Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 88%
Wear 85%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 85%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tyre which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tyres from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Show All

Tyre review data from 49 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 186,500 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Shortest braking distances in both the dry and wet, excellent dry handling and good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Oversteer balance in wet handling meant only 5th fastest time. Not quite as sharp as the Continental on the front axle.
  • Overall - The Pilot Sport 4S continues to offer a near unrivaled mix of performance, comfort and low rolling resistance.
    Highly Recommended.

2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Best dry braking, good handling in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average comfort, lower wet grip.
  • Overall - Recommended.

2018 EVO UUHP Tyre Test - 1st of 6 tyres

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tyres ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tyres can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tyres fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tyre is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tyre pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tyres in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tyre, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tyres mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tyres all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tyres to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tyre comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


2018-07-22 - what would be the recommended camber angles for Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires 235/45/17 for track day use on a rwd car? I know that exact number depends on car suspension etc, but can you please give me the reference point.

Camber angles are so vehicle and application dependant it's almost impossible to give an accurate starting point. As with any performance tyre, using camber and pressures to ensure the tyre is heated evenly is key. My starting point would likely be a little more negative camber than the OE settings and go from there.


2018-08-27 - Will the PS4S be available in 18" in the near future? I'd like to substitute the Potenza S001 on my 147 GTA by the PS4S but they aren't available and I don't want to spend the money in some PSS and that in a few months the release them. Thank you very much

There's no official date for 17 or 18 inch versions of the PS4S in Europe, but there are rumours it is coming! I wouldn't rely on seeing it before 2019.


2018-08-31 - I am driving a 2018 Mercedes E63s sedan. It came with Pirelli P zero tires. Even in comfort mode the car is extremely harsh for ride quality. I am looking to replace them with a set of tires that would give me the best ride quality over everything else. Is there a better soft riding tire for this car than the Michelin pilot sport 4s. Thank you.

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is regarding as a very comfortable tyre in certain sizes so worth checking out, but the 4S is the best all round tyre available at the moment.


2019-05-06 - Will these PS4s be good for BMW 530d GT F07 for daily use, highway, city traffic? (20" size)

The PS4S is a great option for daily use.


2019-07-02 - Any news on if and when the PS4S will be available in 17" or 18"?

There's rumours a few 18" sizes will be available at some point in the future, but don't expect a lot of key sizes as they have in America. Michelin are happy with the PS4 covering this size range.


2019-08-16 - Hello, I have a Mercedes C63 with the 19” wheels, currently on MPSS which are fabulous although could be a little better for traction in the cold and wet. I don’t track the car just want solid road driving and enhanced wet weather grip. Would you recommend MPS4s or the new GoodYear supersports? Loved your recent film which leads me to believe the Goodyear are even better in the wet?

According to our test, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport should offer a little more wet traction than the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. More tests will hopefully confirm this next year!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £143.53 - £179.80 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £157.21 - £186.85 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £195.70 - £219.05 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R20 £206.00 - £248.10 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 75 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Review

Given 100% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.
245 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4 S.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 97% while driving a BMW M5 (305/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
If you're thinking of buying some high performance summer tyres just stop looking and buy these, iv had them on my last 3 cars (w204 c63, F80 M3 and now F10 M5) and wouldn't change them for anything. Been 190+ on the autobahn (no drama what so ever!) and even a few laps on the ring, nearly 8000 miles later and i still have 6mm tread, that's on a 700bhp M5!
I LOVE THEM!
1 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tyres i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tyres was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !
0 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019   
These are the best tyres in the world. Watch now!
Given 49% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL63 AMG (285/30 R20 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Let me mention my 2018 SL63 came with Continental conti sport contact 5p, and I found them all around an OK tire, but they wore out in 15,000 km... So I went seeking a better tire, I dont care about wear that much, I spent a lot of money on my car and good or the BEST tires are a must regardless of whether they last 10k or 50k, I saw a lot of good and even excellent ratings for the michelin 4s tire, its new and has some new compound in the rubber that is supposed to give better grip.. I have a powerful car with lots of torque, 668 lb lbs, so when I give it I want grip.. I put them on the rear once the Contis were done... These 4s tires when I first installed them on the rear, I found the grip they gave was incredible ! I was so happy, I could finally launch my car properly, but now with 8000 km on them (5000 miles) they are not gripping nearly as well, I would say they are now worse than the conti 5p.. I have lots of tread left, but for some reason they only grip well on NEW pavement. Anything else other than NEW pavement and I can put my car sideways in 3rd gear with my traction control off, and 3rd gear goes up to 100 mph so that is very scary. I have to say I am disappointed the performance of these tires has diminished so very quickly, and since they have lots of tread left I find that I am going to have to replace them already. They are also a bit soft in corners... Thinking of the Continental 5p again, or perhaps the continental extreme contact. Sport cup 2 perhaps???? I just know I will not buy the 4s again.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL63 AMG (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I thought these tires gripped enormously when I first got them but after 8000 km they are not gripping nearly as well and yet have shown little wear. They are wearing far better than the conti 5p my car came with, but the 4S seem to be very very slippery on certain types of road pavement, if its a bit of a light grey very smooth pavement with a bit of a shiny look, the tires feel like you are on ice and will cause the car to loose traction even under light acceleration. Im not sure if its the rubber compound, but I think i will try another type of tire next time and compare on the same roads to see if I can duplicate these slippery conditions.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275/50 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres on my 600+ BHP Supercharged Mustang GT. Let me say this: I rarely if at all give feedback or review anything. However these tyres live up to their hype and then some. Shockingly amazing wet grip as if you are driving on the ground. Exceptional handling even when put at limit on both motorways and track. But above all the comfort on these tyres is exceptional after a spirited driving on track or motorway you get back to the city and enjoy driving in comfort of a true Grand Tourer.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2019   

See all 46 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (newest first) >>