Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 77%
Wear 87%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 90%
Snow Grip 50%
Ice Grip 50%
 
Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 41% while driving a Fiat 500X (215/50 R17 H) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Awful Tyre when coming from Michelin Alpin 5 and Conti TS860.
The Vredestein don't come anywhere near.
It's a Dutch brand, so driving when them in the Dutch wintery conditions, you would say they're made for it. They are not.
If you're looking to buy these tires, just spend maybe €10 more per tire and buy Michelin or Conti. Or buy Uniroyal or Hankooks if you want to save money.
The Vredestein are useless, especially in wet conditions.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2019   
Given 85% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought these last year, & to be honest they are one of the best winter tyres I've used.
All round good grip & feedback levels. Progressive when they start to let go in the wet.
Brilliant when used in snow combined with 4x4 traction. They just bite & go!
Used on a Tiguan & made a few trips up the hills in Scotland to go ski-ing & never failed to get through.
Swapping to these from Pirelli Scorpion's for the rest of the year, there is little noticeable difference in road noise or comfort.
The only winter tyre I have used in the past better than these were Continental Winter Contact's, but they do cost a fair bit more.
All in all, I highly recommend these tyres for the cold seasons!
5 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2018   
Given 63% while driving a Jaguar XFR (225/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 40 average miles
I was advised to get these tyres by my local tyre dealer as a cheaper alternative, and by and large they are good tyres in the snow, BUT, they are very poor in the wet.

The original car that they were fitted to was the Jaguar 5.0 v8 with 385 BHP and they were ok, but when I put them on my Jaguar XFR with 510 BHP the wet grip went from OK to dangerous. Losing traction at 70 MPH on a motorway in the rain whilst going uphill and round a slight bend was not fun.

I suspect that they are OK on lower powered cars, but can't recommend them on higher powered cars.

UPDATE:- I have now spent a winter on some new tyres which are an order of magnitude better than these tyres in the wet and slightly better in the snow.
12 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Ford Galaxy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 23,000 average miles
I have tried 3 brands of winter tyre and the Vredstein has been head and shoulders above the others. Having travelled through the alps in winteron fresh and packed snow, I have never been stuck with these. Ford Galaxy 2wheel drive.
10 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2017   
Given 83% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia ST SRI CDTI ecoFLEX 160 (245/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
So drive on these everyday all year round on the front, motorway, A and B roads, now getting to the wear bar at 18000 miles.
They break traction at roundabouts if there is grit of salt on the road when you pull out, That's about the only real issue I have found.
Drove through some atrocious rain storms on the A1 last year and never felt the car move around at all, and I do not hang about.

Ok they are getting noisier as we get towards the end of their life, but on an icy January morning or with a little snow on the ground I know I am getting to work !
There seems to be more grip from these than the summer Continentals on the works car.
Would I have another set, yes as I cannot find any all seasons tyres to fit the bill.
4 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2017   
Given 69% while driving a Jaguar XFR (255/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 40,685 average miles
I fitted these tyres, initially to my V8 XF Jaguar and then onto my V8 XFR Jaguar.

The grip in the snow is excellent, which is what you need with a powerful rear wheel drive car, but the wet weather handling was always suspect. But when I put these tyres onto the XFR the wet weather handling issues became dangerous. even using winter mode on the car and barely touching the accelerator I would get wheel spin on all uphill starts, and I live in the hills in the North of England so that is inevitable. But the breaking point for me was when the rear wheels broke traction, in the rain, going uphill on the M1 at 70 MPH when I crossed the white line changing lanes. That got my attention and so I have removed these tyres even though they have over 4mm of tread left.

Having said that the wear rate if phenononal, I said 4mm of tread left and they have done 40,685 miles. They may simply be too hard to grip in the wet.
8 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2016   
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (275/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
In March 2014 we purchased our first VW Touareg 3.0 V6 Diesel, we previously had a Mercedes ML and had some issues with the tyres. We wanted a four season tyre for our 275/45 R20 wheels but couldn't seem to find any for such large wheels.

We went onto the web to try and find an appropriate tyre, but just ended up more confused! I spoke to my local tyre fitting expert Jeff Fowkes Wheels Ltd in Ibstock Leicestershire and he suggested that I take a look at the Vredestein Wintrac Extreme.

I immediately expressed surprise as spring had sprung and summer was coming, I was told that they could be left on all year round and they would still perform well. I was a little sceptical but went ahead with the purchase and we have now enjoyed just over 26,000 on the same set of tires, they are not particularly noisy and we haven't had any issues with performance at all.

Apparently the front tyres have around another 3,000 miles or so left in them (6mm left on the rears and 5mm on the fronts) before we need to think about replacing them, we were advised to run them at around 40 psi rather than the 35 psi we were running them at to give a bit more support to the side walls, the front passenger side one has worn the outside edge away (apparently this is a Touareg thing) and we were advised to have the tracking checked and corrected which we did. It was also suggested that we should have rotated the tyres (front to rear) each twelve months to equalise the wear, which we didn't do, but will in future.

the Wintrac Extreme has now been replaced by the Wintrac S Extreme and we will be fitting another pair of these on the front in around three months time and will continue to run these "winter" tyres all year round. For those who are fortunate enough to have the space to store winter and summer wheels, the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti is an excellent summer tyre, good value and also lasts for a good few miles!

I hope that this helps people who are having the same dilemma as we did!

Michael
4 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2016   
Given 91% while driving a Audi Q3 (215/65 R16) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
superb in snow and ice circa -2degs-4degs C . in the lake district . gives total confidence and tractability . no problems with grip even on steep down gradiuents . Will buy again the same or equivalent when necessary . Equally impressive on normal dry/ wet roads above o degs too. Went for new small wheels ; 16 inch with 215 , 65 ,16inch H speed on on audi Q3 quattro . Exellent ride quality .mike m.
2 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
These are the second set of Vredestein winter tyres after I had a set of snowtrac 3s a couple of years ago. I've only had a couple of weeks worth of driving in the snow with them but they are an excellent tyre for those conditions. Car behaves well, pulls well and stops well. I've never once gotten stuck even in relatively deep snow. In normal road conditions they behave almost as well as the Bridgestones I use in summer, not quite as good in fast flowing corners but you'd have to go some to get them to break traction. For someone who is looking for a set of winter tyres that are good in the snow and good in average road conditions I would recommend these tyres. Wear is pretty decent I've used them for over 12k miles and wear is barely 2mm across all four tyres.
3 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2015   
Given 77% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (235/55 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
I fitted these to my Freelander 2 Just before winter and grip in cold/icy/snowy conditions is exceptional. I have kept them in on in the summer and you would never know they are winter tyres. Not done enough miles yet, but they look like they aren't wearing overly fast either! However Fuel economy has taken a hit. They are a good 10% down over Continental cross contact UHP's. It might not sound like much, but on a run I used to get 43mpg and now get 38mpg and it adds up. That said, come the winter they are exceptional.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 11, 2015