Audi A4 Avant1.9 Tdi SE Tyres

Drive a Audi A4 Avant1.9 Tdi SE ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A4 Avant1.9 Tdi SE
Uniroyal MS plus 66 (8) 82% 94% 81% 87% 92% 91% 99% 89% 16,310
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (48) 90% 91% 86% 87% 86% 90% 90% 89% 363,130
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Continental Cross Contact LX Sport (4) 93% 87% 80% 80% 70% 83% 70% 80% 80,500
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Toyo Proxes C1S (34) 79% 70% 72% 70% 67% 71% 64% 70% 336,050
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Landsail LS988 (36) 75% 51% 58% 53% 71% 66% 52% 61% 175,032
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782

Audi A4 Avant1.9 Tdi SE Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 92% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2300 spirited miles
I have already written an extensive(!) review after having these fitted to our Fiesta Zetec S a few weeks ago, so a quick review here as I've also had them fitted to my 2001 Audi A4 Avant.

All I can really say is that the RainSport 2 is frighteningly good!

Why? Well a couple of weeks ago I had to drive down to Dorset from North Wiltshire in torrential rain and thought that the tyres weren't actually living up to their name when I hit some deep standing water - until I checked my speedo and backed right off...

The Rainsports allow you to drive as if the road were dry; they are exceptionally grippy and just don't want to let go of the road.

Combine this grip with low road noise and high levels of comfort and I think they could easily get you into trouble.

Obviously the comfort and noise levels come with a trade-off in feedback, however this doesn't detract from the overall performance of the tyre.

I can't comment on wear yet - my fuel economy has gone down, however I'll put this down to the extra confidence the tyres have given me!

On my old Conti Sport Contact 1 previously fitted (see the end of my last review, as these were old), the traction control would kick in at the drop of a hat, and this has all but stopped since fitting the RainSports.

Overall, a cracking tyre that I would happily recommend to anyone.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-23 07:19:51
Writing about the Toyo Proxes C1S given 87% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Really low noise comfortable tyres. Great wet grip, decent feedback, long life and great value. I will buy these again. I think they have an attractive tread design too.
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-18 20:22:34
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 87% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 average miles
I have an Audi A4 Avant 1.9TDI, I replaced all four tires from Pirelli p6000 to these after doing research on the best budget tyres I could afford, I paid £223 for all 4 to be fitted through blackcircles.
These tyres were fitted at 171231 miles and the two front have just gone under the legal limit and the two back are on 1.8mm, the car has now done 190107 miles so just short of 19k in 2.5 years since being fitted, mostly motorway and country roads.
Handling in the wet they were good never gave me any worries turning at speed, in the dry excellent and even in the snow they seemed to handle okay much better than the P6000's and the road noise was very quiet you did not need to turn up the stereo if you were doing 70+.
the only down side is the tyres on the front have both worn out on the inside shoulders, were as the rest of the tread is still road worthy, now I had the tracking done on my car the same day the tires were fitted as was advised by the garage it needed to be done so would have hoped for an even wear to the tread.
I was looking to replace for the same tyres again but they have gone up and now £265 for 4 to be fitted, so have found the following Vredestein Sportrac 5 £275 fitted they have better reviews on here so getting fitted in a few days
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-24 11:14:12
Writing about the Landsail LS988 given 83% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Bought four of these tyres to go on replacement 18 inch wheels for my Audi A4 avant. My wife has has the LS 588 on her Renault scenic and seemed pretty good. Have to say they are excellent tyres for the money £183 for 4 off eBay and hope they wear well. Perform well in the wet but I do drive to the conditions. Time will tell but so far very happy
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-13 20:34:15
Writing about the Uniroyal MS plus 66 given 83% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
I recently bought Uniroyal tyres as my first ever winter tyres. It is the best purchase i have ever made and have felt the benefit of the extra grip and road handling in the wet and colder mornings. The give much better grip when braking and make the feel of driving much safer.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-29 21:15:42
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 74% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23750 average miles
I am using P6000 on my cars for many many years without any problem and with good mileage. Roadholding is superb wet or dry with very little noise. I was allways prepared to pay a premium for these tyres. However the present set only lasted 23750 miles while the previous set lasted almost 30000 miles on the same car with the same driver and same conditions. I have had the tyres rotated and balanced every 6250 miles as recommended. Will I buy them again -maybe but not at a premium.
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-12 18:14:43
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact LX Sport given 64% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 24000 average miles
after 24000 miles there just about finsh
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-10 21:17:08
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 52% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 easy going miles
They appear to make the steering quite heavy. It can make shoulders ache after 150 miles.

Wear is poor. Very hard and feel all the bumps. After 11,000 miles fronts are 6.0 and 5.5 and rears 6.0 and 5.5

Very odd that rears have worn so badly. On previous A4 I got 3x the wear from the rears on Michelin Primacy 205/55/ZR16/91W

Must find a better alternative.
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-14 16:45:56
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 51% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
tried these tyres on audi A4 covering 10k in 10 months and they only have about another 2k left they have worn much quicker than i thought. very poor in the snow and ice especially when tread is worn. will not be buying these again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-03 18:44:06
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 0% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
Just had these fitted today so will report back how I get on with them...noticed they are a lot quieter than my summer tyres
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-26 19:05:25
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre