Audi A3 Sportback Quattro 2.0L TDI (170 PS) Tyres

Drive a Audi A3 Sportback Quattro 2.0L TDI (170 PS)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A3 Sportback Quattro 2.0L TDI (170 PS)
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77% 83% 81% 1,856,713
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Pirelli P Zero (100) 85% 72% 78% 74% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,738,173
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (143) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,099,560
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429

Audi A3 Sportback Quattro 2.0L TDI (170 PS) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 100% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
I have experienced many tyres of the years of different sizes on different vehicles, but the Avon's ZV5 are in a class of thier own. On my Quattro A3 the car in normally front wheel drive until the electronics experiance wheel slip and then send power to the rears as well. This used to happen a lot but these tyres grip so much I hardly ever see the traction control light come on. I am very hard on tyres, with a mix of A roads and back roads and as my car has been chipped to 210bhp I am always driving it like I stole it! The previous tyres were Pirelli P Zero's and although the rears were doing well, the fronts wore out in less than 8k miles and although they had an A rating for wet grip and these are a C, I recon these are far better. I highly recomend these to all and at this price, they are a real bargin.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-22 15:06:54
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 spirited miles
After the first 300 miles and the tyres had bedded in they seem excellent. Dry grip is very good, wet grip is very good. Have now taken off for winter so once have done a few more thousand after spring will update. The only down side is the wear. But if you want grip thats gonna happen. From the amount they have worn so far if they continue t owear the same there going to last 7500 miles. I was hoping for about 9/10k but never mind. Will probably buy these again. (these are the MO rated ones which have an A for wet grip rating)
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-14 15:39:15
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Exalto given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 21000 average miles
Excellent tyres... about to clock up 21000 miles from new and they are all still legal 3mm front 4mm rear....
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-16 20:11:02
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
excellent tyre in wet and dry, the more you push the more these tyres grip never had a problem with them, will definatly buy again!!
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-29 15:17:24
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-24 14:27:43
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 76% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
These tyres have been brilliant although road noise can be a factor. Great in both wet and dry but to be honest, I should have replaced them 5000 miles ago a the last 5000 miles have not felt so good, despite the tyres having greater than 1.6 mm tread depth.

I've driven a lot int he snow with the quattro working well and the tyres handled things perfectly on all but the worst roads.

Going for Continental Sport Conact 3 next as they promise lower road noise...we'll see.
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-08 16:07:20
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 69% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-26 13:28:46
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 50% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 spirited miles
I bought the car second hand with those tyres on the front and Dunlop Sport Maxx TT on the rear. There's a big difference between those two.
EfficientGrip make car boring and unpredictable to drive, but the mileage is good. There's not much road feedback and the traction control kicks in every time I accelerate (scary on wet). Perhaps those tyres are not suitable for a performance car and would be more suitable for a family hatchback driven at 30mph around the town?
They are also very very noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-01 16:13:51
Writing about the Event WL905 given 47% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
When I bought my Audi Quattro last year I didn't even think to check the tyres but when I did I was gutted. I specifically bought this Quattro for the wet and wintery conditions and to learn my car had cheap budget tyres I was pretty jaded.

Having just had its MOT and with the Tyres with almost full tread i've been told all 4 tyres are splitting on the inside wall.

Continentals will be replacing these and hope to get the enjoyment out of the car I had hoped for.

One thing I can say and this may be more to do with the car than teh tyre but I get zero slippage when pulling away in the wet. Even with hard revs. I suspect this is down to the Quattro system though.

Tyres: 225/40/18 Y
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-29 12:19:27
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 39% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
standard tyres on a3 quattro ,rear tyres down to tread bars on both outsides, wont be buying same tyre to replace.
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-27 18:24:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre