Maxxis All Season AP2

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 74%
Wear 77%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 82%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 65%
 
Size Price Range  
185/65 R14 £37.50 - £39.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £41.90 - £44.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/40 R17 £69.00 - £76.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R16 £64.30 - £66.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £63.60 - £67.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £72.00 - £74.70 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 88 tyre sizes - View all.

Maxxis All Season AP2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Peugeot (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 11,000 easy going miles
Very much impressed..
This tire is as good on dry wet snow and ice....... But..... Doesn't last long....
I guess this is the price for security
9 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2019   
Given 82% while driving a Peugeot 3008 (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Stick like s##t to a blanket in the snow,awesome grip. Use them on switchable 4 wheel drive so only switch traction on rear for snow. Done over 20000 miles on these over 2 years and still have plenty of tread. Very even wearing too. Brill in the wet especially at higher speeds on motorway. Defo buy again. Looking at getting a pair for the front. Vehicle is quite heavy too just short of 2 tones. 2.0 turbo deisel fwd with switchable 4wd battery rear wheel drive called grip control. Been up snow bedded inclines that only land rovers have attempted No problem with these beauties on.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2019   
Given 94% while driving a Skoda (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 10 easy going miles
The mild winter in the UK 2018-2019 has not given me the opportunity to use the tyres in snow or ice; however, it performs well in all conditions, and suits my easy going driving style, where the main objective is to maintain the 55 mpg I hope for in this 6 year old car. I chose Maxxis after reading reviews here, and look forward to continued success with them.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a Mazda MX5 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
They never let me down
6 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Renault Megane (185/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I bought these for my Renault Migraine that i do 20k a year in believe it or not! some motorway driving,plus normal urban stuff. It snowed heavily for the first time this year down my way,had to drive from Surrey to Slough....OMG! The level of grip in the snow was truly outstanding!!! You'll always going to have some kinda compromise using a softer compound rubber,especially when the temperature heads up and over 10 degrees....my Renault is no racing car but there is something satisfying about driving around people stuck on a incline in 30k cars with the wrong tyres on lol
These tyres also feel very good in the wet and awesome in slush etc.....what a bargin
18 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2017   
Given 39% while driving a Peugeot 207 sw (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
nowhere near as good a previous nokian weatherproofs.useful life about 10000 miles,good in heavy rain but poor in drzzle,not good in snow and ice.
6 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (205/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres almost a year ago and after putting some miles on them I thought I'd share my two cents. I wanted a good set of all season tyres on the car after being fed up with cheap brands like Triangle. It wasn't easy to find a premium brand for my size wheels and the Maxxis were pretty much the best I could find after doing my research. They may not be a premium brand but they're still worlds away from the Triangles I had on before. For anyone reading this who already has a cheap banded tyre on their car and is thinking of going to these, I should warn you that they feel very different at first and take some getting used to. In the dry they don't feel as sticky straight away but once you wear them in, they start to give you a lot more confidence. In the wet they offer lots of grip, even compared to the Dunlops I had on my last car (and that was a 4x4). I also had a brief opportunity to test them on the snow one day during winter and they were simply amazing. On a road where I past 3 stranded cars including a jeep, my two wheel drive honda never even spun the wheels and I put that purely down to the tyres. Overall the tyres have great grip in all weather conditions. After roughly 6000 miles of hard driving they seem to be holding up very well also. If I had any complaint, it's that they don't offer the best feedback on the road, but this is a small price to pay for a great all round tyre. I will definitely be buying Maxxis again, especially since they're great value for money.
16 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2017   
Given 75% while driving a SEAT Altea Freetrack (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I go to the Alps in the winter twice each year. This January I arrived during the first big snowfall for a few weeks and drove on the motorway behind snow ploughs and then when I got to my junction, drove 20km up and over the pass to the place I was staying. The tyres exceeded expectation and easily as good as previous full winter tyres I have had before. A week later in a blizzard, I drove to Geneva airport and back, an hour each way, and when driving over the same pass in heavy snow, the locals were stopping and some were putting on chains. I had to go stop start up the hill on freshly snow covered roads and the tyres provided every confidence as they did going down the other side of the pass

I have now driven back and done over 2000 miles. They have been great in snow and also in the very wet condition in the past few weeks in the UK. They are not noticeably noisy, perhaps 5% less efficient than my last summer tyres, and appear very stable. I expect them on the evidence of a few warmer days before going to the Alps that they may be slightly less precise in warmer weather, but the trade off is worthwhile, given the stability they have showed in difficult driving condition

Regardless as to how good the tyres are, any tyre will have a limit on snow, so even though I recommend these tyres, you still need to drive with caution, but they provide the edge required when encountering snow and wet in winter conditions
33 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2017