Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M Tyres

Drive a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M
Nokian iLine (14) 94% 91% 87% 77% 91% 96% 90% 89% 81,500
Continental Premium Contact 6 (36) 95% 91% 88% 91% 82% 87% 82% 88% 167,380
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Pirelli Sottozero Serie II (25) 85% 88% 90% 81% 83% 90% 95% 83% 185,090
Neuton NT5000 (62) 89% 78% 82% 77% 84% 85% 86% 83% 698,734
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (50) 84% 72% 79% 76% 92% 82% 81% 81% 1,320,183
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Avon ZZR (9) 91% 64% 70% 90% 74% 71% 84% 78% 33,900
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (29) 78% 72% 74% 73% 71% 76% 65% 73% 325,378
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Nitto Invo (16) 79% 67% 74% 74% 63% 68% 58% 69% 95,770
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68% 58% 64% 219,200
Toyo Snowprox S953 (9) 77% 69% 64% 74% 76% 73% 62% 64% 83,500
Kumho WinterCraft WP71 (7) 73% 60% 45% 53% 70% 51% 40% 56% 19,600
Infinity INF 050 (18) 64% 45% 57% 52% 76% 49% 48% 56% 147,500
Pirelli P7000 (7) 71% 47% 63% 57% 61% 57% 31% 56% 94,510
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54% 41% 52% 265,079

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Snowprox S953 given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
best price for what you get. amazing handling and grip. not very cheap but well worth the penny
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-25 13:19:51
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 94% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19200 average miles
Previously had Pirelli pzero tyres on my Alfa GT with 16 inch rims and not so much wall the handling was great but I worried about breaking the car over pot holes, even painted lines on the road could be felt and there was a massive tramline issue. I was thinking of changing my suspension. I changed to these tyres they are more pricey but I read good reviews and the wear was supposed to be better so I gave them a try.

The car was immediately more comfortable and quieter, there was less feedback as a drawback but they really changed the drive of the car and the grip and feedback were still extremely good. The wear after nearly 20,000 miles I have 5mm left on the front, rears are looking great I drive quickly but try to keep it smooth, occasionally like to have a bit of fun on the windy a roads. I think this is good tyre wear on a heavy diesel engined front wheel drive car. I've had budget tyres which need to be changed after 20,000 miles. The car stops very well with these tyres from motorway speeds to zero with no drama (had an accident right in front of me a week after getting them)

I would definitely recommend these tyres on lower profile rims and will buy again, the extra cost is out weighed by the good wear and safety of having good tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-18 18:59:06
Writing about the Pirelli Sottozero Serie II given 93% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 average miles
Used as all-season tyres first on Alfa 156 for 25000mi then for another 20000mi on Alfa 147 in rotation with Sottozero III on the other axis, both very good wear despite running a lot in hot summer. Grip as well as comfort and safety under all conditions also very good.

Replaced with Falken HS449 which were aweful compared to these, wear twice as fast, wheel spin on almost every semaphore and very hard sidewall.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-15 17:11:54
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta LE Sport given 93% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 average miles
I have these tyres for my Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 JTD. I bought them one year ago and i'm very happy with them. Why? Well... The tyres are quiet. A lot of grip. And the wear is good. Some people in this review complain about the grip that its not good. I have a message for you; If i drive around 200km/h and i go from left to right, the tyres give you a safe feeling couse i never slipped out of the corner. The same with rain; No unsafe feeling if you go speeding on a corner.

I have these tyres for 50.000km(!) and still a profile on it. Mayby i can reach the 60.000km with it. And i drive most of all sportive. Earlyer i have Toyo Proxes T1R and i driven 15.000 - 20.000km and the tyres are completley gone!!

I want to buy them again for sure!
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-28 17:18:43
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 86% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2500 easy going miles
I have these tyres, the Energy Saver + for 4.000km and before i have the same tires, but then the normal version of it. The normal Energy saver.
My english is nog as good as some people espect, but i do my best.

At first i want a performance tyre cause i drive sportive, my car is a Alfa Romeo 147 140hp JTD, but a few days later i realize i want tyres where ecofuelly. Cause i drive 40.000km in one year, it save's fuel and also money.
The day i put them on my car, the first corner i thought damn, these tyres are excellent when driving, steeringwheel is much easyer and lighter. The previous tyres (normal energy savers) the steering becomes a bit heavy, but now it's easy to steer to right or left.

I can't say anything about wear but i have much confidence in Energy Saver+

Also good dry and wet grip. It's not a performance tyre but if you drive normal and not like a fool or something, you have always a safe feeling, even when it rains hard and much aquaplanning on the road, always a safe feeling and a lot of feedback what you doing.

tyre reviewed on 2018-04-04 22:12:36
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35476 average miles
Tyres performed pretty well. Was surprised how low the tread was when it came time to replace them as they had worn about 1-2mm deeper than I was expecting them to have done after 12 months motorway driving (compared to some el-cheapo alternatives that I had before), but dry/wet grip and stability was much improved.

Can't say I noticed any difference from the A-rated efficiency or noise categories, so have selected the Goodyear Eagle F1's this time around to try instead.

Overall decent tyre, no major complaints.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-11 11:50:42
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 73% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Generally a great tyre, but I expected more for the price I paid(nearly top price for the size 225/45/17, supassed by a pocket money by Michelin). Got a full fresh set ot Conti Premium 6(XL version, Y rated), with DOT 1 month older than the day of purchase...

Dry grip - amazing. Stunning. It gets further than any tire I have tried. And when you reach the limit of the grip, there is no noise, there is no tickling, it just looses grip at once, violently driving you out of the road. Don`t worry, you can get used to it(after you test it on a track and get out of it a few times). I could take turns at 50km/h where another brand of tyres would screech as hell at 35km/h and start loosing grip afterwards.

Wet grip - more than amazing. It just get you stuck on road as if there is glue. Gets through deep water, making huge bursts on the sides, maintaining grip. This gets you overconfident and that`s bad. Water isn`t the only enemy you have. There is almost always leaves, mud or other garbadge on the road. So while you could pass a 5cm deep water on the road, if it`s full of tree crap - you WILL loose grip without any warning. Tree crap is slippery, don`t get overconfident. Yet, on water you`re the most stable thing there could be around. People driving at 70km/h at heavy rains think they`re the thing? Here, take this 160km/h with stability better than yours. Yet, wipers couln`t do it fast enough at 170km/h+ and you'll be driving nearly not seeing anything half of the time. So there is the "wiper limit" noone thought of...

Wearing - well, this is a problem with my driving style. For around 15 000km they`ve lost nearly 1.5mm tread depth. Quality has faded along with tread depth. I can feel that they`re not performing at their best anymore. When they were new I have tested 100 to 0km/h, which resulted in 36.1 meters. Now the test at 15 000km wear showed 39.5 meters. That shows a lot of fading in quality. Also have in mind that my break pads were not changed in this period, so they`re contributing for the worse results measured(at 90% life remaining when test 1st, at 30% when tested 2nd).

Comfort - medium. I have driven worse. But much cheaper. Feel a lot more stiffer, makes more noise, you could feel all the bumps on the road at 2atm pressure(which is supposed to be 2.2 front, 2.1 rear, but is 2.0 on all - in order to be MORE comfortable). If this is supposed to be a comfortable tyre I don`t want to know about the others.

This basicly means I bought superb tyres for a lot of money, which could be used for no more than 15 000km. After this you feel pretty much disapointed by the fading quality and the high price. For the same amount of money I could buy 3 sets of cheaper tyres and drive 3 years with NEW tyres of lower class, getting nearly the same average performance. I was expecting for this price to get 3 years of good driving expirience. Now I have one year of good driving expirience and ahead of me are two more years of medium to bad driving expirience.

Great tyre, but I will not buy it again. It is too expensive for me to get 4 new Conti each summer, 4 new Conti each winter... and driving an 15 000+ km Conti is just like riding a mid-priced any brand tyre... I suspect that driving a 30 000km Conti will be like driving a low-priced any-brand tyre. So this is not a fair deal, avoid it, unless you have money to throw at tyres each 15 000km. Considering I am already throwing away cash every 30 000km for super expensive break pads and every 10 000km for very expensive oils/filters.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-26 22:12:50
Writing about the Avon ZZR given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7500 average miles
I dont drive fast try to keep it smooth ,the fronts didn't last long,and broke away earlier than expected,the Alfa is no go-kart but on these (full set ) it was progressive understeer that let you know you had reached the limits of chassis, good on motorway gave confidence in wet conditions.pulled up well not that upset by uneven surfaces ,
7500 miles out of the fronts,plenty of wear left on rears.will have camber checked ,see if this improves handling
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-25 12:13:27
Writing about the Kumho WinterCraft WP71 given 70% (205-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Steering turn in very firm, quite good lateral grip and braking on wet. Low-pitch rumbling noise on highway.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-20 00:18:29
Writing about the Infinity INF 050 given 60% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9500 spirited miles
On dry road they are really good, just with a bit more pressure than what manifacturer says. On wet roads it's not hard to get them slipping but for me that's fun.. you have to try them on snow :D it's super funny. I would buy them again.. For the money i paid.. it's the best choice around.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-28 15:41:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre