Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 74%
Wear 71%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 68%
 
Size Price Range  
165/70 R14 £37.50 - £55.60 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £48.00 - £75.50 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/60 R15 £47.00 - £66.23 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £39.90 - £135.50 (82 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £43.80 - £71.09 (57 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 76% while driving a Suzuki Swift (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 6,820 average miles
In my opinion, a very good tire. It adheres very well on dry road surfaces and is very quiet. My car's fuel consumption is also very favorable to it. Compared to your knowledge, the price is good! The only drawback is that you lose a bit of grip on wet roads!
6 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2019   
Given 53% while driving a MINI Cooper (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Not wanting the poor ride quality of run-flat tyres when ordering a new Mini I specified the smallest 16inch wheels as they came with high profile conventional tyres.
What I did not know was that the tyres would be eco tyres. Oh dear the Hankook Kinergy Eco tyres are like concrete. Similar in feel to run-flats.
Please be aware that nearly all the tests are from German magazines and they seem to accept a restless uncomfortable ride on anything other than autobahns.
I would never buy or recommend these tyres if you are interested in ride comfort. On most British A and B roads I consider them unfit for purpose..
24 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2018   
Given 66% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
Until 2 years ago, I'd only owned fast petrol hatchbacks. To save on running costs I switched to a diesel estate; so my view on noise may be unfounded.
I am writing this after having driven on Hankook Kinergy Eco K425s for nearly 2 years and over 20,000 miles.

For the daily grind, which in my case involves motorway & v slow city traffic these tyres have been fine.
Wet grip is good, I've not had any aquaplaning.
Dry grip is good, I've not felt the car loose traction
Braking is v.good, in the few emergency stops I've had to make, the car has stopped quickly without skidding.
Snow/Ice grip is average. I could feel the car slipping when driving through the back roads, but always had enough traction to keep moving.
Road noise is poor, especially at motorway speeds. Not so bad that I wanted to change the tyres, just noisier than tyres I'd been used to.

I'm just changing the tyres now, after 2 years of use they are down to between 2.6mm & 3mm. I know you can legally drive to 1.6mm but it's also common knowledge that wet stopping distance suffers a lot, well before then.

Overall not a bad tyre for the price if your car blocks out external noise.
8 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2018   
Given 41% while driving a (195/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These are the worst tyres I have ever had in my whole life and I have been driving for decades. I googled the reviews on these before buying them. However, nobody mentioned the noise level ! And they are not cheap tyres either. I cannot bear the noise inside the car since I got these tyres. Everybody is asking me what happened my car - the noise is horrific in the cabin - particularly at speed on the open road. You have to shout at each other just to talk. The noise is so unbearable that I am considering replacing the tyres with a known brand, even though these tyres are new and only have 1000 done on them. Also, even though they are new, the noise is progressively getting worse. Regarding other aspects, they are fine, but my driving is a misery since I got them. All in all, I think nobody should buy these tyres and this is the first time I have ever reviewed anything. But be warned. Only a deaf person could be happy with these tyres.
38 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2018   
Peugeot 207 1.4 16v (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Good tires with no obvious weaknesses. For this price, great value, more than good. With normal driving and a bit agressive, no issues on dry and wet. Recommended for 15”.
14 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2017   
Given 74% while driving a Fiat 1.2 16V (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Suprisingly good on dry, excelent on wet. Producing terrible noise in cabin. For 24 years driving experience never heard so noisy tires (Except maybe winter Debica Frigo)
Driving on this tires is beautiful experience but only when radio is set to loud.
8 - tyre reviewed on October 22, 2017   
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 27,000 miles
This is a second set of Hankooks for me. First one was Optimo K715, which are good tires, too, but for me, K425 Kinergy Eco are awesome! If you are normal, enjoy-driving rider, this is tire for you! Comparing the price, performances and lasting, Ecos are out of competition, an absolute champions in their category!
7 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2017