Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136 Tyres

Drive a Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136
BFGoodrich gGrip (41) 90% 80% 80% 81% 86% 85% 89% 84% 479,042
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
General Altimax Sport (25) 81% 80% 81% 78% 87% 81% 84% 82% 209,917
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (197) 88% 87% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,507,645
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Michelin Primacy HP (195) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 75% 65% 75% 4,311,094
Maxxis Premitra HP5 (19) 82% 73% 69% 71% 55% 65% 60% 68% 99,744

Audi A4 SE 2.0 TDI 136 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy HP given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
A fantastic well balanced all round tyre, they covered 25000 miles on the front of my Audi A4 without letting me down. The only issue is the cost at £110 a corner they were sadly over my budget when I came to renew.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-29 19:26:01
Writing about the BFGoodrich gGrip given 91% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Grip on dry or wet roads better than Potenzas, quieter than Potenzas, wear much better than Potenzas and much cheaper than potenzas. They do not have rim protectors but the curved wall gives excellent protection from curbing. Only strange thing is the flame pattern on side wall. Buy with confidence.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-07 17:48:15
Writing about the Maxxis Premitra HP5 given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Put these on the front axle to replace the Michelin Premacy HPs which were brilliant and covered 25000 miles but I wasn't going to pay £110 a corner to replace them. I've driven 10000 miles on these so far and they are wearing well with over 5mm left. They're a bit noisier and don't handle quite as well as the Michelins but they aren't that far behind and at £55 each they're half the price which seems a bargain for a Maxxis tyre
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-29 19:17:58
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 17000 easy going miles
These came as standard on a new A4 Technik (225/50/R17).

Its difficult to separate the harsh ride that comes with sport suspension from the tyre performance but I felt the tyres were adequate.

They felt a little soft and imprecise at the limits of cornering and in wet weather but never caused any concerns. Prone to wheel spin from a standing start in some conditions. Good braking in wet and dry. Tyre noise was on the limit of acceptable.

One thing I can say for sure is that the wear rate was problematic. I got less than 17000 from the front pair (FWD) with faster wear on the shoulder. However, if you want performance tyres you're going to get a softer compound and faster wear. Its all compromise.

Despite the disappointing wear rate I replaced the front pair with ContiSportContact 5 hoping the newer tyre is better. It probably won't.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-20 12:27:54
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 53% (245-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These are the worst tyres I have ever had the misfortune to drive on. I unfortunately bought this car when it required new tyres and had no say in what type were to be fitted. These were fitted to the front of my Audi A4 2.0 TDI and these tyres made my previous Vauxhall Astra 1.6 feel like a Ferrari round corners. The front of the car felt very light, giving the sensation of driving on fresh air rather than asphalt. When coming into contact with surface water the car aquaplaned very easily, however I initially forgave this as the tyres are quite wide. The limit of the these tyres however was easily reachable, with understeer occurring even with the slightest hint of aggressive driving. In corners at speeds where the astra would sail round without any issues, I found the front end of the Audi would let go even under very little acceleration. As well as this, the dry grip is very poor as well, in fact this is the first time I have experienced a loss of grip in any car in dry conditions. As well as this, when the car reached its limits through corners the tyres let go instantly, with very little hint or progression in terms of loss of grip. On the plus side, I had these tyres for just short of 6000 miles and there is very little wear and tear, even though I have spent most of that mileage with the tyres facing sideways in corners. After 6000 miles I have also decided to dispose of these tyres and I now have Continental SportContact 5s which, so far, have transformed the car in terms of handling and grip, and in general the whole feel of the steering has improved dramatically. I would never recommend these tyres to anyone and will certainly not be purchasing these again. I am unaware of the price, however I would hope that these are priced at a budget level as they are worth very little more. I would recommend that if anyone does plan on purchasing these tyres, that they drive on straight roads with very few corners.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-26 14:12:00
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 49% (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Awful wear 12000 miles audi a4
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-07 21:09:22
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 44% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-02 12:30:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre