BMW E92 M3 Tyres

Drive a BMW E92 M3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW E92 M3
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (51) 93% 89% 87% 88% 84% 88% 86% 88% 216,600
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (271) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 84% 3,626,734
Hankook Ventus RS4 (5) 88% 93% 83% 90% 77% 70% 78% 82% 21,563
Michelin Pilot Sport (39) 92% 82% 86% 81% 73% 76% 80% 81% 512,375
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170

BMW E92 M3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 95% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
Totally inlove with this tyres. Every bit as good as the OE MPS but slightly better in every way!
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-13 20:50:40
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 94% (265-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I had sport contact 5 on my m3 when I bought it, and I have had them on my previous 330ci and did rate them, so replaced them with BMW recommended super sports. A much better tyre, my previous favorite was Goodyear eagle f1 assy 2 and these are even better than them. Far better grip on wet and dry. I cannot really comment on the wear as I have driven quite aggressively and have only covered 5k miles.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-12 15:00:38
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 94% (275-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
About as good as you get for a UHP tyre. Excellent dry grip and wet grip.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-24 01:35:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport given 92% (265-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Black and round. Easy to break traction with 400hp. Progressively slides. My requirements fulfilled.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-29 13:28:22
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 91% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 spirited miles
Overall impression
I've used them for 2 autocross/gymkhana sessions and 1 race day. In terms of outright performance, it is up there with the likes of RE71R. It is nearly 40% off the price of RE71R where I live, you can surely guess my future purchase decision.
Dry grip
Like many extreme performance tires, you do need to know an optimal cold pressure and put enough heat into it in order to feel the grip. RS4s are quite resistant to heat, and lateral grip is one of a kind as it does have a thick sidewall. Grip was consistent over two hours of moderately paced race day.
Wet grip
Wet grip is phenomenal and will save you from 100km/h+ to dead stop in a very short distance without locking up the tyres. It quickly regains grip from an oversteer in 3rd gear as long as you sensibly modulate throttle. Just make sure you have enough tire pressure as tires will not heat up to an optimal temperature on a cold wet surface.
Wear
What impressed me most was the tire wear as I've done enough donuts during the autocross sections and race day was essentially a 2-hour endurance race. Tyres still show over 90% of life left. However, it should be noted that ambient temperature was around 10~20.
Comfort
It will have road noise (like your hub bearing is gone) but it isn't as bad as RS-RR I've briefly used. Moderate to loud music volume will hide them.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-24 18:03:47
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 82% (245-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-15 14:09:38
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 73% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Not as good as the OEM Michelin Pilot Sports or Continental Sportattack3's but not awful.
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-30 16:54:43
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport given 60% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Great looking tyre, lots of grip but wear was terrible. Noticeable more expensive than the Continental equivalent. I have not noticed a difference between the two makes yet.
tyre reviewed on 2008-09-10 15:34:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre