BMW 335d Tyres

Drive a BMW 335d? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW 335d
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (388) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,694,737
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (73) 87% 83% 82% 83% 79% 78% 80% 82% 777,465
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (23) 86% 77% 78% 81% 79% 77% 83% 80% 182,000
Nexen N Fera SU1 (83) 85% 79% 77% 78% 77% 83% 74% 79% 572,701
Yokohama W Drive (12) 81% 78% 84% 73% 76% 81% 75% 78% 175,000
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (21) 92% 87% 79% 77% 76% 68% 62% 77% 119,385
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (160) 83% 76% 77% 76% 72% 75% 77% 77% 2,601,523
Continental Sport Contact 3 (239) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,175,337
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (201) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,381,628
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (25) 83% 69% 73% 70% 60% 68% 59% 69% 199,320
Continental Sport Contact 5 SSR Runflat (18) 89% 77% 77% 71% 41% 63% 51% 67% 156,717
Pirelli P Zero Silver (3) 67% 67% 67% 57% 80% 77% 53% 67% 18,000
Zeta Antarctica 5 (3) 60% 53% 63% 57% 77% 73% 70% 65% 29,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852
BCT S800 (81) 51% 30% 39% 38% 60% 32% 25% 39% 380,496

BMW 335d Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Very rare but managed to buy a full set to replace the worn Michelin PS2s. OMG! So much better and so silent. With no doubt this is the best tyre out the nowadays.
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-30 14:28:18
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 97% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 average miles
I now know why Michelin tyres are rated the best and slighlty more expensive than the competition.
No other tyre comes close in terms of dry and wet grip along with comfort and durability. I am very impressed with the 31K I got out of the rears and the fronts still have 3mm of tread left on them so should see me out untill 37k at least.
Best tyre I have used If these were cheaper on par with Contis and Bridgestones I think it would outsell them pure and simple.
tyre reviewed on 2009-11-21 21:21:36
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 97% (265-30-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
In just a few words these tyres are simply awesome and give you so much confidence!!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-10 15:59:59
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 96% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres. I have tried most of the premium tyres including Michelin, Bridgestone, Pirelli and Yokohama and haven't been totally happy with any of them all round. Having read the reviews on this site I chose to try the Falken tyres. I was apprehensive at first because I had though of Falkens as a budget to mid range tyre, but they are better than any of the other makes I have tried. They wear well lasting a full year with some very spirited driving in a car with very high torque. Grip in the wet is nearly identical to grip in the dry, which is superb; water dispersal is excellent. I think it highly unlikely that I will use anything but these Falken tyres in the future. If all other tyres were half price I would still opt for ZE914's, excellent work Falken.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-16 01:09:59
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 96% (245-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 spirited miles
Got these to replace the standard fit RE050A and they are very good tyres and handle beautifully. Excellent feel in the dry and wet and their party piece is cornering in the wet as they are amazing and they shift standing water really well. They have lasted well too about 25-30k is good.
tyre reviewed on 2009-10-01 15:36:42
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 96% (245-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 spirited miles
Superb grip wet and dry and much better then OEM CSC2.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-07 14:28:46
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 95% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Only recently fitted these to my F30 335d (running 390bhp) and they have transformed the car. They replaced the standard spec run-flats and the elevation in the levels of grip in the wet and dry mean the car feels as though it has been moved into a higher performance category.

A number of people have mentioned a significant reduction in road noise. For my car, in my size I haven't noticed a significant improvement, however they certainly aren't any worse. In terms of ride quality they are noticeably better than the run-flats but, unlike the improvements in grip, this is not night and day.

Would certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-24 10:23:55
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 91% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 17000 average miles
I had these fitted on my BMW 3 Series Saloon (E90, LCI) 335d M-Sport, May 2010 car. To put this in perspective, this is up to 286hp and 580NM of torque from low down in the rev range - the car was pretty much in the maximum torque zone for most of the driving.

These tyres came with the car as new, I had the car from c. 6,000 miles. I swapped to winter tyres around 17,000 miles and at this point, the rears were down to around 2mm so I binned them. The fronts were 4.5mm so had plenty remaining.

Driving was mainly motorway and A roads. I checked my pressures every 2 weeks at least.

The wear on these rear tyres was even.

When down to around 2mm, there was a substantial amount of rain for a week, with huge amounts of standing water on motorways. With the torque nature of the car and low tread on the tyres, I was slightly nervous and expecting the traction control to have to intervene, or perhaps some aqua planing. Nevertheless, the grip shown by these tyres in deep water was extremely impressive and the car was planted the whole time.

When accelerating hard you can really feel the rear tyres biting the road.

On my previous 3 series (same 18 inch wheel and sports setup) I had Bridgestone Potenza run flats and I can say that these Michelin PS2 run flats are significantly superior, in terms of grip, comfort and noise. For a run flat tyre, they are very comfortable.

Power delivery is good and when pushing the car really hard on twisty A-roads the tyres felt really strong in the corners.

Having swapped back from winter tyres to summer tyres a few months ago, I purchased another set of these for my car which is the acid test. They lasted 17,000 miles on the rear of a 335d which is pretty good going. I have full and complete confidence in the tyres which I why I purchased them again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-04 16:40:59
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 90% (255-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I've replaced the OEM bridgestone re050a rft by the goodyear f1 asymmetric 2 (non rft) on my e92 335d (340hp) and I can say I'm delighted with the results!
OK. It loses a bit in road feedback specially on good and fast roads but it’s more progressive in the limit, it gains in all-around grip but it blows it up in comfort. Don’t get me wrong… I do enjoy driving in the limits of physics.
I’ll check the goodyear tyre wear, but I’m definitely going to stick to the non rft tire option.

Lesson learn: don’t mix rft with non rtp. I had to ride one day with 2 non rft rear goodyear and 2 rft front bridgestone and you wouldn’t believe how unstable the car gets... similar to have 2 flat tires in the back.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-06 17:27:21
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
These tyres made such a difference to the overall handling and performance of my BMW 335d coupe. It makes the power so much more accessible more of the time. The rears have only lasted me 6 months though.

Advantages - Grip in the dry and wet is as good as the michelin pilot super sport and any other tyre on the road. Very comfortable and quiet, and progressive.

Disadvantages - You will wear through them if you have a high power/torque car, very quickly. Could offer more road feedback if you're going to be finicky.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-09 01:12:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre