BMW 330d SE Tyres

Drive a BMW 330d SE? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 330d SE
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Falken ZE912 (197) 82% 74% 76% 70% 71% 79% 73% 75% 2,160,908
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Landsail LS288 (27) 77% 66% 68% 64% 76% 74% 69% 71% 148,000
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Sunny SN3970 (44) 71% 49% 55% 54% 65% 55% 46% 56% 492,725
Achilles ATR Sport (43) 62% 44% 56% 49% 62% 57% 42% 53% 344,990
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852

BMW 330d SE Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 30000 average miles
This is my 2nd set of these tyres bought on the recommendation of this site. I changed from run flat tyres to these and achieved vastly reduced road noise and increased comfort. My first set of Rain Sport 2s lasted 22000 miles with only one swap, front to back, to even out the wear. BMW drivers will tell you that the 3 series is prone to 'tramlining' as the tyres wear, but i do not experience this with these tyres. Dry and wet grip is very good and I base this on the reduced number of occasions that traction control is called to operate. I have owned five 3 series BMWs and this is the best 'all round' tyre I have ever used for comfort, control, grip and wear.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-04 19:10:14
Writing about the Landsail LS288 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 easy going miles
I have been really pleased with these tyres. Previously I have always purchase premium tyres (Michellins; Continentals etc). These tyres do the job. The Continentals used to 'tram line'. These do not. The car (BMW33d) steers far better, and they are lasting much longer. I was very nervous about moving away from premium tyres, but am really pleased that I did. Road noise is probably higher, but they were a fraction of the price about 30%!), steer better & are lasting far longer.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-03 13:55:16
Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 17000 spirited miles
I put a full set on a BMW 330d and was amazed, grip in both dry and wet was superb, obviously they are not the same as the expensive brands but for the price they did everything well. I covered 17000 miles and they looked hardly worn before I sold the car, wish I had kept them for my next one.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-30 17:20:17
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
I first bought Uniroyal’s after reading reviews on this site and I haven’t been disappointed. There was a massive improvement when Rain Experts were fitted to the front of my old Mondeo, replacing Pirelli P6000s which were under-steering badly in cold winter weather. My son’s Polo now has a full set of Rain Experts and it feels very sure footed on wet roads. The previous Chinese budget tyres (on when we bought the car) were atrocious.
MY BMW 330d touring (estate) stuck to the road quite well on the supplied Pirelli P 6000s but suffered quite badly from steering wander/tramlining. A pair of Rain Sport 2 tyres fitted to the front made a dramatic improvement to the steering and also a noticeable improvement to the ride comfort.
As it’s not possible to safely drive a car like this, close to the tyre limit, on a public road I can’t comment on high end performance but with my previous experience of Uniroyal’s I feel safer and expect them to last reasonably well. I’ll report back if there are any major problems.
A lot of tyre shops don’t stock Uniroyal’s but most can get them if asked.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-04 21:33:33
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 84% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10500 spirited miles
Great tyres. Reduced the understeer from the nose heavy 330d compared to the michelin pilot sports originally fitted when I bought the car. Very good grip wet or dry and great in combination with upgraded redstuff brakes. Would and have bought again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-25 18:52:38
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Bought the ZV5's all round and have been very impressed, especially with the wear. I had Bridgestones on before these which on the rear lasted 12K miles where as the ZV5's have done 20K and even down the the legal limit give ok grip. They are a good price too (local dealer fully fitted price about £80 each) I would certainly buy these again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-09 09:58:12
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 81% (240-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 2500 average miles
After a back breaking few months on Bridgestone potenzas RE050A(run flats)on my BMW 330d, I changed over to Rainsport 2 after one of my rear runflats got punctured. I did check with my insurance AVIVA and there was no problem as long as the sizes were as for the stock car. Immediately there was a massive improvement in comfort on the rainsports and nearly 8 months later, they are still very comfortable with less road noise. Road feedback was probably 20% down from the potenzas when new, but after a few weeks the feedback improved to an extent, still about 10% down compared to the potenzas. Grip in dry is as good as the potenzas, and clearly better in the wet, able to carry faster speeds through curving roads in the wet. They seem to be wearing well, but time will tell. Overall, very satisfied with purchase, used one of the online companies who fitted the tyres at home, good experience overall. Thinking of getting 4 new ones for my partner's ford focus if I can get a good deal on the net again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-28 22:34:53
Writing about the Sunny SN3970 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 14000 spirited miles
I drive 230km/h frequently and they are not too worn after 14000 miles of driving (German technical control check). Considering the price, I find them extremely good compared to my old Bridgestone Turanza ER300. Just like with the Bridgestone, drive slow in sharp bends/roundabouts when wet. Not had any problems on highways at any speed, but I've not tested bends in the wet at 230km/h (130km/h has been no problem on wet surface). The tires are a bit more noisy than Bridgestone at high speeds (not legal speed in most nations), and they are way better on snow once I had a surprise snowfall and even on black ice (I did however see many accidents of others' on that day). With Bridgestone I've experienced aquaplaning (sunny day with wet road in France) even when driving slow (80km/h), but that could be due to wear. So far, no such problems with Sunny (except slippery in roundabouts). Unless you're a racer on the wet, these tires are likely good enough for most drivers. I drive a BMW 330D.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-16 15:55:19
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 72% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
They are okay in my opinion, but using them, i have already damaged a rim, I know this is my fault etc. but the protection on the Bridgestone RE050's that were on it last would have saved them.

Grip from a standstill isnt great - they regularly set the TC light going when starting on even slight hills. similarly accelerating hard into 2nd (40-ish) mph the light can still be flashing.

if the road is even a little damp they let go quite freely

They are quiet though which is nice, and i feel confident braking hard with them, they also dont feel like the side wall moves as much as the bridgestones i had on last but because i know how slippy they are while accelerating i dont feel confident to take some bends as quick as i would have on the old bridgestones
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-16 09:46:45
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 66% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9500 spirited miles
Great tyres. Perfectly capable of dealing with the massive torque of my 330d. Made the car really manageable and fun on the limit. Would buy again if the wear rate was on the better side of 10k miles :P
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-25 18:47:23
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre