Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 84%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 86%
 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £143.53 - £185.40 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £178.40 - £223.10 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £159.32 - £187.99 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
285/30 R20 £213.18 - £236.80 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 76 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 86% while driving a Porsche 997 911 (305/30 R19 W) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
Knock out. You get in and it drives like a new car.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a BMW M5 (305/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
If you're thinking of buying some high performance summer tyres just stop looking and buy these, iv had them on my last 3 cars (w204 c63, F80 M3 and now F10 M5) and wouldn't change them for anything. Been 190+ on the autobahn (no drama what so ever!) and even a few laps on the ring, nearly 8000 miles later and i still have 6mm tread, that's on a 700bhp M5!
I LOVE THEM!
4 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tyres i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tyres was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !
5 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019   
Given 49% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL63 AMG (285/30 R20 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Let me mention my 2018 SL63 came with Continental conti sport contact 5p, and I found them all around an OK tire, but they wore out in 15,000 km... So I went seeking a better tire, I dont care about wear that much, I spent a lot of money on my car and good or the BEST tires are a must regardless of whether they last 10k or 50k, I saw a lot of good and even excellent ratings for the michelin 4s tire, its new and has some new compound in the rubber that is supposed to give better grip.. I have a powerful car with lots of torque, 668 lb lbs, so when I give it I want grip.. I put them on the rear once the Contis were done... These 4s tires when I first installed them on the rear, I found the grip they gave was incredible ! I was so happy, I could finally launch my car properly, but now with 8000 km on them (5000 miles) they are not gripping nearly as well, I would say they are now worse than the conti 5p.. I have lots of tread left, but for some reason they only grip well on NEW pavement. Anything else other than NEW pavement and I can put my car sideways in 3rd gear with my traction control off, and 3rd gear goes up to 100 mph so that is very scary. I have to say I am disappointed the performance of these tires has diminished so very quickly, and since they have lots of tread left I find that I am going to have to replace them already. They are also a bit soft in corners... Thinking of the Continental 5p again, or perhaps the continental extreme contact. Sport cup 2 perhaps???? I just know I will not buy the 4s again.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz SL63 AMG (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
I thought these tires gripped enormously when I first got them but after 8000 km they are not gripping nearly as well and yet have shown little wear. They are wearing far better than the conti 5p my car came with, but the 4S seem to be very very slippery on certain types of road pavement, if its a bit of a light grey very smooth pavement with a bit of a shiny look, the tires feel like you are on ice and will cause the car to loose traction even under light acceleration. Im not sure if its the rubber compound, but I think i will try another type of tire next time and compare on the same roads to see if I can duplicate these slippery conditions.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275/50 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Fitted these tyres on my 600+ BHP Supercharged Mustang GT. Let me say this: I rarely if at all give feedback or review anything. However these tyres live up to their hype and then some. Shockingly amazing wet grip as if you are driving on the ground. Exceptional handling even when put at limit on both motorways and track. But above all the comfort on these tyres is exceptional after a spirited driving on track or motorway you get back to the city and enjoy driving in comfort of a true Grand Tourer.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 740d msport (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 3,500 average miles
The best tyre Ive ever driven with. Prior to this I had PZero, and before that had various tyres as GY EagleF1, Bridgestone. Low in wear, still as ”new” after 3500 miles. No tracking, excellent steering response, quiet, seems to be improving even in higher speeds. Fantastic handling, comfort, response from road in cruising speed of 170-180km/h. Very relying and assuring in speeds above 200km/h as well! Very good grip and steer-tracking in high speed curves at the motorway. Huge breaking potential from +200km/h down to like 80-90, feels like ”extra brakes” on the car vs the PZero I had before. First time in many many years I bought Michelins, now I consider upon ”never” switching...
1 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a BMW Z4M Coupe (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I changed from 18” Goodyear F1 asymmetric 2 on 224’s to the PS4s’ on OEM 19” CSL alloys on a 2nd hand car purchase.

Firstly, despite being extra load tyres & a narrower sidewall, they actually feel slightly softer. Been a Michelin SuperSport tyre fan so very surprised just how grippy these tyres are in all conditions.
14 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Audi TT S (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 1,200 average miles
I replaced all 4 tyres from toyo proxe t1 sport for my Audi TTS Quattro. Initially, they felt less road sense & the handling is not as good as toyo proxe t1 sport. However, the dry & wet grip is much better than the toyo tyres. In term of comfortable, noise level & wear, it is much better than toyo Tyre as described as well. After driving for about 1200 miles, recently when driving in extreme, the performance & potential of Michelin Pilot Sport 4S start to kick in & now they are just as good as my previous toyo tyres in term of the road feedback & handling. Just make sure you have a correct air pressure so they can play their potential. I am sure they can give you a maximum confident, optimum road feedback & immaculate handling in daily combination of city & highway driving experience. Although it's sidewall is not as stiff as some competitors or Semi Slick Track Tyre like Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 but we can't have the 100% prefect tyres which can meet the requirements of both max comfortable & max road handling in normal daily uses. Go for these tyres if you have enough budget & definitely they are the only few best choice of Ultra Performance Summer Tyres in the recent market.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2019   
Advertisement