Michelin CrossClimate SUV

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 78%
Wear 57%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 76%
Snow Grip 60%
Ice Grip 60%

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4

Show All

Tyre review data from 6 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 31,400 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - A strong allrounder with sport dynamic handling in the dry, and good in the snow and wet. Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Expensive.

2018 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Best in the dry, almost matching the summer tyre, good in the wet, low fuel use.
  • Negative - Long braking distances in the snow (but still many times better than a summer tyre)
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin CrossClimate SUV

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate SUV

2017-01-15 - What is the difference between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate SUV tyres? Why should I not have standard passenger CrossClimates fitted to my AWD vehicle?

The CrossClimate and CrossClimate SUV tyres are generally separated by size and load rating. There should be very few, if any crossover in the two sizes.


2017-06-27 - Are these CrossClimate SUV tyres any good off-road (I need tyres that are 50/50 for on/off road performance)?

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV will perform better offroad than a normal SUV summer tyre due to its design, but won't be as good as a true 50/50 ATR tyre.


2018-10-24 - Making a decision on tyres for cold weather and not sure which one to go for, need tyres for my Outlander PHEV and live in Yorkshire, it’s getting cold now and when it snows, the many hills become a bit treacherous, was looking at the CrossClimates, the size comes in both regular and SUV tyre, is it particularly important which one I go for or are they pretty much the same? The other tyres I was considering were Goodyear vector 4 gen 2 but the size is difficult to find. Lastly, the other tyre was full winters Conti TS860 S but can I run them all year as I only want one set of tyres? Which one would you recommend? Any advice is greatly appreciated. By the way, great website and videos, keep up the good work. Under your advice I bought a set of Michelin PS4S for my weekend car, BEST THINGS EVER.

If you intend to run year round, I think the CrossClimate is the correct choice. Regarding the SUV or car version, I would assume the load ratings are different even if the sizes are the same, so fit whichever load rating works for your vehicle. Glad you're liking the PS4S!


2019-01-06 - Can you replace just two rear tyres on a 4x4 with the Michelin CrossClimate tyre without effecting safety. Watched the two tyre winter video which was really interesting but would fitting these tyres have the same effect being they are all season working with summer fronts.

Ideally you would replace all 4. In normal driving you might not notice a huge amount of difference, but when on snow or ice you will find you have grip to accelerate but no braking or turning.


2019-05-15 - What is the speed & heat rating on the CrossClimate SUV

It will be marked by the tyre retailer, it varies by size and sku.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/55 R18 £126.00 - £142.74 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £123.00 - £137.34 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/55 R19 £163.00 - £172.01 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/45 R20 £225.26 - £236.26 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 29 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate SUV Review

Given 80% while driving a Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Very good tyre in wet road and in light snow. I hadn't the opportunity to drive it in heavy snow. The consumption was increased by 0.5 l/100km in the first 3000 km. Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55/18). I recommend it for areas with frequent light snowfall.
114 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2017   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate SUV Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate SUV tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate SUV.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 44% while driving a Mercedes Benz GL450 (255/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Bad on gravel roads, blown 3 times in 2 months.
24 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2019   
Porsche Cayenne 3.0 Diesel (275/45 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I don't feel compelled to often voice my views unless something is really bad....this is a first and I'd like to offer up my thoughts on the Excellent Cross Climate - they really are as good (11 out of 10) as other before me say. I've had them for just over 1000 miles now and the difference they've made is outstanding.

I replaced 4 Pirelli Scorpions All Season Verdes (N0 rated) that weren't fitted for long before I knew id made the wrong choice (see my other review on these). These Michelins are a world apart. I was sceptical as they're fairly new, a v shaped tread pattern and not Porsche rated - but they should be! Grip in all weathers is the best I've experienced, even spirited driving and gives me confidence in the cars ability to perform as it should. Hard braking no longer activates the ABS in dry, they really do 'stick' even in hotter weather. You can feel with your hand the difference in compounds to touch, the Michelin is softer and stickier moulding to the surface as the claim and the Pirellis hard and unforgiving.

The ride is quiet and noticeably softer but best of all its got rid of the tram lining, severe vibration, and awful balance issues I had with the Scorpions. Even after 1000 miles and several alignments there was some funny wear patterns emerging on them.

I would absolutely recommend these to anyone looking for a good all season tyre with a summer bias for UK weather. Although not tested in the snow and ice yet I'm sure they'd get me home safe.

One point to note is that the tread depth from new is a little under 7mm and with such a soft compound and heavy car I wonder if it will go the distance...having said that I don't really care I would just keep buying them,at such a good price point to - they're that good. I'd also be interested to see how the tread holds up to as I have seen reports and pictures of chunks of tread missing on higher mileage tyres that have maybe been used on rougher roads in Europe.

I'm extremely pleased with them, and would highly recommend them as the best All Season Tyre for the UK especially AWD and 4WD vehicles that do 90% on road. I wouldn't be surprised if we see them more as OEM fitment in the future.
16 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Lexus RX 450h (235/55 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
They are excellent if you mostly drive in mixed weather with occasional snowy days. They will not break in the same manner as pure snow tyres but they will get you home and mobile in snowy weather. If you drive carefully as we all should after a sudden snowfall, they are excellent. Used with success on a Lexus RX which is all-wheel drive but not a Landrover but was far better than a Range Rover with Summer Tyres in the snow. Tyres are critical to car performance, pity the car manufacturers don't educate the public that your V8 turbo diesel Range isn't going anywhere if you have the wrong tyres.
7 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (235/55 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Replaced the standard Continentals on my Audi A6 Allroad with these - and wow what a transformation! The car is significantly quieter on the road, and handles well. Very very reassuring in the wet, and they are still quiet in the wet. Not had chance to try them on snow yet, but this is where they are supposed to excel. Got these to ensure I had good safety all year round, but have to say they are just great tyres!
24 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Have driven approx 12000 miles on Crossclimate 225/60 R17 tyres , on Hyundai ix35 4WD .
Very little visible wear, despite living in the country and French mountains, and driving fast though the bends on a lot of winding roads .
As I approach the limit and the drift sets in , the car remains balanced and controllable, with only minor understeer both in the dry and wet .
These are very well-mannered all round tyres, even in driving snow in the Alps .
31 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2018   

See all 6 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate SUV (newest first) >>