Jaguar XFR Tyres

Drive a Jaguar XFR? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jaguar XFR
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (90) 94% 85% 90% 89% 86% 87% 88% 88% 794,635
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (26) 90% 94% 89% 88% 80% 80% 89% 85% 283,520
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (63) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86% 90% 77% 725,444

Jaguar XFR Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 90% (225-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Because of the issues I had with my previous winter. tyres I did some research on wet weather running as that is the condition that is most prevalent in winter, and settled on these tyres, and they do not disappoint.

This is the first winter where I have had to battle heavy rain and heavy snow with these tyres, last year was a mild winter. This year there has been a lot of snow and I just completed a trip where I was able to safely travel at 50 - 60 MPH on 4" of snow up the motorway, for over 100 miles in snow and a further 100 in slush which is significantly better than the tyres they replaced.

We also just had torrential rain with plenty of standing water on the road and again the tyres coped without any hint of loosing traction.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-05 07:52:42
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 89% (285-30-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 average miles
A distint improvement over the OE Dunlop Sport Maxx. Smooth, quiet and delivering outstanding performance, I highly recommend these tires.
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-01 13:40:25
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 69% (255-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40685 average miles
I fitted these tyres, initially to my V8 XF Jaguar and then onto my V8 XFR Jaguar.

The grip in the snow is excellent, which is what you need with a powerful rear wheel drive car, but the wet weather handling was always suspect. But when I put these tyres onto the XFR the wet weather handling issues became dangerous. even using winter mode on the car and barely touching the accelerator I would get wheel spin on all uphill starts, and I live in the hills in the North of England so that is inevitable. But the breaking point for me was when the rear wheels broke traction, in the rain, going uphill on the M1 at 70 MPH when I crossed the white line changing lanes. That got my attention and so I have removed these tyres even though they have over 4mm of tread left.

Having said that the wear rate if phenononal, I said 4mm of tread left and they have done 40,685 miles. They may simply be too hard to grip in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-10 10:23:05
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 63% (225-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40 average miles
I was advised to get these tyres by my local tyre dealer as a cheaper alternative, and by and large they are good tyres in the snow, BUT, they are very poor in the wet.

The original car that they were fitted to was the Jaguar 5.0 v8 with 385 BHP and they were ok, but when I put them on my Jaguar XFR with 510 BHP the wet grip went from OK to dangerous. Losing traction at 70 MPH on a motorway in the rain whilst going uphill and round a slight bend was not fun.

I suspect that they are OK on lower powered cars, but can't recommend them on higher powered cars.

UPDATE:- I have now spent a winter on some new tyres which are an order of magnitude better than these tyres in the wet and slightly better in the snow.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-05 07:45:33
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 0% (285-30-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have The Jaguar XFR 5 Litre supercharged 508BHP. When I bought the car it had TOYO PROXES T1 SPORT tyres on the rear. I replaced these about six weeks ago with these Vrendestein Ultra Vorti tyres. I very much wish I had NOT.
I felt I did spend a lot of time reading various reviews before buying, But possibly have either failed to find the adverse comments on wet surface performance in some reviews or failed to take appropriate heed of them.
In the six months of running the TOYO'S they seldom lost adhesion and then only once when they were coming to the end of their lives and 3mm tread left.
I have now for the fourth time under some but far from maximum acceleration lost adhesion at the back. All these occasions having been on variously wet or drying road surfaces. I have lost all confidence in the tyres, but cannot afford not to run them out to full wear.
I am getting 2 miles per gallon less miles and the ride on poor to average road surfaces that prevail where I live has now become less absorbent and comfortable. Most surface imperfections are transferred to the cabin.
In writing in the way I have, I have taken full account of the now British seasonal weather November/December. My driving style remains the same 64 old male who drove with much better tyre performance from The TOYO'S and consequential confidence
Very Disapointed.

tyre reviewed on 2017-12-18 20:11:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre