Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 88%
Handling 87%
Wear 80%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 88%
 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £100.00 - £121.32 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £91.90 - £110.76 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £128.00 - £136.18 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R18 £174.00 - £188.34 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 37 tyre sizes - View all.

Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 70% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced the RE050A on my car. Initially it was very similar to the RE050A until driven these on the tracks. Definitely better dry grip, better feedback and better initial turn in than the bridgestone. Would say not as sticky as the PSS replacing these PS2, but I like the linear feedback during turns from these tyres. The PS2 on my car didn't perform well in wet, felt wet grip was lacking. They were also noisier than the RE050A and had a harsher ride. These tyres lasted around 24ks on my car, no complain.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
New pair of Pilot Sport 2 265/35/18 replaced rear Pilot Sport 4 same size. PS2's have lost of grip on dry and wet plus very good response. On sporty mode feels very good as well, however not so much as great Pilot Super Sport which replaced PS2. Unfortunately manufacturer does offer PSS in size of 265/35/18.
Have driven 2000 miles on PS2 so far, they are very good tyres very good feel. On wear point of view it's too early to say not a lot of mileage. Hopefully they will last as long as PS4 before 27000 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2019   
Given 99% while driving a BMW 530i M sport (275/30 R19 W) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
Best tires money can buy!! Exellent
4 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I have had two sets of these with differing rear size though.
- Initial set 225/40 18 + 265/35 18
- second set 225/40 18 + 285/30 18

The first set came with the car and did not have much life left. They were noisy, especially the rear tyres. Handling was good. The new set feels more comfortable and handling is at least as good as with the first set.

I can compare these to Michelin PSS and Potenza S02A. Comparing the Michelins the PS2 feel more linear and abrasive and PSS more rubbery. Herecy or not but my favorites are the S02A because they give more linear feel provide grip with lesser slip angle. They have the sharpest turn in and easiest (most predictable) transition to slide.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 94% while driving a Porsche Cayman (265/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli’s P zero Rossos , improvement in the dry. Very good tyre. Would recommend.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2018   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche 987 Boxster S (235/40 R18 N) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
On a boxster s - best tyres you can buy - absolutely awesome for track days & fast road use
24 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2017   
Chevrolet (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
Only dry driving in the Middle East. Excellent grip and feel . No information on wear rate yet.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (265/35 R18 N) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Great tire. Had the N2's before these and PS2's are a huge improvement. On my 2001 Boxster I got 16000 miles on the rears, so I just ordered two. I love these.
I had the Perelli PZero's which I through away after a few thousand miles.
These handle extremely well. Haven't been in the rain much to make a comment.
Braking is awesome.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2017   
Given 87% while driving a Porsche Boxter S (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have had my Porsche Boxster 3.2S for 7 years and have always used these tyres. The mileage is now just under 60,000.
In pretty much every respect this is a fantastic car and a lot of that is down to how it handles, especially around bends but also on motorways and faster roads. I can't be that subjective because I have not tried the car on any other tyres but I think that a lot the driving enjoyment comes from having absolute faith in the tyres and the Michelin Pilot Sport 2 has always provided that. In every weather and temperature condition (apart from snow where the car is useless!) they stick like glue even under extreme provocation.

There has been the odd tiny sideways slip/slide around a wet roundabout but that may well be to do with oil on the road or something. I have had some pretty scary moments in other cars with different tyres, including a BMW M5 on Falken tyres, which may give you an indication of how spirited my driving can be and how good the Michelin tyres really are.

My only two complaints are cost and wear - If I get 10,000 - 12,000 miles out of the rear tyres I am doing well and I wear them right down to the in-built depth gauge without any noticeable impact on performance. They are also the most expensive tyre option for my car which until recently had a fairly low choice because I want the same tyres all round and it has different size front and back tyres. The choice has increased a lot over the years and so now the cheapest branded option I can get are Toyo Proxes T1 sport which are not far off half the price, e.g. feb 2017 Michelins all round cost £844 but Toyos cost £490. I may well try them next "just to see"!
5 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2017   
Given 70% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Got these tyres to replace the potenzas on my fiesta ST. The drop in cabin road noise was instantly noticeable and the handling in the wet also improved remarkably. Overall the driving experience has been awesome with these on and I've never felt anything less than stuck to the road.

However, this has come at a price which is needing to replace both front tyres after only 10,000 kms, most of which was highway driving! Love these tyres but not sure if I'll buy again at $500 every 8 months
11 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2016