will contact Firestone to see why.
501 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2017   

Latest Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Have you driven on the Firestone RoadHawk tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the RoadHawk.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 23,000 average miles
After checking over the Roadhawk as the outer edge of the front tyre was worn I was surprised to find there was only maybe 1mm of tread above the legal marker bumps left across the tyre which in fairness was evenly worn across all of the tyre. I found the receipt and the tyre was only 18 months old with 23000 miles on it.
Looking at the Black Circles website these tyres are described as 'mid-range' and cost £96.50 being described as 'formulated for long lasting tread'??!
My diesel Avensis is no power machine so I'm really disappointed with the wear rate!
I noticed other reviews mirrored my opinion that if when fully inflated the sidewall looks saggy.
Handling and grip are pretty good, using rural roads with lots of standing water or muddy surfaces from tractors have never been a problem but I wouldn't buy Firestones again because of the poor wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a BMW 320d touring (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Fitted the Firestone RoadHawks to the front of my 2010 320d Touring as the run flats were excessively hard, very noisy, lacked feel and were a brand I am not keen on (inherited by the previous owner). Instantly the front end was riding properly, soaking up bumps and going round corners effortlessly. I have had those tyres on for 3000 miles now and they still look brand new. They have been so good through the bad weather and very hot weather that when the rear Conti run flats were wearing, they have been replaced with the Firestone's.

Again, the ride is much better, much quieter and the grip in the dry is simply fantastic. The back of the car is finally connected to the front in the corners and in the dry, the traction control light hasn't come on at all.

A couple of things I have to comment on is the wet grip and the look of the tyre. The wet grip is brilliant but, when pulling out of a junction on a steep hill, the tyres did spin and the traction control light came on. I'm not overly concerned about this as the rain was torrential and with 181bhp and no weight in the car, is to be expected. Also, they tyres do have a soft-ish sidewall and so they can look a little under-inflated on certain ground conditions.

Other than those two bits, they are fantastic and a really good mid-range tyre. If you want to remove the run-flats which I highly recommend you do, I cant recommend the Firestone Roadhawk enough to you.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2019   
Are you trying to decide what type of tyre is best for your own winter motoring? Watch this video!
(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate driver back again with my last review on this tyre 205/55r16 91v. Well I had enough of them about a month back these tyre's were not getting any better with time. The warmer the weather went the worse they became I was constantly checking the pressures because they just looked flatter all the time, and the cornering ride wasn't giving any confidence any more.

These tyres maybe ok on the rear of the car but for me not on the front..so they had to go. I have fitted a better/mid/budget tyre the Viking Protech Newgen, after their running in period they has transformed the front end all together the car is now nice to drive again. The Firestones may be ok for some cars they did not do well on my Astra.
Cheers
0 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2019   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I have fitted these tyres on my Giulietta last summer and the car felt worse from the beginning. The ride was rough and there were vibrations felt through the seat and in the steering wheel at high speeds. I tried balancing several times, even at a road force balancing machine that revealed uniformity issues. Indeed, during these 5000 miles I had to rebalance them every so often. As it is mentioned in other posts, the deflection of these tyres is huge, the sidewalls seem very soft and therefore cornering is a mess. I didn't find them quiet either and their wear rate was poor. First, they have around 7mm when they are brand new and they were down to 4.5-5mm in 5000 miles of really average driving. Overall, I cannot recommend this tyre especially when you can buy a premium one at this price range.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Came with car as factory fit, very good dry and wet grip, for normal driving (without any sport driving intentions because when you push them to a limit they start to loose grip easly) handling is more than fine, on higher speeds can get noisy. Most of the time II had feeling that I don't feel what's happening with car, and in my opinion road feedback is not so good. I wouldn't recommend buying these tyres to premium or any other cars than small or city cars. They are ok tyres, although there are better out there for the same price.
4 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2019   

See all 18 customer reviews of the Firestone RoadHawk (newest first) >>

Advertisement