Michelin CrossClimate

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 81%
Wear 86%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 76%
Ice Grip 57%

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

Show All

Tyre review data from 107 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 1,314,939 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 17 tyres

2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear on test, good in the dry and on icy roads.
  • Negative - Weak on snow.

2017 All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - The Michelin CrossClimate has an excellent all round performance, with a particular strength in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average snow handling.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68  
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68  
205/65 R15 99V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69  
225/55 R16 99W XL   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68  
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69  
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69  
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tyres? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

If you look at the 2017 all season tyre test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tyre included in the test.


2018-03-04 - Im considering purchasing some cross climates for my car. However, my car has 14" wheels and I understand that Michelin do not produce the crossclimate+ tyre in 14" sizes. Is there a noticeable difference in durability and performance when worn between the standard crossclimate and the + models? And is there a reason why they do not produce the + model in 14"?

There are minimal differences between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate+ versions of the tyre. I would imagine the current lack of + version would indicate it's a low volume size and the moulds have yet to be updated.


2018-03-30 - My current Continental Sport Contact 3 tyres are down to 3mm on the front (rear 6mm). On any kind of light snow/slush the front tyres just spin. Could I fit 2 Cross Climate tyres or shouldn't you mix summer and all season tyres?

It is not advised to fit just two all season tyres, when you do encounter snow or ice the grip imbalance is so high it can cause very dangerous situations.


2018-06-28 - I'm in a quandary; which would be my best choice? Michelin CrossClimate or Nokian Weatherproof SUV 235/65R17 for a Toyota RAV4?

It depends on your usage plans, however I believe the CrossClimate a better all season tyre for the majority of the UK as the Weatherproof behaves more like a winter tyre in the dry, which gives you extended dry braking.


2019-03-01 - Why Crossclimate have so much difference from Crossclimate+ on ice performance?

It shouldn't, both tyres should be very similar.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £107.23 - £107.23 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £87.50 - £96.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £102.43 - £144.80 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £97.75 - £97.75 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Review

Given 37% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
Over rated in my view for the most part.
412 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 88% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (225/60 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
I'm reviewing the tyre as i have a BMW X3 & i have moved from Pirelli Run Flats to the cross climate.
What a difference they have made to the car, quieter, far less jittery and i feel more comfortable now winter is about to take hold.
OK i dont do a lot of snow driving, as i live in the east midlands (water is the problem at the moment) but its nice to know if we do get some of the white stuff i'll be ready for it.
Overall i'm very pleased ... also got a 10% off deal at black circles making the tryes £50 cheaper than the run flats.
I cant really see any RF all season tyres. Im 100% happy ive made the switch
0 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
Given 91% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDIe C6 model (205/60 R16 H) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
I have passed 48000km with these tires in 3 years. They gave me an excellent feeling of safety in all condition. They were mostly driven in area (Montengro near sea) where summer temperatures are reaching 40 degree C and on winter the temperature are going around to 0 degree C. Thread depth reduced to 4mm, but this is not the problem. Problem is that small parts of rubber are falling off from tires on front axle even if I made rotation of tires each 10000km. Probably that car is too heavy in front (Audi A6 2.0 tdi C6 model). Anyhow, I strongly recommend these tires, but next one will be other set only due to price because I cannot find price in my area which is close to prices found in EU.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a BMW X3 2.0d Sport (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
have had these on my car for 18 thousand miles over 14 months, they are still as surefooted as when new, have driven in 7cms of snow with no issues even up a fairly steep hill, they are comfortable, quiet, hard wearing and dependable.. I estimate I have around 12-18 k miles left before I need to replace them (same again)
8 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 38,000 easy going miles
As there are R14s on my fiesta, there is no 'plus' version available. I have replaced the fronts today after 38k miles. They were still legal but under 3mm. The rears still have 4-5mm and I have kept these for now. I fitted the same tyre again on the front as I think they are one of the best tyres I have ever had. Really solid performance all round and great for occasional snow and ice use. The first time in snow I tried an emergency stop somewhere very quiet and nearly went through the windscreen - it was if I was on Tarmac. They might not be 'the absolute best' tyre under every condition (no tyre is) but the performance I have found to be very good in every condition I have driven in and they are certainly better than most average tyres in all conditions. Given the great wear and their relatively cheap price (I paid just £45 each, fully fitted) they are a must to my mind and I was happy to replace like with like.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2019   

See all 102 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate (newest first) >>