BMW 135i Tyres

Drive a BMW 135i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 135i
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus (10) 83% 81% 82% 82% 77% 79% 83% 81% 101,000
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (25) 83% 69% 73% 70% 60% 68% 59% 69% 199,320
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (26) 73% 59% 68% 60% 76% 71% 58% 67% 311,070
Federal 595EVO (38) 73% 45% 68% 64% 71% 55% 56% 61% 422,353
Accelera PHI (128) 70% 47% 55% 54% 67% 59% 53% 58% 1,140,962
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852

BMW 135i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 96% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
I replaced the OEM runflats with a set of PS2s and the difference is absolutly amazing. Everything is better, the PS2s are more comfortible, quieter, and have better cornering.
I autoxed all last year and even with 14-20 hard launches a weekend for 2 months my rears still had tread when I took them off at 18000 miles. Absolutly amazing out of a summer performance tire. They also stood up to several 700 mile roadtrips, with a lot of fun along the way.
I will definently be mounting these again come April.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-30 16:27:44
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 96% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
As others have said these tyres have phenominal dry grip but also do not trade off on wet grip much at all. What suprised me is the grip that they provided last winter on the ice cold tarmac, light snow and ice as I fully expected to be stuck out there with every other BMW owners using a Summer tyre but I was home and safe before it all got a foot deep out there. The front tyres do a great job in providing steering feedback, turn in is progressive and the sidewalls are likeably stiff so when I'm cornering fast I know where the car is going. The only thing to add regarding the rear tyres is that they do a great job sticking 450bhp to the floor where the old run-flats would have the car snaking around. Bonus: The tread pattern looks very aggressive.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-23 13:10:11
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 89% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7800 spirited miles
I was very impressed with these tyres. After 12,000 km's I had only worn 50% of the rears and 70% of the fronts. Considering my BMW 135i was putting down 240 kw and 480 nm's and I had also undergone 3 track days, each spanning approximately 25 laps each. There was never any flaking of the tyre on the edges which I cannot say for previous Hankooks (Ventus V12's) or Kumho (Ecsta ??). I did have the rear brake out on the track in the wet but hey, it's a rear-wheel drive car and I accelerated a bit early! However all was progressive and controllable. By far the best tyre I've owned and will fork out for a new set for my Renault 'Megane 2 Team F1 R26'.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-26 18:52:37
Writing about the Nankang Noble Sport NS20 given 89% (245-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17500 average miles
I bought these for my 1 series, after being quoted ridiculous money for the bridgestone run flat which came off the car, and also not being happy with the harsh ride of the run flats. My local garage recommended a none run flat and the Nankang seemed the best option. I was slightly cautious as I had not heard a great deal about the NS-20 pattern, however I cannot fault them. I have recommended these to friends on my local BMW forum, and they have also agreed. Very good tyre for the money. I will be using again!

tyre reviewed on 2012-12-07 12:43:36
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Have only Driven 5,000 miles on them but i can honestly say they are a great tyre, i had the run flat tyres on before, i hated them, just did not feel in control of the beast, now the ride/comfort is better plus the grip is outstanding, the price is good to. will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-20 13:31:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Great tyre - high speed stability 120mph+ Excellent
Handling on B roads excellent
Braking wet & dry both excellent
Wear very well for being on a 400bhp rear wheel drive car
Previous Tyres continental sport 5. I would say these Michelin’s are 20% better in all conditions & I thought I’d struggle to find a better tyre than the conti sports - great tyre but wear was appalling on those.
Fun in the sun & safe in the wet.

tyre reviewed on 2019-01-06 08:29:18
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Runflat given 83% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I bought my car second hand and it came with Dunlop SP 01 RFT's. I quickly understood why people call them "runcraps". They crashed loudly, even over cat's eyes, and they tramlined horrendously to the point they were just dangerous.
When it came time to change, I did my research and picked the Pirelli's. They are a completely different tyre. To put it simply - they are like a regular (non RFT) performance tyre.
The grip is great in wet and dry, but they're comfortable too. No more crashing, no more tramlining. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-21 11:03:17
Writing about the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus given 83% (255-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-10 05:16:55
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Runflat given 82% (215-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Coming from the standard Bridgestone RFTs these are amazing. Much more comfortable, better feedback through the wheel and car, plus more predictable handling.

No wet or wear ratings as they're still quite new (less than 1000km).
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-02 01:37:14
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 70% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 7500 average miles
Not bad tyres, but compared to michelin pilot sport ps2 that I had in my other cars, these tires can't compete on dry grip, nor wet. They also didn't really last that much, although the treadwear index is considerably higher by these.
Still, I'm trying other brands now in my 135i

Conclusion: Not bad tyres at all, but for that price you can definitely get better ones.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-09 19:10:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre