Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport Tyres

Drive a Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport
Altenzo Sports Comforter (15) 93% 84% 81% 86% 90% 89% 89% 88% 269,718
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Hankook Winter i cept evo (26) 80% 80% 77% 74% 79% 82% 79% 79% 123,508
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448

Audi A4 Avant 1.9tdi Sport Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian zLine given 100% (225-50-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I purchased these tyres last July and wrote a review in oct 14. I had only coveed 3000 miles at that stage but was very pleased with them nevertheless.

I have just this afternoon replaced the front pair after covering well over 18,000 spirited miled from a modified 220bhp high torque Audi TDi engined car.

Not once did they let me down and only gave me a slight shivver when I was driving in absolutely torrential rain last thursday for hour after hour. And then it was only a very short aquaplaining episode which came straight back under control as soon as I lifted off. And that was with tread in the 2.0mm region.

Since purchasing these tyres I have had nothing but praise for them. The grip is unbelievable in both dry and wet, even when worn close to the legal limit. The noise is slightly higher than others I have fitted in the past but the radio goes up a fraction and the issue disappears.

The price has fallen by 20% too so they are even greater value than they were a year ago.

I have marked these 100% in every catagory for a reason. Thats because in my hands, they have behaved 110% in every possible catagory. Shame they wont let me mark them as such.

I have bought these again and will yet again when these wear out.

Have ordered some for the MGF Lotus so will report on these when I have done a few miles on them.

YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED IF YOU PURCHASE THE NOKIAN Z LINE's. I havent been!!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-30 19:24:13
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 98% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 500 average miles
Absolutely fantastic. Even I'm surprised I could say that about a tyre but based on the reviews here, I bought a set to replace the Continental Sport Contacts on my Audi. The car came with Contis as new and I just kept replacing like for like. After being spoiled by low road noise from a set of higher profile winter tyres the last couple of years, I was keen to fit a quiet tyre. The Goodyear F1A2 had great reviews but knowing that a lot of internet reviews are just disguised marketing, took a little risk choosing them on this basis alone.

I needn't have worried, these tyres are fantastic in handling and low noise levels. Sure footed grip in the wet, passing easily through standing water at motorways speeds just added to the confidence.

I thought these would be a few % quieter than the original summer Contis but I was wrong, these are extremely quiet, they make the car very different to drive too. Audi often get slated for steering feedback in the reviews. If you want to change that, fit a set of these. Oh, and you can turn the radio down, the cabin is much quieter too!

Too early to judge wear or progressiveness (I don't near tyre limits on public roads in any case). These are priced similarly to the competition but certainly beat Continentals hands down!
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-19 15:38:24
Writing about the Altenzo Sports Comforter given 87% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18 spirited miles
I've had budget tyres fitted when I've purchased after market alloys in the past and regretted it every-time, usually I don't wait for them to run down before fitting some proper rubber. This time however I was surprisingly impressed by these Sports Comforters. They grip well in the dry and they're not too bad in the rain either unless you push them too far and they are really quiet! Had them since Oct 2013 and transferred them to my next Audi when I sold the first one and kept the wheels: they still have 4mm F and 5mm R now in April 2015. They genuinely deserve a higher rating than the budget section!
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-09 19:25:35
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 86% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
I'v been driving an Audi A4tdi Avant now for 3 years and its a joy to drive with Toyo Proxes tr1's. For a medium sized four wheel drive estate car I can honestly say these tyres turn it into a little 'Road racer' and I have had full confidence in them time and time again, at my time of need! If you get my drift. They just keep trying!

When I burnt out most of my legal rubber after about 8 to 10k they have still been good for about a further k or so, as almost 'Shuemacher' cast off's before they become on the road limit.

Changing them at just the right time(before Ilegal) I did so for..My newest purchase and still currently driving on Matador Elite3. But I do miss my Proxes dispite the Matador durabilty.

Only problem with the proxes.. They dont last very long due to a Super Sticky Grip, so I am currently looking at my next purchase as its imminant. Fulda sportcontrol or something..A first generation Eagel F1, Or a Nexon tyle.. sh something RACE 1. with teeth like tread! I am Driving 12k Plus a year over 'A' and 'B' roads and occasional motorway mile streach, in tipical English whether.

Gosh, If only I had an RS4 avant, well when fuel prices drop......WE wish.

As for the Toyo Proxes tr1's.. If youre not sure.. Do it! you will Love them. It' like a good night without the hangover as they don't cost the Earth.

tyre reviewed on 2012-10-04 22:54:51
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-29 22:11:26
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 84% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I have been using these tyres for years and my Audi a4 b6 avant has no competitors on roundabouts and road grip itself at any legal or ilegal speed absolut dream u can push it very very hard words can't describe it trust my car and tyres 100% and i am a hard to please person. People driving with me are always amazed as well. Attention they are about to sell out the last tyres as one of my mates told me in tyre shop and seems like they are not making them so basically they won't be long in stock online either it's just a matter of time.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-10 20:47:48
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 80% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-17 14:35:39
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
Not a bad budget tyre, mine have covered over 20,000 miles and the wear is excellent. I have a daily commute of 80miles on untreated country roads and motorway. These tyres are excellent in heavy rain, very very solid and I've had cars aquaplane in front of me.
I run winters all year round, in Ireland we get so much rain you need a decent tyre that can handle the conditions. I bought the Hankooks as my budget would not stretch to Nokians which I have always used. I do not have the confidence that I had with the Nokians (wrd3). I am running these on my wife's Citroen C3 hdi and they are amazing. The cold weather grip is phenomenal. I would not go around a roundabout in my A4 estate with such confidence. When we got snow here I took the Citroen to work as I knew it could go almost anywhere. The Nokians are not wearing as well as the Hankooks but there is a trade off.
Your tyres are the only thing keeping you in touch with the road, out of a ditch, pole or wall and are what will get you home home safe at night. Il run these tyres till next October and then change them, probably for a more defined winter tyre .
All in all a good tyre with excellent wet weather performance but just not confidence inspiring in icy and snowy conditions.
I've tested the same road in my car and then in the little Citroen and the abs would be kicking in for the Audi while the Citroen cornered and braked with ease..


tyre reviewed on 2014-12-28 16:19:47
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 70% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 easy going miles
Fitting these tyres absolutely transformed the car after moving from a set of Avon ZZ3. The rumbling noise I had previously thought was a faulty rear wheel bearing had disappeared and the car felt incredibly smooth, soft and SO SO QUIET, I was honestly amazed. They are a really nice looking tyre, especially the smooth sidewall with minimal graphics, a nice tread pattern and logo embossed in the tread. Dry grip very good and stability and braking, especially in the wet, was superb. They really seemed to shift water well. On the whole, I thought I had found my ideal tyre...however there is one huge drawback. The wear is absolutely shocking, especially at 80-90 GBP per corner. 16k miles and they were down to the limit. For that reason I won't buy again, which is a shame as otherwise they would be perfect.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-23 13:08:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre