Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI Tyres

Drive a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Hankook Optimo 4S (31) 86% 86% 79% 78% 77% 87% 90% 83% 334,352
Lassa Impetus Revo 2 Plus (3) 83% 80% 73% 80% 90% 83% 90% 83% 65,000
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (33) 88% 81% 80% 78% 80% 87% 84% 83% 385,360
Michelin CrossClimate (106) 89% 87% 85% 81% 86% 92% 88% 82% 1,284,939
General Altimax Sport (25) 81% 80% 81% 78% 87% 81% 84% 82% 209,917
Avon ZZ5 (82) 89% 83% 83% 85% 70% 82% 78% 81% 530,567
Ovation VI 388 (6) 87% 85% 75% 83% 93% 72% 70% 81% 10,500
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (61) 91% 79% 83% 86% 68% 74% 83% 80% 676,515
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (250) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,784,205
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (155) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 70% 79% 1,425,323
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (118) 86% 78% 80% 75% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,204,286
Nexen N Fera SU1 (83) 85% 79% 77% 78% 77% 83% 74% 79% 572,701
Michelin Primacy 3 (146) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,137,473
Triangle Sportex TSH11 (8) 78% 64% 74% 71% 72% 74% 76% 73% 37,600
Kleber DYNAXER HP2 (12) 81% 71% 75% 67% 71% 73% 64% 72% 234,000
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267
Dayton D320 (8) 78% 60% 60% 54% 60% 70% 57% 63% 139,700
Sunny SN3970 (44) 71% 49% 55% 54% 65% 55% 46% 56% 492,725
Haida HD921 (32) 60% 43% 48% 47% 49% 39% 32% 45% 196,100

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 97% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I'm seriously impressed with these tyres. I've had them on the front of my Mondeo for two years. The Mondeo is heavy on its front tyres and these just grip and grip. I haven't had the chance to drive them in snow but everything else is fine even in the depths of winter.
Their performance hasn't tailed off as they got down to just above the wear markers. I marked them down a little on wear but I do carry a lot of speed through curves so its no surprise. I've now replaced them with the same again.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-13 00:34:40
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 94% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent grip and handling in wet and dry conditions not just for cruising at the motorways or some average city driving but also excellent for some spiritual driving as well . Although these tyres are not the best in the wear I found them very confident for driving until they were totally worn out still maintaining good grip in wet and dry. Definitely the tyre worth of buying them again
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-05 00:46:13
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1800 average miles
Excelent tyre. Superb on wet and dry on par with my Primacy 3.
Snow traction is exeptional. We had about 70cm of snow in 5 days.
Passed with flying colours. Newer stoped even once. Not even in 30cm of fresh wet snow. For me and our climate in Bosnia perfect tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-10 12:18:48
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 91% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
I brought two of these tyres about 12 months ago to go on the rear and then last month another two for the front. In both cases they replaced Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance tyres. I am very pleased with these tyres especially considering how much cheaper they are than Goodyears. Dry/Wet grip far exceeds the limits to which I am prepared to push my car. Noise levels are very good.
I cannot think of any negatives with these tyres. Of course I have only been running them for just over a year so my view is relatively short term. Not much wear apparent as yet.They represent excellent value for money. I will definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-30 15:16:44
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 90% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
This is my second pair of these tyres on the front of my diesel mondeo hatch with the Titanium sports pack option. Grip is just incredible, the point they push wide is well beyond where I would push the mondeo on the road. These tyres are intended for much more exotic cars than a diesel family saloon so I've probably not given them the test they deserve but I always overspec tyres.
The only performance weakness they have is in the snow, but you can't expect a tyre designed for high speed use to be good there. Wear is their other downside, they disappear quite quickly, but again for this type of tyre it is expected and you won't get this grip like this without compromising something.
Saying that, I'm down to 1.8mm on one and 2mm on the other and I've only just got to the point I've noticed any degredation in performance in the cold and wet British winter. It seems to be able to shift a fair bit of standing water despite the low tread left, I drove up the M6 through the Lake District in torrential rain without them ever feeling like they were out of their depth. I've been very happy with them.
tyre reviewed on 2018-02-14 00:19:02
Writing about the Kleber DYNAXER HP2 given 89% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
I replaced Continental Sports on my Mondeo Mk4 Sport with these Klebers and I'm very impressed.
The grip in both the wet and dry is excellent. They give a very smooth and quiet ride on all road surfaces.
I only managed 30,000Kms with the Contis on the front of the car and I'm hoping for a lot more from the Klebers.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-26 08:25:00
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
never heard of them before, 16,000 miles later I have had to change the front tyres. brilliant value tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-16 15:15:03
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 79% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 21800 average miles
I have set RE003 to replace Goodyear F1A2, same size 235/40R18. F1A2s were wore fully after driving 27,500 miles, which is much longer than RE003 and with better wet grip. Nice grip in dry condition for RE003. And it's comfortable and comparably quiet. After 17,000 miles I started to feel little uncertainty when changing the line or turning. But it's still very fine based on the value.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-22 09:36:35
Writing about the Hankook Optimo 4S given 77% (235-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
This review is for the 97 V XL version of the tyre.

Positive Points

* Excellent aquaplane resistance & wet grip performance
* Good snow performance, but only based on approx. 5 days snow driving
* Increased confidence in low temp conditions
* Good levels of comfort
* Great stability at speed and under braking. No tramlining etc
* Retain pressures well
* Good general grip, but see below...

Negative Points

* Dry road performance is as expected, compromised. However, this is by a greater margin than the reviews suggested. I would take the 90% suggested performance of a summer tyre and reduce it to 70%. The tyres *do* grip, but feel soft underfoot and don't inspire confidence. My Mondeo feels like my old Citroen C5 now!
* Wear doesn't seem great, but that may just be me. 10,000 miles in, and I can only see another 5,000 on the fronts. Rears are fine, and I can see them lasting another 10-15,000

Summary -

You really can tell this is a premium tyre, when comparing how it performs to even a good mid range tyre. I'm sure they played a big part in me being able to avoid the idiot who pulled out right in front of me the other week. The tyre gives a good feeling of safety & stability in all weather conditions. Driving on water logged motorways, for instance, is handled without drama.

My only concern is the soft feeling of the tyre in the dry, and the impact this has on cornering feel & confidence. In all other respects, this is a truly excellent tyre, and if spirited driving is not your thing, I would whole heartedly recommend this tyre. I know a Mondeo is hardly a sports car, it did have sharper handling on well worn Michelins!

Given that we don't have many snow days, I probably won't buy these again and get a premium summer tyre instead. But I could be tempted back if that doesn't go well...
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-14 12:45:38
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 average miles
I use the 225/40/18 on a remaped Ford Mondeo 2.0 tdci with 8.5j rims. Comparing them to my 'ex' tires (Falken Ziex 914 EcoRun 205/50/17 on 7.5j rims ) I can say the following after 3.000 km:
- 1 mm is gone already, I don't do street racing . I hope that the wear does not continue at this rate.
- the sidewall is not that good, when coming out of a corner I feel that the car is being thrown out (I did not have this feeling with the Falkens)
- they are a bit noisy
- the dry grip is pretty good, wet grip also good .

For the money (approx. 100 Euros) I would recommend them .


tyre reviewed on 2018-08-15 23:40:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement