BMW R1200GS Tyres

Drive a BMW R1200GS? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW R1200GS
Michelin Road 5 (7) 90% 84% 81% 83% 88% 94% 87% 87% 20,400
Metzeler ROADTEC 01 (11) 92% 91% 93% 86% 74% 92% 75% 86% 52,000
Michelin Anakee 3 (4) 78% 70% 70% 73% 78% 65% 65% 71% 13,500

BMW R1200GS Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Metzeler ROADTEC 01 given 100% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Best tyre ever. In my 27 years I tried everything. Last I used were bridgeStone Battlax30, Metzeler roadtec Z8, Dunlop Sportmaxx III and Michelin PR4. Dunlops are sporty, Michelins are great in cold, but Roadtec 01 outperform both. Tyre wear is also good, have to use HWM model on heavy bikes, so don't wine, if U use wrong tyre on your bike and get bad results. Great handling, great wet grip, great feedback as it could be on RT with ESA, great comfort, great handling. I will buy and buy them again :)
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-17 13:12:33
Writing about the Michelin Anakee 3 given 69% (155-70-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 spirited miles
Noisy, very underperforming on wet
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-13 13:19:16
Writing about the Michelin Anakee 3 given 68% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-30 18:53:37
Writing about the Michelin Anakee 3 given 63% (120-70-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
These were the OE tyres on my R1200 GSA, very noisy (hence the poor comfort score) but quite hard wearing. I replaced them at 7,000 miles with plenty of life still left in them because I never really felt I could trust them. In the dry they lacked feedback, in the wet they felt very scary, on white lines in the wet very scary. Many riders have nicknamed the Anakee 'Panicky' because that's they feel. I replaced them with Michelin Pilot 4 Trail, a huge improvement in every area except life.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-12 12:40:48
Writing about the Michelin Road 5 given 47% (145-70-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
I drive all year and have over the years climbed through the ranks from nameless tires via Anakee II, to Pilot Road 4, to Road 5.
I loved the PR4 and believed the wined and dined reporters initial reviews that the Road 5 would be better. It is not!
If I am honest it is on par with the road driving capabilities of the Anakee II, which is not a touring road tire. But it claims to be, and it should be, better than the PR4. And therefor I can not state other than that this is the worst tire I have owned. I feel it struggle for grip in the dry, in the wet it is worse, it slides/ steps off all the seems and blemishes in the road, and it wears way quicker than promised. It is also the tire that made me slide on my **s in a slight drizzle coming off a roundabout (yes tires were warm, tires driven in for 1500km, smooth acceleration, being an all season driver for 10 years this was my first slide). After this I have been analysing the tire for about 5 months to give an honest review and not an angry rant. But in all fairness for the price and the quality it claims it should have, this is an awful tire. I would, and have, adviced people against buying it. And after this I will go either back to PR4 or Anakee III, but never to Road 5. Michelin, your Road 5 is bad and you should feel bad.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-16 12:01:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement