Audi A4 1.8T Quattro Tyres

Drive a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A4 1.8T Quattro
Fulda SportControl (38) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 87% 89% 87% 309,931
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (26) 90% 94% 89% 88% 80% 80% 89% 85% 283,520
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Falken Azenis FK510 (61) 91% 89% 86% 85% 78% 78% 87% 85% 538,071
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Neuton NT5000 (62) 89% 78% 82% 77% 84% 85% 86% 83% 698,734
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (25) 84% 93% 76% 73% 65% 84% 82% 80% 156,303
Hankook Ventus S1 evo (43) 81% 73% 76% 73% 75% 73% 70% 74% 544,521
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Yokohama AS430 (4) 85% 75% 70% 50% 63% 83% 70% 71% 200,500
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Pace TOLEDO Pace (5) 80% 74% 63% 56% 70% 74% 70% 70% 132,000
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (47) 84% 74% 74% 75% 63% 64% 51% 69% 491,560
Sunny SN3800 (62) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28% 19% 33% 254,716

Audi A4 1.8T Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo given 99% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
had these replace a set of conti sport 2 on my audi b5 tqs, as they were the best i could afford at the time,the contis had 4 mm worth of tread before i changed, i have to say they out perfom the contis every where, in the dry and the wet they are brilliant, they are that good im going to get them on my r26 instead of michelin pilot sport 2, which i rate very highly, as for cost they are premium tyre at a budget tyre price, only down side i could find on them was road noise was a little bit more than the continental, i have only done 1000mls on them so cant comment on wear rate yet, 10/10
tyre reviewed on 2010-06-06 22:46:34
Writing about the Yokohama AS430 given 98% (225-40-18-H)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 spirited miles
very good tire. surprisingly quiet. great wet and dry grip. i liver in Washington so i put the wet grip to the test all the time and there's no slippage.
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-29 02:25:33
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 96% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
OK to give a balanced review I'll tell you what I had before and after the change.

Before: Front Dunlop SP Sport 01 Wear OK, Grip OK
Rear Avon ZZ3 Wear Good, Grip OK

After : Front Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Wear/Grip Excellent
Rear Uniroyal Rainsport 2 Wear/Grip Excellent

To give an overview, before I changed the tyres I always had confidence in both wet and dry conditions but ESP (Electronic Stability Programme) could cut in if pushed hard on sharp bends. (Wet and Dry). With ESP off I could get the fronts to slide (Understeer)if pushed and lift off oversteer when pushed hard through sweeping bends. This in a 4X4 (Quattro).

After the change I hardly ever see the ESP cut in(Wet or Dry) unless you go over a bump on a corner and one wheel lifts slightly and loses traction. With ESP off I can increse the speed through corners before any loss of grip (understeer or oversteer) which gives much greater confidence.

The only other difference between the Uniroyals and the previous tyres are that they have less rigid side walls which give a bit more 'movement', or feel if you want, as you turn in to corners. This you get use to and is really down to personal preference if this bothers you at all.

I bought all 4 tyres together at ?80 a corner fitted.

These tyres for the price are excellent when you compare them to 'premium' brands.

Uniroyal is owned and marketed by Continental (Europe)
Uniroyal is owned and marketed by Michelin (USA)

If you want best wear than go for a Michelin but you will pay alot more for them! The only thing that will grip better would be a track tyre which is no good in the wet.

This is the best allround tyre for price/wear/grip/look
tyre reviewed on 2009-11-13 11:56:00
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 96% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
an out standing and now discontinued in the uk. im on the 3rd and last set of these on my audi a4 sline, brill, cant get any more. they last 12000 miles yes low but unreal grip worth every penny in my eyes. and as im 4 wheel drive i need 4 at same time and they are cheep at £65 per corner, please good year bring them back.
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-07 12:35:45
Writing about the Pace TOLEDO Pace given 94% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very good Tl 1000 Toledo . Handling brilliant ,wear excellent , Great in the wet so good I bought another set
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-26 19:25:35
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 93% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
The tyre is very impresssive.Its ability to provide traction in wet condition is just unbelivable Exelent grip in corners. I have driven whit top brand tyres but these are the best high performence tyres I have ever driven on the road and the track!
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-27 10:35:47
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 90% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
After reaching 4mm of thread left from my Nokians WRD4, I searched for a tire with better thread wear, even if the nokians are absolute awesome winter tyres. I eventually chose the Pirellis Winter Sottozero 3. After one winter with them, I can say that they feel like a very good summer tyre on dry roads with temperatures beneath 15 grades celsius, on wet they perform excellent, they are very silent and the steering is very precise, even though they give a pretty decent confort ride. However, on snow and ice, they are not as good as the Nokians were, but you can have a normal drive with a little more care. However, they are far better than many other brands. And, the most important aspect, after one winter and 11000kms made, they lost only 1mm of thread! (The nokians lost 3 in the first winter). I would definitely buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-07 11:32:47
Writing about the Fulda SportControl given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 average miles
Have had these on for about 6000 miles and don't seem to have worn at all. I am not the most sensitive driver so I can't tell the difference between these types and better brands, I can tell the difference between these and the budgets that were on the car when i bought it though.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-21 08:15:55
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 86% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
I bought these to replace the horrible Dunlop SP Sports that were fitted as OEM to the car. Those tires did not stand up well to Asian potholes and monsoon weather in Manila.

These tires cost about half the price as those Dunlops, and had a similar tread block pattern to the Dunlops. So far, the grip is good, and I've been able to endure semi-rough roads (crenellated concerete) without any tire damage. I even had an experience with a tire briefly run flat (less than a kilometer) without damage to the sidewall.

The tires have good dry and wet grip, and are reasonable quiet, but not as quiet as Yokohama C-Drives I fit on a Mazda 3 with 17 inch wheels. The ride again is reasonable, firm but planted, with a little more give than the old Dunlops.

I say that for the price, the performance of these tires is quite good.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-07 07:03:24
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 86% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
Very good tyres. Superb handling in dry and wet. Never had any problem although they did wear a bit too fast. Recently sold my car so I don't know how they did when worn more. For the 35k kilometers I drove them they were excellent. For the hot Greek roads in the summer the soft compound of Michelin is currently the best.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-09 23:44:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre