BMW E90 325i Tyres

Drive a BMW E90 325i? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW E90 325i
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (8) 86% 86% 79% 84% 68% 86% 81% 83% 52,500
Momo North Pole W2 (5) 83% 78% 78% 80% 60% 73% 70% 74% 35,020
Toyo T1R (275) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,599,183
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat (132) 72% 53% 55% 49% 56% 32% 29% 49% 2,066,852

BMW E90 325i Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 89% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 spirited miles
These tyres replaced OEM Run-flats and are, as promised, a revelation. Only a slight softness on initial turn-in required some adaptation coming from the stiff-walled Bridgestones. Beyond that, the dry grip is noticeably superior on smooth surfaces and incomparable on rough stuff. Similarly, wet grip as a proportion of dry is astonishing.

Ride comfort is excellent with well-suppressed bump-thump and only a feint hum on the smoothest surfaces. They cope with coarse chip much better than expected for a high performance tyre.

Downsides? As the M3 owner states, below 6-7 degrees they need a concerted effort to warm up before they really grip but I find 2 or 3 corners have them performing properly again and with our warmer climate this is rarely an issue for me.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-15 08:37:29
Writing about the Momo North Pole W2 given 80% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
I wasn t sure about these tires before i bought them so i worried a little they wouldn t do a good job. I was mistaken. They are great on wet, snow, and on dry roards. Have them for 3 months already and i don`t regret it. Great performance/price ratio. I definitely recommand!
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-05 08:47:37
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
A good all round winter tyre. Not as good as my Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta in the dry or wet when it's warmer, but the Wintrac extreme S comes into its own when it get near freezing!!
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-09 14:41:29
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 74% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 spirited miles
After trying these in a wide variety of conditions, road and track, smooth and extremely poor surfaces, generally covered enthusiastically, I'm happy with these latest generation RFT's. They warm quickly, grip very well indeed in the dry and offer good communication and superb progression near the limit of grip.

They are more sensitive to pressures than other tyres I have experienced - less than 36psi exacerbates tramlining while over 38psi does affect harshness. Run in this range and ride is fine - there are more issues (my passengers, not me)with the firmness of the BMW chassis than the small bump absorption of the tyres it seems.

As for re-purchase, I like the safety aspect of RFT's and the consistent handling. The main issue will be the cost of replacement which appears significantly higher than that of a good conventional tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-14 03:12:17
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 63% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
First saw these tyres on the rack next to the CT01s & noticed the sidewall was like jelly. when the time came to replace my bridgestones I wanted to give the CT01s as I was not keen on the soft pliable T1R sidewalls. The salesman advised that the T1Rs were a much better UHP tyre. I decided to give the T1Rs a try since everyone was raving about them & they were at a good price. daily driving theyre fine, good grip in wet & dry but they slide easily when pushed. but thats no problem. The real problem came as a shocker. the first stint I did over 150kmh almost got me slammed into the motorway barrier. above 140kmh the back starts floating from sided to side & is uncontrollable. balancing, alignment and tyre pressures are all spot on. Seems Im not the first to experience this and I put it down to the soft sidewalls. This is a damn dangerous tyre at high speed! Ive upped the rear pressure to 2.8bar & this calms the floating slightly. those jelly sidewalls are a disaster!
tyre reviewed on 2009-05-28 19:59:51
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 37% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
rock hard tyres with good dry grip. mediocre wet grip.
damn uncomfortable, expensive and tyre wear is horrid. Utter rubbish, dont believe the hype
tyre reviewed on 2009-05-28 20:11:23
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Run Flat given 30% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
i dont know if it is the tyres or the car or a bit of both .. but i have not any problems with the other tyres i had on some one sugessted these might last a bit longer, so i thought i would give them a try..BIGGEST mistake i ever made. The road noise is so bad i am going to spend another small fortune and change them before they need doing as, i cant stand the noise.. it is driving me mad...my advise spend a bit more and get something better..
tyre reviewed on 2010-05-27 10:43:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre