Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170 Tyres

Drive a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Apollo Aspire 4G (6) 88% 72% 85% 82% 68% 85% 68% 78% 26,356
Michelin Primacy 3 (146) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,137,473
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74% 65% 71% 630,469
Nordexx Wintersafe (2) 75% 60% 65% 75% 80% 50% 65% 67% 18,015

Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-15 12:49:44
Writing about the Nordexx Wintersafe given 76% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15 easy going miles
Very surprised, in a good way, by the overall positive performance of this brand. I don’t drive hard or sporty, so these tyres did what I needed them for and at a very good price. Better than the Firestone’s i had in terms of wet grip. Not ditch finders.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-09 22:17:18
Writing about the Nexen N6000 given 71% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 easy going miles
These are the second pair of Nexen N6000 I have had on the car. They are a very good choice for the money: I paid £92 per wheel fitted.

They are £25 cheaper than the German budget tyre maker Faulken. And they are more comfortable than Faulken owing to the N6000's softer compound.

I agree with other contributors that perhaps they don't wear as long as might be expected. However I chose a few years ago to stop buying expensive tyres. I never wear them out, I either get a puncture (shoulder) or the tracking goes out and wear badly becoming illegal.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-11 17:03:10
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
These tyres are perfect if you drive in dry conditions every day. Handling in the wet and at lower temperatures is poor and I don't have confidence in them under these conditions. They also struggle to shift standing water out (that was when they were new).

I drive 20k per year in the UK and these tyres are unsuitable for our mainly damp, cooler climate.

Everything on this tyre has been compromised for efficiency.

Tyre is 245 45 R18
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-02 22:34:32
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Great tyres from the start and wet grip is excellent. However as they are a directional tyre once you are down to about 5mm they step on the outside and the road noise is appalling. This happened on more than one set on both from and rear. The performance was not effected but the noise I would liken to having a wheel bearing go. I would only recommend these tyres to those of us unfortunate enough to be deaf.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-23 15:26:44
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 64% (245-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 12000 easy going miles
A6 estate diesel ... Front wheel drive ... Not bad for price .... Plenty of grip in wet ... Very stable in rain traveling 100MPH, makes you confident... The down side of rainsport 3 is wear - front ones lasted 9 months 12k miles , rear ones are in good shape expecting them
To do easily 25k-30k miles
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-16 15:20:41
Writing about the Apollo Aspire 4G given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17782 average miles
Catastrophic experience, and I can compare with others !

Original mount on my Audi A6 Avant (III) from 2011, a non really explosive engine but still 170 hp from the 2.0 TDi, was a Bridgestone Turanza ER300 205/50R16-96W -> 50'408 KMs then dropped
The Apollo Aspire 4G 225/55R16-99Y were dead after 28'617 kms !!

(comparison with winter mounts:
Continental WinterTS810 205/60R16-92H lasted 67'592 kms
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 205/60R16-92H are on the car for a new season)

J_e_f_f
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-11 16:39:38
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre