Toyo Proxes CF2

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 83%
Wear 85%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 91%
 
Size Price Range  
175/65 R15 £38.80 - £53.59 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/55 R15 £42.60 - £61.52 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/45 R16 £50.00 - £66.11 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/50 R15 £36.00 - £48.72 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £50.00 - £68.30 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £39.20 - £76.12 (37 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £53.00 - £72.46 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 73 tyre sizes - View all.

Toyo Proxes CF2 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 96% while driving a Alfa Romeo 146 1.4 Twin Spark (195/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 18,400 average miles
After almost 5.5 years on the car, today the Toyos had to go - they had become very old. Usually I change tires every 4 years, at the most.
A total of 29,600 km were done on them, and I have to say the performance degradation was both impressively little and progressive.
Dry and wet grip remained excellent, as did the road feedback and handling. Wear, they had suffered from dry rot a bit, but that's just because of the strong sun here in Greece, and the fact the car did more than 3 months out of the normal garage protection here (being parked outside). But the tread had more than 4.5mm left still, so the tread wear (index "400" on the 195/45/16 tires at least) was indeed very little given the fact I was driving very aggressively the first 2 years they were on my Alfa. Wet braking showed a minor -but noticeable- degradation though, when they passed their 4th year of age.
Comfort, they were good overall, but not perfect. I had mentioned again that slight "buzz" they do at -practically- all speeds, not tiring but a little bit annoying, mostly on longer journeys. At motorway speeds they were just about fine.
Would I guy again? Yes, but only if I could find them at a cheaper price than the Bridgestone Turanza T005 tires that replaced them (it's a tire that was first launched in 2013, let's not forget), let's see how will these turn out to be.
Overall though I do maintain it has been a thoroughly capable tire, and perhaps that "buzz" only affects low profile dimensions like mine. Very, very good indeed, very satisfied with them.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0 GT (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
After almost 40,000km daily drive(25,000miles) its still look okay(Treadwear420) maybe can go for another 10,000-20,000km

Previously i use Primacy 3 - but its lose grip and loud noise just after 15,000km and i get rid of it after 25,000km(3yr) due to low confident on wet grip, loud noise and bad road feedback

compare to this CF2 -
grip and handling - better than Primacy 3 and after 40,000km still feel almost same as first 10,000km
noise - i have good quiet ride untill around 25,000km after that its still acceptable level

overall - very happy with performance, comfort, noise and price

sadly i heard CF2 are about replaced by next generation and my local dealer dont have them stock anymore
so, have no choice but go after Primacy 4/ PS4 / Conti PC orUC6



6 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 19,000 average miles
I have a Toyota Yaris Sport version, when i put a complet set of 4 tyres, instantly i notice excelent Handling and Grip, Wet grip is excelent compare others tyres.

19.000 miles after mounted, front tyres mid life, and rear tyres as new.

This tyres is a recommendation by a friend, and definitively i will buy it again.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 26, 2019   
Given 92% while driving a MINI One D (175/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 250 average miles
Bought these tyres after reading a lot of reviews. Replaced a mixture of Michlin & Dunlop tyres, Just as good at a fraction of the price.
Tried in most weather conditions. More than happy. Would buy aging
3 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15) on mostly town for 20 average miles
A very happy user of Toyo Proxes CF2. Will NOT buy any other make. Low noise, low roll, good braking, I think Toyo have got the right mix of rubber compound for every day use. I do not use them in Winter. I use Nokian Winter tyres.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 23,000 spirited miles
Fitted the CF2s to save me some money, so I did not expect too much. Previous tyres on the same car were Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance, which lasted for about 40.000 km after rotating front to back once.

At that mileage the Goodyears displayed significant wear and they were slipping when accelerating from stop, also when braking. My car is a 1.5 liter diesel with automatic transmission , so tyre spinning should not be often at all.

The CF2s were a disaster in the first 500 km for some reason. Extremely vague and mushy steering wheel, understeer on dry and a very wobbly feel altogether. To the point I was considering returning them and paying more to get other tyres.
However, after the first 600 km, their behavior changed to the better. Their handling on dry was comparable with the Goodyears, steering is crisper, braking is better in speeds betweeen 50 and 140 km/h, noise is OK.
On wet, they are better than the Goodyears in braking and aquaplanning, slightly weaker on turns bit still very reliable.
Now, they have 37.000 km on them and I have not even rotated them yet front to back. The fronts have 6mm and the rears 7 mm of tread depth, no visible signs of wear, still holding the road just fine.
Conclusion, these are great tyres, better than the Goodyears, much better than the stock Michelin Energys on the same car.
I can see that recent reviews are very positive , while older tyre tests are not so positive on the CF2s, maybe TOYO has made changes in the compound over time without going public about it.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2019   
Given 80% while driving a Renault Captur (205/55 R17 V) on mostly town for 200 average miles
Got these tyres via asda tyres and for the price I can't fault them. Early days but so far so good. Much better contact on the road as the 4 Michelin I replaced were almost illegal.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP (195/45 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
What an under rated tyre. My favorite yet and I've been through loads of hugh and low end sets.

Such a quiet tyre, handles great, wears reasonably (you want a tyre to wear or its a rubbish tyre)

I would put these up against my Michelin Pilot Sport 3's.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
25,000 miles (40,000km) on the front of a 150hp Mazda 3 diesel. Remarkably long lasting so good value.
The tyre is hard (squeals in hard cornering) and doesn't quite have the dry grip I'd like - way batter than some though. Wet grip is surprisingly good. I'd probably go for a premium brand but for mid range these are excellent.
8 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2019   
Given 91% while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (195/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 10 spirited miles
The best choise! Great cornering, amazing wear lasting, precise braking and very good response at wet conditions.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2019