Hyundai Tucson Tyres

Drive a Hyundai Tucson? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Hyundai Tucson
Nokian WeatherProof (25) 81% 88% 81% 81% 74% 89% 79% 86% 219,414
Continental WinterContact TS 790 (5) 82% 92% 78% 88% 90% 86% 82% 85% 93,000
Yokohama BluEarth RV02 (3) 90% 83% 83% 87% 57% 97% 83% 83% 0
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (41) 87% 83% 80% 78% 81% 85% 85% 82% 222,300
Landsail LS588 UHP (56) 87% 82% 76% 75% 79% 89% 82% 81% 627,651
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (11) 87% 80% 77% 79% 81% 81% 95% 77% 179,500
Uniroyal Rallye4x4 Street (4) 80% 95% 73% 55% 65% 88% 80% 77% 31,517
Hankook Optimo K406 (9) 90% 83% 87% 61% 66% 66% 66% 74% 223,964
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (29) 83% 87% 77% 72% 74% 76% 72% 74% 90,200
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (20) 83% 81% 76% 83% 52% 71% 47% 70% 202,500
Toyo Proxes C1S (34) 79% 70% 72% 70% 67% 71% 64% 70% 336,050
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (50) 79% 72% 72% 69% 69% 72% 60% 70% 550,624
Nexen WinGuard SUV (4) 80% 70% 65% 55% 75% 63% 80% 70% 8,500
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (33) 78% 70% 68% 67% 61% 70% 55% 67% 540,949
Evergreen EH23 (9) 82% 56% 66% 68% 76% 68% 48% 66% 151,000
Wanli S1063 (77) 74% 58% 63% 61% 76% 65% 62% 66% 5,673,081
Continental Premium Contact 5 SUV (3) 80% 67% 63% 63% 43% 63% 43% 60% 53,000
Hifly HF201 (14) 63% 45% 62% 47% 55% 71% 59% 57% 149,950
Constancy LY688 (20) 59% 46% 50% 44% 68% 48% 52% 53% 94,000
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Hyundai Tucson Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Optimo K406 given 100% (215-65-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 32000 easy going miles
I have 32000 miles and there is still 4mm left on each tyre. I highly recommend these but I think Handcock no longer make this type of tyre. It has been replaced by another.
Dave
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-20 17:43:01
Writing about the Wanli S1088 given 96% (225-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
I use 225/60R17 for my Tucson and use my car continuously on the road wherever my site visits take me in the Philippines. Because my job requires field work, I always use my car with Wanli tires. I have been using Wanli for years now and I am impressed with its performance. It has good grip and great traction. Above all, its price is well within my budget range and it lives well beyond my expectation. Thumbs up for Wanli. Highly recommended as I have tried and tested it on my own years of experience with the brand.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-01 07:45:30
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth RV02 given 91% (225-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Replace the Continental contiSport5 Suv on my Hyundai Tucson 2.0 4x4.. It was a greate surprise both the grip and the overall drive of the car. Surprisingly low noise tire and smooth.. Recommended will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-18 16:28:19
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 790 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-13 14:07:35
Writing about the Hankook Optimo K406 given 91% (235-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 easy going miles
I'had like to buy this same tyre again
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-28 13:52:52
Writing about the Nokian WeatherProof given 89% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
Replacing Hankook Ventus Prime 2 that lasted just over a year and 11000 miles
Fitted two of these Nokian Weatherproof SUV on the front in February 2017 - Garage was surprised at my choice telling me it was a winter tyre for driving in snow. Well that wasn't going to stop me, I'd done my research and was happy with my choice.
Instantly transformed the ride of our car. Smooth and quiet, and pretty good feedback through the wheel too.
They've seen me through wet winters, the beast from the east with 6 or so inches of snow and two long summer drives across France.
I can't fault them in any way, but if I was pushed, I would say it was the signs of wall cracking at around 3.5/4mm.
They are now at 2.5/3mm and I can still push them hard on wet roads and feel confident they're going to put me where I want to be.
20 months and 22000 miles of solid secure driving - I'm happy with that.
Only downside is trying to find them in my size to replace all four. No online retailers seem to do them.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-06 13:22:39
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Thoroughly pleased with these tyres. Yes, they are expensive (in this size) and It's too early to tell as far as wear goes and I haven't had a chance to test their capabilities in snow/ice yet but in everything else in comparison with the OEM Continental SportContact 5 SUV Tyres they are so much better.

The car feels smoother although slightly firmer. Steering is more direct. Overall the car feels nicer to drive and passengers have commented the same.

Economy is an area I wasn't expecting anything but the car has gone from struggling to achieve 30mpg, max of 34 of a perfect motorway run to returning 37mpg on a recent mixed journey! Colour me impressed!

I just hope they are half as good in colder weather, I will be taking them on a trip to the French Alps this winter so we shall see.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-19 13:24:23
Writing about the Uniroyal Rallye4x4 Street given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 average miles
The Uniroyal Rallye 4x4 Street tyres replaced a set of terrible (I would say dangerous) Hifly HF 201 tyres that the previous owner had fitted just prior to me getting the car.
I've been using Uniroyals (original Rainsport, Rainsport 2 and Rainexpert) on various vehicles for a number of year now and have always been pleased with their performance particularly in the wet. I live and work in North Wales, so a tyre that can confidently handle wet roads is a no brainer and the Rallye 4x4 street excels in this area with dry grip performance not far behind. What has suprised me is the tyres ability in winter conditions - not bad considering it's not really a winter tyre. Road noise is very low but, in common with most tyres, I expect it to increase as the tread wears. Add to this the reasonable cost of these tyres at 72GBP a corner and they start to make real sense as a smart buy.
I'm no boy racer (been there, done that, got the t-shirt), but I still like to throw the car around when road condition permit and this tyre allows a bit of fun with a reduced risk ending up sideways or in a ditch. A more spirited driver may disagree but for an experienced fifty something driver like me these tyres are more than adequate.
Of course there are some downsides. The side walls are very soft (like most Uniroyal tyres I've used) resulting in reduced feedback and a general soft spongy ride, increasing the inflation pressure by 3-4 psi improves things considerably - just make sure you don't exceed uniroyal's maximum specified pressure.
The good wet grip performance of this tyre is in part the result of using a fairly soft rubber compound on the tread area (again like most Uniroyal tyres I've used). This will inevitably mean a shorter life than some other tyres. Personally I'm happy to accept this as a trade off for good wet/dry grip. After all, that's what tyres are supposed to do.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-07 22:20:05
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 77% (230-65-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-13 14:04:09
Writing about the Toyo Proxes C1S given 73% (235-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
The car came stock with Kumho Solus KH 16, the compound must have been hard as nails, lasted a long time, but the grip was fairly poor. After that, I tried GoodYear Eagle NCT 5 followed by GoodYear Excellence then Toyo Proxes C1S. The NCT 5 was just as bad as the Solus 16 if not worse in terms of grip especially wet grip. The car only has a 2 liter engine and yet the tire was slipping and screeching off the line all the time. Then, came the C1S, I can honestly say I was wary at first due to the less known Toyo brand. But, as it turned out it was the best tire out of the lot. The first impression was the compound felt a lot softer, as such the ride was very noticeably more compliant giving a more comfortable and quieter experience as compared to the other tires. But, one of my major concerns has always been wet grip since I live in the subtropics, and the C1S impressed me massively, no more slipping or screeching off the line and that applies to its dry grip level as well. Now, coming to the downside, that's right as some have mentioned here, the treadwear was pretty high. Don't expect it to last more than 30K km. By the time I changed mine, the inner and outer treads were almost bald. I have now replaced the C1S with some Dunlop Veuro VE302 (made in Japan and not available in UK and US) which is supposed to have similar characteristics as the C1S being a comfort and quiet tire. Not sure whether my memory serves me, but right off the bat the Dunlop didn't seem to feel as comfortable and quiet as the C1S. I think if you don't mind the fast treadwear, the C1S is still a great tire with great grip both wet and dry as well as being comfortable and quiet, not to mention the price point.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-25 15:17:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre