Chrysler PT Cruiser Tyres

Drive a Chrysler PT Cruiser? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Chrysler PT Cruiser
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (17) 93% 96% 94% 95% 95% 92% 98% 95% 193,800
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Uniroyal Rainsport (24) 79% 87% 70% 78% 72% 74% 65% 75% 467,577
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Sunew YS618 (55) 61% 36% 47% 45% 53% 49% 33% 46% 413,762
Sunny SN3800 (62) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28% 19% 33% 254,716

Chrysler PT Cruiser Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 given 100% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres some years back, based upon positive reviews on this site, for the Peugeot I drove back then. The car got sold and replaced by a Chrysler PT Cruiser which inherited these on his 15" alloy's.

They are going into their fourth winter season now and they are all 7 mm or better still. I keep them in the garage and will not put them on before winter really kicks in and I will take them off when temps stay above zero. They were not cheap, but as they are going into their 4th year they seem to last very long. Between the two cars I thing they've allready been driven for 15.000 km's.

What really amazes me is how these tyres are fantastic in every condition. On dry roads they stick like glueded, on wet roads they feel like other tyres on dry roads, on ice they slip very controlled - one can predict their behaviour - and on snow they really shine ! I don't have too much experience with winter tyres but I have no doubt in my mind these are amongst the best available !
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-22 21:21:19
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 83% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
Something strange happened to me ! I've had a real bad experience with Conti Premiumcontact tyres on one of my cars.

Now I've bought myself another user car that had small wheels on it, so I looked for some nice rimms. I found something that I liked and there were Continental SportContact 2 tyres on them, all from a different fabrication date going from 2004 till 2007. So my expectations were very low.
The simple fact that all four the tyres were also down to less then 3 mm made me realize that the tyres were probably worthless.

So I 've put the rimms on the car and took it for a ride, got the presure right and... they're incredible ! Dry grip is great, I drove the car (a 1470 kg PT Cruiser) twice around a big roundabout to make the tyres break loose, but it didn't happen !

Even today on wet roads there was no problem with grip ! there's only some road noise, but what do you expect from tyres almost to the minimum ?

So I gave wear 5 points cause I couldn't tell how they wear, but discovered that one Conti is not as the other. I would definitly consider these for a next buy.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-04 20:49:48
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 82% (205-60-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
A good tire for a very reasonable price. Have had them two months now, and the big difference over the previous Falkens is this is a 'quiet' tire. Very nice. I didn't realize how noisy the Falkens were, until I bought these. Very comfortable ride too!
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-15 04:16:28
Writing about the Sunny SN3800 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
My car certainly is not a luxury model nor particularly sporty. For a low price and attractive tread pattern these certainly fit my criteria and have met my expectations. I don't deny that they may be noisy but not so loud as some purport. For those who claim loss of wet pavement control, my thought is they have one or more tires installed against the directional tread design. This would cause water to accumulate under the tire rather than be expelled.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-02 15:39:45
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport given 64% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 easy going miles
I bought some used wheels and there were two Uniroyal Rainsport 1 tyres on them. The other ones are Goodyear Excellence. So obviously I put the Uni on the front of my car.
They have a great dry grip and, as assumed with Uniroyal, fantastic wet grip. But these tyres have real soft sidewalls which will make them feel like they want to roll off the rimm. They also tend to screech while cornering.

So I put the Goodyears Excellence on front and that's much better. Equal in dry and wet grip without the downsides.

My conclusion is that the Uniroyal Rainsport tyres are nothing to write home about. I would, for sure, never spend money on them. Same with other Uniroyals cause the thing with the soft sidewalls is something that is mentioned frequently.
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-20 12:15:48
Writing about the Sunew YS618 given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 average miles
PT Cruiser GT Bald after 7500 miles
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-19 20:41:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre