Audi A3 TDi quattro sport Tyres

Drive a Audi A3 TDi quattro sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A3 TDi quattro sport
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83% 93% 87% 115,000
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Goodyear Eagle Vector (5) 76% 80% 83% 83% 85% 83% 90% 83% 83,065
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83% 90% 82% 478,215
Hankook Winter i cept evo (26) 80% 80% 77% 74% 79% 82% 79% 79% 123,508
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (117) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71% 76% 75% 1,453,372
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74% 65% 71% 630,469
Firestone RoadHawk (18) 88% 81% 70% 57% 51% 76% 46% 67% 94,850
Nexen N Priz 4S (14) 78% 59% 65% 66% 65% 76% 62% 66% 109,425

Audi A3 TDi quattro sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus given 97% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
I have had set of 4 brand new tyres from these for 5 winters, still a lot of grip, still soft, still the performance is without compromise!
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-23 14:38:15
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 94% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 90 spirited miles
A fantastic tyre for this car but very expensive to replace. Wear is good, 2 full sets have last 90,000 miles and still 4mm left on rear tyres. Very quiet on motorways and give a firm footed ride on the twisty bits. Wet weather grip is fantastic, not lost grip yet and thats down to 1.8mm.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-07 13:01:11
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo given 89% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Own 2006 a3 tdi quattro on sports suspension. Car handles very neutrally on standard summer 225 45 r17 wheels BUT quattro or no quattro poor on slushy snowy surfaces especially on hilly Yorkshire roads. Once 205 55 r16 alloys fitted with Hankook winter tyres ESP has never kicked in and truly amazing snow ice performance. Driven past many bemused dedicated 4wd vehicles running I suspect the wrong tyre. Performs as well as if not better than leading brand winter tyres. Will never drive summer tyres in colder conditions again. Excellent tyre at £70 per corner fitted.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-09 17:09:58
Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 given 86% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
I have these tyres fitted on a spare set of wheels for the last 2 winters.
So long as you remember that these tyres are designed for colder temperatures I found the wear excellent, but as soon as the temp gets warmer you must swap them or they will wear. Grip in fresh deep snow was faultless, grip in compacted snow and ice was equally impressive. These tyres moved my car up slopes where I could not stand up.
On normal driving conditions I expected winter tyres would be noisy and vague. Not at all with the M3s, you can see why they are a premium brand. I felt no noticeable difference under normal driving than my summer tyre set.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-16 15:58:17
Writing about the Firestone RoadHawk given 85% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
This is the first time I have put anything on my car other than Michelin however I am deeply impressed, they handle very well in dry and wet conditions, I have also experienced heavily water laden roads where these tyres performed as I would of hoped - I would not hesitate in purchasing these tyres again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-26 06:43:47
Writing about the Nexen N6000 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
i bought my A3 TDi Quattro in January with new p-zeros on and they didnt last 2000 miles... i replaced each corner with these, 9000 miles later they have plenty of tread left, wearing even and stick in all conditions! they are defo going on again!
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-08 02:39:06
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle Vector given 80% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
These tyres I got when I bought the car about 9months ago in summer. They were very good then, I was able to drive quite sportily on the backroads without any doubt of loosing grip or understeering.

With the recent heavy snow and about 13000miles later, this car with these tyres has battled through it as if it were a rainy day. excellent handling and traction even with tread
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-11 14:01:36
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 spirited miles
I bought set of 4 at 2015. The tyres are good, but nothing special. For 2 years the boards have small cracks, and don`t stop as well as at the beginning. I am not unhappy with them, but will not purchase the same tyres again. For approximately 15 000 kms I have 6-6.5 mm on the wheels, which is good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-07 09:02:02
Writing about the Yokohama Parada Spec 2 given 63% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
The Yokohamas replaced a set of Michelin Sports, and were noticeably better in the dry, summer weather. They corner well, and when they break away it is smooth and progressive. Nothing that would worry your au-pair on the school run.

The first time the weather turned worse however, I found the tyre characteristics changed dramatically. They feel twitchy and detached in the wet as a general rule, but where they are really worrying is motorways and standing water; they aquaplane in even a few millimeters of water.

This past summer was I think the wettest on record, and apart from driving my usual mileage, I did a 1500 mile road trip through France, on fast, wet toll roads. Not pleasant.

I wouldn't buy another set whilst I live in the UK...
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-29 17:58:07
Writing about the Nexen N Priz 4S given 29% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Really disappointed with the Npriz 4S. I've had Nexens for the last 8 years and I have always been impressed, So I tried their all season tyres, wish I hadn't! These were a massive let down.
Main problems are wet grip and wear.
In the wet they are genuinely dangerous. I found that they gave horrendous understeer if you are driving with any form of speed. I don't mean unreasonable speed, I found these tyres let go in the same conditions that N6000s were fine with.
Also, wear was very poor. They say all season, but obviously if the temperatures are higher the tread scrubs off.
Conclusion: All weather = master of none, i'll be going back to N6000s
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-06 12:17:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre