Audi S5 Tyres

Drive a Audi S5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Audi S5
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (24) 97% 95% 92% 95% 89% 91% 95% 94% 67,620
General Altimax One S (3) 100% 75% 97% 97% 95% 70% 100% 90% 15,000
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (51) 93% 89% 87% 88% 84% 88% 86% 88% 216,600
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
General Altimax Sport (25) 81% 80% 81% 78% 87% 81% 84% 82% 209,917
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (58) 86% 67% 77% 72% 70% 68% 60% 71% 834,195
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (201) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,381,628
Nitto Invo (16) 79% 67% 74% 74% 63% 68% 58% 69% 95,770
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806

Audi S5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 93% (255-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I bought potenza s001 by January of 2016 , I feel my car ( Audi S5) handling is very unstable , especially when drive fast , so I consider to change it to MPSS, and finally I make the decision , now my car is as good as what I want , comfort ,steering is stable , even my wife said its a lot different compare it to Bridestone potenza s001 , she also say this MPSS 255/35/19 is the best and safety tire , thanks again for the Michelin do a good product like this MPSS , :)
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-28 09:52:25
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 92% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Compared to the Hankook Evo's that came as standard (which weren't bad at all), the PS4Ss are much better in the wet, slightly quieter and have better initial turn in.
They are a touch quieter at m'way speed.
However, the best feature is the very prominent rim protection - saved the (otherwise unmarked) diamond-cut alloys on my car on two occasions.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-23 16:51:43
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 91% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
These came on the car so i might not be totally subjective but these things are awesome in the dry, way better than i thought possible and are pretty good in the wet too. Looking at replacing them I might try the Eagle F1's but I hear they're not as grippy in the dry!
tyre reviewed on 2008-09-28 23:09:36
Writing about the General Altimax One S given 91% (255-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 miles
Hold the road very well, give you good confidence when driving
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-10 18:40:28
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 89% (275-30-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2500 spirited miles
Originally my Audi S5 came with Dunlop Sport Maxx, and they where "ok", but always felt bumpy on bad roads, and noisy also.

Now I got 4 Vredesteijn Ultrac Vorti, and the difference is huge:
- much more stickyness, less bumpy
- very good feedback, especially in corners
- much less noise
- sporty and comfortable in one tyre
- very good when wet (no aquaplanning)

Also conmpared to the Continental Sport Contact (2,3 and 5) these Vorti's come out best in my opinion!

tyre reviewed on 2012-09-15 20:33:15
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 87% (255-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
This is my second set of F1s after eating through the OEM Pirelli P Zero Rossos rather too quickly. The F1s have proven to be the perfect mix of performance, ride and comfort, low noise, reasonable wear and the best braking performance of any tyre I've experienced. When price is considered, these must be the best value tyres out there.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-15 17:56:30
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 86% (255-35-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1500 spirited miles
Very impressed with these tyres, much better all round then the Continentals previously fitted. Only time will tell on the wear rate
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-14 07:59:18
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT given 84% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 37000 spirited miles
Unbelievable milage out of the tyres

very supprised.

Fronts 32k rears 37k
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-22 00:25:22
Writing about the General Altimax Sport given 83% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
These Altimax Sports were fitted new on my S5 when I bought it - wasn't too sure about them as usually I have had Michelins or Contis on my previous Audis (TT 3.2 - A5 3.0TDI). After about a years driving and about 14k miles on UK roads I have been impressed by the performance given the price. Drive mainly A/B roads with occasional Motorway trips and have never had any issues which gave me concern about the tyres performance, good in the dry and as good as Michelin/Conti in the wet. I don't drive on the 'ragged edge' of tyre limits but I do use the power of the S5 quite frequently (why wouldn't I !!) and at no time have I ever felt the tyres were problematic. Comfort is good - firm but not too 'thumpy' on bad surfaces - have taken some major potholes and the tyres have survived with no damage. From the wear so far, reckon good for 20k+ miles.
Overall, for the cost these tyres, they are as good/or better than some of the Premium brands I've used in past and I will be using them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-10 12:56:26
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 81% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6500 spirited miles
Previously used Asymmetric 3's which were very good and I were really happy with those. Opted for newer version as newer usually is better.
Grip in dry and wet has been excellent, including handling, taking faster curves or braking. Have not noticed any downsides from road feedback either (have not taken these tyres to the track either). Wear appears to be very good as well.
Comfort on the other hand is really bad due to the noise it is generating, never seen or hear any tyre that is even remotely close to this noise level, not even winter tyres (e.g. goodyear Ultra Grip Performance G1 XL). Did the wheel alignment when tyres were changed, not sure what is causing such noise levels.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-18 07:55:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre