Vredestein Quatrac 3

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 75%
Wear 76%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 80%

Vredestein Quatrac 3 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 51% while driving a Daihatsu Terios (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Awful tires. No dry grip at all. Average wet grip. Good grip on snow.
Would not buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2017   
Given 69% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good in the winter but for me the compromise in the summer is too great.
After 2 years of driving on these tyres, I can summarise my findings:
Pros:
- On cold to average temperature roads, excellent braking and cornering performance, progressive and predicable at the limits.
- Cold and wet weather braking ability is huge, delivers some very stable and satisfying stopping power.
- They seem to last just as long, if not longer, than my previous Hankook summer tyres. Which I was surprised by, since I thought they would wear in the hot weather.
Cons:
- Hissing noise on wet roads is very noticeable in the cabin.
- On very hot roads (e.g. after a few days of 25 degrees C+) these tyres lose significant cornering performance. Braking is still strong, but cornering on hot roads quickly descends into squeals of understeer. I found this was much worse on my second summer of driving after the tyre was half worn out.
8 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2016   
Given 63% while driving a Toyota Prius (195/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 24,000 easy going miles
After only 24k in London worn down to the legal limit.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2016   
Given 71% while driving a Renault Laguna 3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,000 easy going miles
I bought 4 Quatrac 3s for my Renault Laguna 3 to cope with the winters in the Pennines of N England - lots of long steep hills, sharp bends and narrow roads, and snow every winter. Performance was very good - grip quite satisfactory in wet and dry (though I'm a cautious driver), but excellent in snow even on steep hills - in fact I had to try very hard to make them slip even on snow. They've gone through two winters, and about 14,000 miles - and the front pair now need replacing. They wear quicker than summer tyres (which are totally hopeless round here in the winter), but then, that's the trade-off.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2016   
Given 67% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Found these to perform very well for the one snowy day we had in UK since fitting them last year. Very progressive on the snow. You still have to drive to the conditions but a 50% increase in grips helps.

But for me, as a compromise tyre the compromise was too great. They are a little noisy in the dry, and on a damp road they get very noisy indeed - they hiss constantly. Under high cornering load they get noisy as well, and when doing a flying start in warm conditions the slightest skitter makes a burn-rubber smell, unlike my old summer tyres.

Can't comment on the life but I usually get 15,000 miles out of my front tyres and they seem to be on track for something similar.

But I found I missed my Hankook Ventus Prime summer tyre for my summer driving, with which I could also get around ok in the snow. I think the Quadrac 3's would be good if I had snowy hills to climb but I don't live in Scotland.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2015   
Given 91% while driving a Rover 75 auto (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20 spirited miles
Great tyres for rural areas where snow, ice, tractor mud, floods and bending roads are met each year. Good on motorways too with good life, perhaps not as much as a Michelin but far better grip when you need it.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2015   
Given 94% while driving a Smart fortwo passion (175/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 11 spirited miles
Quieter than original Bridgstones, a little less grippy in the dry but more progressive and predictable at breakaway.
Far better in the wet and in a totally different class once the weather turns cold. frosty mornings and sludge are no issue and it is fun going past 4X4's stuck in the snow.
have to watch out for how close the car behind is when breaking, tail gaters do not stand a chance of stopping if you break really hard
0 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2014   
Given 80% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (195/50 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 11,000 average miles
The Quatrac 3 has been the best all season tyre we have used to date, they have gone on every car we have owned in the past 5 years. They are much better in the the snow and ice than some winter tyres we tried and are the best compromise for one set of all year round tyres we have found to date - just put a new set on my wife's Skoda. Minor drawbacks include they can (and do) wear quickly on heavier cars but that's compensated by excellent grip in all but the worst conditions until the tyre is getting towards the end of its life. They do get a bit 'rumbly' as they wear down, a droning noise is not all that uncommon.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2014   
Given 57% while driving a Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 14,000 average miles
I bought these tyres because the Toyota factory fitted tyres were so bad in the snow, it was embarrassing. The Quatrac 3's performed well on the few snowy days we had, even in quite deep snow or flattened, icy snow. Also good on muddy fields when other cars were struggling for any grip. So performance wise, very good. Downside is noise. OK when new but became progressively worse as they wore past about 10,000 miles. The rhythmic droning became so bad I was totally convinced a wheel bearing needed replacing. It seems the tyres had worn badly / unevenly, with random flat sections around the periphery creating vibration on at least 2 of the 4 tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2014