Audi A4 2.0 TDI 170 Quattro Tyres

Drive a Audi A4 2.0 TDI 170 Quattro? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A4 2.0 TDI 170 Quattro
Michelin Alpin A4 (50) 88% 94% 91% 87% 95% 92% 95% 93% 406,112
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (48) 90% 91% 86% 87% 86% 90% 90% 89% 363,130
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Nokian WR D4 (55) 85% 86% 81% 80% 66% 86% 74% 82% 415,243
Michelin Primacy 4 (50) 86% 85% 77% 79% 85% 87% 73% 82% 723,030
Gislaved Euro Frost 6 (5) 84% 68% 72% 84% 80% 74% 74% 72% 38,000
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (47) 74% 68% 62% 62% 65% 55% 54% 63% 379,781
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55% 56% 61% 422,353
Maxtrek TREK M7 (7) 66% 70% 67% 56% 54% 58% 70% 53% 43,500
Fullrun HP199 (74) 47% 27% 32% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 478,451

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 170 Quattro Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
i use them on my B7 quattro and they are just amazing ! superb rim protector and still 6.4mm after a few 1000's miles !
Defo recommend them !
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-13 01:12:38
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 97% (225-45-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
First time took Michelin tires and it seems to be the best choice ever made. Have them for around 6k miles only, but enough to make a hardest test and stay impressed. Wet roads, just push the gas pedal to the floor and don't worry.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-09 22:01:24
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 95% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Just put four of these on my car, replacing a set of Avon ZZ5's

I'm very impressed by the look, performance and value of these tyres . Noticeably better than the Avon on wet grip and 'responsiveness' in corners, and certainly compatible with previous Conti Sport Contact 3's - which are notably more expensive.

These sit especially well on the rims - with a good rim protector and a nice square tyre wall. They also bedded in very quickly.

I actually prefer this pattern to the 'fancy' sessanta's, which I've also had before on 18's.

Very impressed so far, would buy again and highly recommend to someone keen to buy performance tyres at good value. N.b. paid £150 a corner supplied and fitted.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-05 22:02:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 94% (225-45-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 spirited miles
Had these on my Audi A4 Quattro. Unbelieveable grip both dry and wet, lasted 35,000 miles hard driving with 2mm left on. Based on my previos experience of Contis and Firestone, Dunlops on previous front wheel drive A4's these are the real deal. Best Tyre I've ever driven on
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-20 20:29:47
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 93% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Replaced worn out Bridgestone Potenza REO50's with the Goodyear eagle F1's, and what a difference it has made to the car. Where the car would previously understeer in the wet it now grips and feels 10 x sharper than it did with the bridgestone's. Dry grip is good but but could be better, the side wall is a little soft which can give the sensation that the car is rolling although the rubber still has a tight grip of the road, this might not be the case with the 97xl load rated tyre, mine is the 93. Only noticable when driving on the limit!
The tyres are very comfortable and noise is relatively low, so perfect for motorway driving. A fantastic all round performance tyre which excels in the rain. I would recommend the 97XL load rated tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-05 10:37:45
Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 93% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Bought for winter and arrived the day before a massive dump of snow which lasted a week. As we live in rural Aberdeenshire I got to experience these on deep snow for my daily commute of 25 miles into Aberdeen. The grip and traction blew me away when compared to a summer tyre and my confidence in the Quattro was reasured. Not driven enough to comment on wear, but performance has left me praying for more cold weather.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-04 00:27:11
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 93% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
The tyres went on about eight weeks ago just before we had snow in the Czech Rep. I previously had Nokian G2's on the car and they did an admiral job until recently when the wear got closer to the legal 4mm and they really deteriorated drastically and made for very precarious driving even with Quattro.
Having heard about how good the new Nokian G3's were, I went to the service centre looking to purchase the them but the owner (also an Audi Quattro) driver recommended I purchase the Continentals instead as he felt they were a better tyre. Upon his advise, I forked out the extra £150.00 and had them put on.
Was it a good investment? Well, In my eyes, they have completely blown away the G2's I had previously.
The tyre feels very sure footed in all conditions and really provides grip in places where there should be none. An example of this is my local high street that had compacted snow and ice on it for some time. An early start meant that the ploughs had not been out yet as I drove through with caution. As another struggled infront of me to get any traction, it felt like I was driving in normal conditions. Amazing.
So, Grip in really testing conditions is a mega thumbs up.
In heavy rain on uneven road surfaces with tram lines and botched repairs, again the Conti's have been amazing, very little signs of aquaplaning and amazing cornering grip.
Heavy snow grip is fantastic, really fills you with confidence. Tested under braking, the car came to a halt in an emergency really very quickly, so much so that I have had to keep an eye in the rear view mirror to make sure I am shunted from behind.
Icy weather is the only weather where the tyre has not been impervious. Sheet ice had the tyre grappling for grip and the traction control going carzy. It is still better than the Nokians. Sheet ice is one surface that no tyre without studs will cope with well so I am not surprised.
No comment on tyre wear since I have only covered 3k miles in them which is just not enough. The tyre fitter said that he got 40k km from his older conti's and expects these to be similar.
The only negative point is the tyre noise which can be heard in the cabin and sounds something similar to a truck tyre roar. It is not intrusive to the point of being a problem but it is there. With the radio on, you won't even notice it.
So in conclusion, this is the by far the best winter tyre I have purchased (and I have been through a few). The only inhibitor is the price even after a hefty discount but what price do you put on the safety of you and your family.
This is an amazing tyre which I will definitely but again and the only word of caution is to watch your speed as these tyres are so good, you'll think that everyone is going slow when infact you are driving like a lune.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-06 09:17:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 83% (245-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
The tyres have been on for some time and are now starting to fade. They have been very good until recently when the fronts started to show serious wear and had to have them replaced rather in an emergency as I banged a kerb 2 miles from my destination after an 18 hour journey across the continent.
The tyres early form was great and they really did stick to the road, they really start to fade as they hit 14/15k miles. I rotated the tyres to even the fade but the original fronts got to 16k miles and needed replacement.
Great tyre, fades faster than I would expect but definitely would buy again. In fact, I bought them again!
Oh, and people who sit in the car always think I have a flat when driving across cobbled streets. The road noise over these surfaces at low speed is horrendous and does sound like you have a flat.
One final note, my second fronts came from Costco in the UK and were not AO Audi Original. I have not noticed any difference at all.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-24 22:14:14
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 79% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
I have had these tyres for a few weeks now and can say they have been excellent. My previous tyres being the Pilot Sport version, these have been a marked improvement in my opinion.

The Pilots sports offered amazing dry grip but appalling wet grip. They aquaplaned regularly and even with Quattro, I was left at the edge of my seat on a few occasions. The roads here in the Czech Rep. are some of the worst in Europe especially off the beaten track which is where I am positioned. The grooves in the road from age and heavy use really cause the car to tramline as well but this is in part due to the size of the tyre.

Overall, I must confess that I am happy with my purchase. The tyres provide good dry grip and a substantially better wet grip. I have yet to test them at the edge yet but I am sure they will as good as the PS tyres I replaced.

The only slight concern will be wear. I shall post again once I have more km's under my belt.

Dry: Very good
Wet: Much better
Cornering: Amazing
Comfort: With an S Line Avant Quattro, bloody uncomfortable and bouncy. But you can't entirely blame the tyres for that!
Feedback: Electric power steering doesn't give much feedback anyway but as good as the Pilot Sports.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-11 09:15:26
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 77% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
I bought these tyres when they appeared in 2015, and drove them every winter since on my Audi A4. Their performance in snow is outstanding, on wet surface is pretty good as well, but on dry, if you force the car, they won't be so "happy". They aren't noisy and the fuel consumption is normal. The only weak points are the stability at high speeds - the car starts to womble even if the tyres had the right pressure in them - and the wear, which i find kind of unexpectedly weak. In the first winter, they lost 3 mm. I sold them this year at nearly 4mm, but their performance this winter wasn't the same like it was the first two ones. I would definitely buy them again for their performances and good price/quality ratio, but i recommend, however, to pe put on a lighter and less powerfull car, where i think they can last more than 3 winter seasons.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-26 12:50:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre