Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 90%
Wear 88%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 88%

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tyre which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tyres from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Show All

Tyre review data from 44 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 155,500 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Shortest braking distances in both the dry and wet, excellent dry handling and good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Oversteer balance in wet handling meant only 5th fastest time. Not quite as sharp as the Continental on the front axle.
  • Overall - The Pilot Sport 4S continues to offer a near unrivaled mix of performance, comfort and low rolling resistance.
    Highly Recommended.

2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Best dry braking, good handling in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average comfort, lower wet grip.
  • Overall - Recommended.

2018 EVO UUHP Tyre Test - 1st of 6 tyres

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tyres ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tyres can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tyres fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tyre is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tyre pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tyres in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tyre, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tyres mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tyres all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tyres to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tyre comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


2018-07-22 - what would be the recommended camber angles for Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires 235/45/17 for track day use on a rwd car? I know that exact number depends on car suspension etc, but can you please give me the reference point.

Camber angles are so vehicle and application dependant it's almost impossible to give an accurate starting point. As with any performance tyre, using camber and pressures to ensure the tyre is heated evenly is key. My starting point would likely be a little more negative camber than the OE settings and go from there.


2018-08-27 - Will the PS4S be available in 18" in the near future? I'd like to substitute the Potenza S001 on my 147 GTA by the PS4S but they aren't available and I don't want to spend the money in some PSS and that in a few months the release them. Thank you very much

There's no official date for 17 or 18 inch versions of the PS4S in Europe, but there are rumours it is coming! I wouldn't rely on seeing it before 2019.


2018-08-31 - I am driving a 2018 Mercedes E63s sedan. It came with Pirelli P zero tires. Even in comfort mode the car is extremely harsh for ride quality. I am looking to replace them with a set of tires that would give me the best ride quality over everything else. Is there a better soft riding tire for this car than the Michelin pilot sport 4s. Thank you.

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is regarding as a very comfortable tyre in certain sizes so worth checking out, but the 4S is the best all round tyre available at the moment.


2019-05-06 - Will these PS4s be good for BMW 530d GT F07 for daily use, highway, city traffic? (20" size)

The PS4S is a great option for daily use.


2019-07-02 - Any news on if and when the PS4S will be available in 17" or 18"?

There's rumours a few 18" sizes will be available at some point in the future, but don't expect a lot of key sizes as they have in America. Michelin are happy with the PS4 covering this size range.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £143.53 - £219.30 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £174.70 - £206.20 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £163.20 - £201.20 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £201.50 - £217.48 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R20 £196.61 - £260.40 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 73 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Review

Given 100% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tyre on the market.
239 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2017   

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Pilot Sport 4 S.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 99% while driving a BMW 740d msport (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 3,500 average miles
The best tyre Ive ever driven with. Prior to this I had PZero, and before that had various tyres as GY EagleF1, Bridgestone. Low in wear, still as ”new” after 3500 miles. No tracking, excellent steering response, quiet, seems to be improving even in higher speeds. Fantastic handling, comfort, response from road in cruising speed of 170-180km/h. Very relying and assuring in speeds above 200km/h as well! Very good grip and steer-tracking in high speed curves at the motorway. Huge breaking potential from +200km/h down to like 80-90, feels like ”extra brakes” on the car vs the PZero I had before. First time in many many years I bought Michelins, now I consider upon ”never” switching...
0 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2019   
These are the best tyres in the world. Watch now!
Given 96% while driving a BMW Z4M Coupe (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I changed from 18” Goodyear F1 asymmetric 2 on 224’s to the PS4s’ on OEM 19” CSL alloys on a 2nd hand car purchase.

Firstly, despite being extra load tyres & a narrower sidewall, they actually feel slightly softer. Been a Michelin SuperSport tyre fan so very surprised just how grippy these tyres are in all conditions.
9 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Audi TT S (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
I replaced all 4 tyres from toyo proxe t1 sport for my Audi TTS Quattro. Initially, they felt less road sense & the handling is not as good as toyo proxe t1 sport. However, the dry & wet grip is much better than the toyo tyres. In term of comfortable, noise level & wear, it is much better than toyo Tyre as described as well. After driving for about 1200 miles, recently when driving in extreme, the performance & potential of Michelin Pilot Sport 4S start to kick in & now they are just as good as my previous toyo tyres in term of the road feedback & handling. Just make sure you have a correct air pressure so they can play their potential. I am sure they can give you a maximum confident, optimum road feedback & immaculate handling in daily combination of city & highway driving experience. Although it's sidewall is not as stiff as some competitors or Semi Slick Track Tyre like Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 but we can't have the 100% prefect tyres which can meet the requirements of both max comfortable & max road handling in normal daily uses. Go for these tyres if you have enough budget & definitely they are the only few best choice of Ultra Performance Summer Tyres in the recent market.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a BMW F11 M550d xDrive (275/30 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Absolutely Brilliant. They are one whole step better than the PS4 which I have driven in size 245/40R18 on a RWD 530d E61. The dry grip is outstanding. Very comfortable and quiet. The M550d touring comes stock with Dunlop runflats and these PS4s are just on a whole different playing field. Not to mention that the rear Dunlops both failed catastrophically by delaminating from the steel beads and bursting at 240km/h and with an age of the tyres just one year old with 4mm still left on the tread. Very happy with this tyre.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2019   

See all 41 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (newest first) >>