Nexen N Fera SU1

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 78%
Wear 77%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 74%

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Nexen N Fera Sport SU2

Show All

Tyre review data from 83 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 572,701 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 22nd of 43 tyres

2014 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 12 tyres

  • Overall - The revised Nexen N FERA SU1 is fundamentally solid in the wet, but in the curved aquaplaning tests is floats very early

2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Quiet pass-by noise, good price-performance ratio, good economy
  • Negative - Average handling and grip on dry and wet roads
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nexen N Fera SU1

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N Fera SU1

2018-01-16 - Are these standard tread or directional?

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is an asymmetric tread design, not directional.


2019-05-10 - Are these tyres suitable for my 2012 VW T5 Campervan (275x40x20)?

As long as you can find the N Fera SU1 in the correct size and load rating for your vehicle, there's no reason you shouldn't use the tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/45 R16 £48.30 - £49.30 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £55.70 - £88.30 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £48.40 - £56.20 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £72.10 - £82.10 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £92.90 - £103.40 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £81.10 - £87.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 91 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Nexen N Fera SU1 Review

Given 92% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TFSI quattro (255/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I was quite suspicious of the Nexens before buying, but the seller did a good job convincing me. I had bought several tires from him before so I trusted his opinion. Switched from Michelin Pilot Sport 2 to these.

A few thousand km after I'm really happy with them. Quieter than the PS2, better dry and wet grip. Perhaps the progressiveness is a bit worse than on the PS2, but it is hard to estimate well as it would need a track day, too scary to find the limit in normal traffic!
591 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2016   

Latest Nexen N Fera SU1 Reviews

Have you driven on the Nexen N Fera SU1 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the N Fera SU1.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 86% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (245/40 R20 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
These Nexen N'fera SU1 tyres initially replaced Continental Sport Contact tyres on the front of the car.

These tyres are half the price of the Continentals, so how would they stack up against the standard OEM equipment? 245 40 R20 tyres offer a fair bit of grip and contact patch for a sports coupe/hatchback, but care must be taken if there is surface water with tyres this wide.

My first thoughts were how good these Nexens felt, even from new. New tyres normally start to feel better after they've had a chance to be scrubbed.

A good percentage of my driving takes place on winding country roads in the middle of nowhere, so the tyres get pushed to their limits. If I'm perfectly honest, I immediately preferred these SU1's over the Conti's, in just about every way.

The grip in both wet and dry conditions is very good, reassuringly so on twisty country roads. The noise levels from the tyres are acceptable but get louder once the tread wears below 4mm - this is more appreciable on motorway journeys.

Progressive feel as the tyres reach and exceed their limits can only be described as first rate. These tyres are very nicely mannered and give me very little cause for concern, even when I'm in a hurry.

During a particularly severe deluge on the M4 near Newport, the Motorway basically became a lake. Aquaplaning was the biggest concern, purely due to the shear volume of water. Reducing the speed, the tyres held their own whilst we witnessed 3 Aquaplaning related accidents within a 10 mile stretch! This was when the tyres were around 5mm.

These tyres seem to give decent enough fuel economy, similar to the Conti's, but with better grip levels.

Wear rates are acceptable considering the grip performance, though the Conti's had longer life.

We now have the Nexen N'fera SU1's on all 4 corners of the car and it feels planted and safe. Steering is responsive, braking is good and both cornering and acceleration are exactly what you'd want for the GTC.

All with a tyre costing 50% less.

Now with Nexen RU1's being OE on Porsche Cayenne and Macan models, it's even harder not to take these tyres seriously.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 9, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GTC (245/40 R20 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
These Nexen N'fera SU1 tyres initially replaced Continental Sport Contact tyres on the front of the car.

These tyres are half the price of the Continentals, so how would they stack up against the standard OEM equipment? 245 40 R20 tyres offer a fair bit of grip and contact patch for a sports coupe/hatchback, but care must be taken if there is surface water with tyres this wide.

My first thoughts were how good these Nexens felt, even from new. New tyres normally start to feel better after they've had a chance to be scrubbed.

A good percentage of my driving takes place on winding country roads in the middle of nowhere, so the tyres get pushed to their limits. If I'm perfectly honest, I immediately preferred these SU1's over the Conti's, in just about every way.

The grip in both wet and dry conditions is very good, reassuringly so on twisty country roads. The noise levels from the tyres are acceptable but get louder once the tread wears below 4mm - this is more appreciable on motorway journeys.

Progressive feel as the tyres reach and exceed their limits can only be described as first rate. These tyres are very nicely mannered and give me very little cause for concern, even when I'm in a hurry.

During a particularly severe deluge on the M4 near Newport, the Motorway basically became a lake. Aquaplaning was the biggest concern, purely due to the shear volume of water. Reducing the speed, the tyres held their own whilst we witnessed 3 Aquaplaning related accidents within a 10 mile stretch! This was when the tyres were around 5mm.

These tyres seem to give decent enough fuel economy, similar to the Conti's, but with better grip levels.

Wear rates are acceptable considering the grip performance, though the Conti's had longer life.

We now have the Nexen N'fera SU1's on all 4 corners of the car and it feels planted and safe. Steering is responsive, braking is good and both cornering and acceleration are exactly what you'd want for the GTC.

All with a tyre costing 50% less.

Now with Nexen RU1's being OE on Porsche Cayenne and Macan models, it's even harder not to take these tyres seriously.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2019   
Are cheap winter tyres safe, or a false economy? Watch this video to find out!
Given 96% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 6,000 average miles
From michelin to these,first difference you will notice is sound,they are quiteer 30% or even more, wet grip is great as dry also,since i am driving bmw i also push pedal sometimes harder and trust me you won t hear these to squeal.after 10 000 km rubber is still like new and i don t see sign of usage...my conclusion is that this tyre will very soon going to be in premium brand model with probably new summer model so buy it while they are cheap.you won t be dissapointed and they are affordable by reasonable price.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2019   
Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
When I purchased my car it had a set of Continental tyres on, but all were on the limit. The dealer agreed to replace all four tyres and I paid £90 in total to upgrade them to mid- range Nexen’s. I am pleased I did as nearly two years on and 30k miles later there is still an even 5 mm plus on each corner. My car feels balanced, sure footed on bends and wet/ dry braking is not a problem. I always change over to my winter tyres in November which are Dunlop’s so I can’t comment on Nexen’s performance in ice or snow. I am very conscious about my tyres after al, regardless of what car you have they are all that connect you with the road. If I had a choice I would stick to premium brands, but Nexen’s do what I expect them to. I would certainly recommend them to anyone in the future based on my experience.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2019   
Given 78% while driving a Infiniti Q70 (245/50 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Got this to replace my worn out Continental Sport Contact 5. Reason why I got these was that they were selling for 30% of the price of the Continentals and 50% of the Michelin in my area and wanted to try them out. So here's an initial review on it. It's got less feedback than the Conti and Michelins i'd say. Cornering is really not it's strong point and comfort levels can't be compared to those two either. It's not bad, the ride just feels a tad bit firm? Although, the Road noise is a lot quieter than the Conti's, perhaps as good or better than the Primacy to be honest. For the price, they're not bad. I find that they're better on wet roads than dry. They performed just like The Conti Sport Contact and Primacy in the wet for what I'm getting. Will I get them again? sure, reviews says that they wear pretty well. I'll find out once I've reached 20k miles or so.
11 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2019   

See all 80 customer reviews of the Nexen N Fera SU1 (newest first) >>