Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 84%
Wear 74%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 80%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Exalto PE2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4

Show All

Tyre review data from 271 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 3,626,734 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2016 Test World Performance Tyre Test - 7th of 13 tyres

  • Positive - High resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Poor lateral grip on wet surfaces, longer braking distance on dry roads

2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly good on dry roads, good in the wet
  • Negative - Relatively high wear

2015 EVO Magazine Performance Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - While Michelin had a relatively strong showing in the wet, the Pilot Sport 3 failed in the dry both subjectively and objectively, finishing ninth in both tests. It won the curved aquaplaning test.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   F A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   E A 71  
195/45 R16 84V XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 83V   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F A 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL AO E A 71  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 71  
205/50 R16 87V   F A 71  
205/50 R16 87V   E A 71  
205/55 R16 91V   F A 71  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   E A 70  
205/55 R16 91W   F A 71  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E A 71  
245/40 R17 91Y   F A 71  
205/45 R17 84W   F A 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70  
215/45 R17 91W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 71  
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71  
225/45 R17 91V   F A 71  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   E A 71  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E A 71  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 71  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
275/35 R18 95Y   F A 71  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   E A 73  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92W XL   E A 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95W XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R18 93Y   F A 71  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 71  
215/45 R18 93W XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91V   E A 71  
225/45 R18 95V XL   E A 71  
225/45 R18 91W   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/45 R18 96V   E A 71  
245/45 R18 100W XL   E A 70  
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 73  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 70  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 73  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71  
245/40 R19 94Y   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 0 XL   E A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y   C A 71  
275/40 R19 101Y          
235/45 R19 99W XL   E A 71  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73  
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E A 73  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

2016-05-25 - Currently I am using 235/45/18r and planning to change all 4 tyres. Can I replace all 4 tyres to 235/50/18r?

Whether you can make the swap depends on your vehicle suspension layout offering clearance. Usually there should be enough room, but remember changing tyre size affects your vehicle speedo, and is classified as a modification so will need to be declared to the insurance company.


2018-12-31 - Which tyres are better for those who tried these 3? RE003 potenza by bridgestone or michelin ps3 or Hankook Ventus 12 evo 2? There is no ps4 option for 15 inch rims.

As far as I'm aware, no one has tested all three officially. The RE003 gets great reviews in America, but the people I know in the UK tend to prefer the Michelin.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £103.30 - £107.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £86.50 - £127.80 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £117.20 - £213.00 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Review

Given 86% while driving a BMW 530i (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
AWESOME.
Stick like stuff to a blanket in the wet, brilliant feedback it's like they are one with the tarmac.
Comfortable, great stopping distance feedback nice understeer. What more can I say.

Replaced Eagle F1's which had developed a nasty vibration due to collapsed casings, even with 5K still left to go.

Purchasing again.

95 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 3 PS3.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 93% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
I bought my 2012 C180 CGI AMG about 6000 miles ago and it came with PS3s in the front. They were DOTxx15, so very high points on wear!
They had about 3 mm of thread when I bought the car and when changed them for the PS4s 10 days ago they still had 2 mm of thread! Main reason of changing before getting to the legal 1.6 mm is that I had a bolt stuck in one of the tire. (Yes, I drove the car for the last 2 months - about 1000 miles - knwoingly that I have an allen bolt stuck in one of the tires).
I was amazed how good they were even at the end of their life - 4 years old and only 2 mm of thread - going hard around roundabouts or cruising at high speeds on the motorway - no issues!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Audi A5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Originally had Pirelli Rosso Tyres on my 2015 A5 S-Line 1.8TSi, seemed to grip ok but first outing out on a motorway revealed terrific tyre noise roar which having been used to a almost deafly silence in a previous car which happen to have Michelins on was quite alarming. Although the Pirelli's were no where near worn I quickly replaced them with some PS3's, straight away this cut the road roar down to an acceptable level, don't have to turn the radio up so much now! The Michelins have also made the suspension a little more forgiving on the S-line's harsh ride and the dry grip is what you would expect from a Michelin.
The one thing it hasn't completely cured is the tramlining which probably is more to due to the width of the tyres and suspension set up,(appears to be a common complaint on the Audi) I have found that reducing the tyre pressure a couple of LBs has slightly improved that issue. Wet grip on quick get away is probably not as good as the Pirelli but again the car is crying out for traction control especially when the weight of the engine/gearbox on the A4/A5 is forward of the front axle.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!

See all 227 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (newest first) >>