Land Rover Discovery 4 Tyres

Drive a Land Rover Discovery 4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Land Rover Discovery 4
Cooper Zeon LTZ (2) 90% 85% 85% 85% 100% 90% 95% 90% 70,050
Pirelli Scorpion ATR (18) 95% 83% 86% 82% 88% 88% 88% 90% 511,605
Cooper Zeon 4XS (6) 88% 88% 92% 78% 90% 90% 97% 89% 29,000
Pirelli Scorpion All Terrain Plus (5) 90% 88% 90% 74% 93% 94% 100% 89% 92,500
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (43) 86% 89% 84% 79% 82% 88% 97% 87% 434,283
Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac (5) 84% 80% 82% 80% 86% 72% 88% 84% 56,017
Achilles Desert Hawk MT (1) 80% 70% 70% 70% 90% 70% 90% 78% 20,000
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (27) 86% 78% 77% 80% 84% 83% 81% 77% 813,733
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (41) 79% 63% 76% 73% 75% 72% 63% 60% 650,557
Nexen Roadian HT (7) 66% 66% 49% 57% 74% 41% 34% 55% 140,500

Land Rover Discovery 4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Cooper Zeon 4XS given 100% (255-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Ive had these on my Discovery 4 for a while now and its an excellent tyre replacing my Pirreli Scorpion Zero's. I have always used Avons on my past cars but this is my first 4x4. The tyre company did not recommend them...after enquiring why it was because they hadn't heard of cooper zeons and customers prefer brands....so with that excellent advice I went for coopers.

Its been pretty wet down here in the new forest but the tyre is doing a great job, no problems at all in the corners, very deep puddles are fine at speed.

Ive taken it off road a couple of times (when I say off road I mean very wet grass and firm trails, no heavy mud rutted tracks), again no problems. Its not a like for like comparison but I went to SPA GP last year and parked on the long wet grass, I was disappointed by the grip of the pirreli but then again neither that tyre or the cooper are proper off road tyres. In any case, we got off the grass much easier than any merc/bmw/audi.

I cant tell the difference between the noise of these against the pirreli, to be honest the disco is a noisy car due to its wind resistance as I imagine most 4x4s are, 10 mins down the road and your tuned out of it anyway. so not worth quibbling over a decibel or two louder than the pirreli.

Cant comment on the wear yet...ask me next year I guess.

As others have mentioned this in an underrated tyre in my view, Avon have a great history in motorsport and support many forumals, nothing wrong with their pedigree at all.

I paid 577 for four tyres fitted and including VAT.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-22 10:15:35
Writing about the Cooper Zeon LTZ given 94% (255-55-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 70000 spirited miles
Actually Cooper Zeno LTZ but that was not listed here. Excellent tyre, coming up for replacement now after 67000 km. The only drawback is limited availability (have to search around and/or order them). Not the cheapest tyre as a capital outlay, but over the life of the tyre works out good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-01 04:28:23
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion ATR given 93% (255-55-19-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 average miles
Delighted with our ATR's which are running on a Discovery 4. They offer the same road noise as Scorpion Zero's but have far better wear characteristics, are tougher so less likely to puncture, handle very well (on and off road) and look good. I guess they are good for up to 40,000 miles which is double what the Zero's managed. At the mileage we cover that saves us £400 a year.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-14 08:21:14
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme given 93% (255-55-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Driving off from the fitters I almost turned straight back to get them removed. It felt as though my air suspension had collapsed, the ride was so harsh and unforgiving. Even after 200 miles the tyres were still rather stiff and uncertain. After 2000 miles they are superb, especially when it is wet and cold, with great braking and good feedback. Above about 13C they feel a bit squidgy, so I'll be swapping them in April.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-26 13:58:50
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac given 92% (255-55-19-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 spirited miles
Fitted these to my Discovery 4 commercial and have done close to 40,000 miles over 18 months, excellent tyres on and off road and really come into their own in snow. They are now down to about 4 mill tread depth and will be replaced with another set ready for winter.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-30 21:28:27
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion All Terrain Plus given 91% (255-55-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Fantastic tyres, new model so hard to find dealer. Tested on Dartmoor, fantastic on ice & snow. Excellent grip when used off road.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-03 19:58:08
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 90% (255-55-19-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30 average miles
Goodyear Wrangler HPwith rim protection and extra load on my Disco 4 towing a caravan 7.37 metres lond and weighing just short of two tonnes. Tyres have covered 30,750 miles in all sorts of weather from scorching tarmac around Nice, France in mid summer to touring Scotland in not so clement weather. The tyres have performed brilliantly rarely needing air added when tyre pressure checked, they’re quiet to drive with little road noise above the Disco engine, they’re comfortable at speed and the wear quality has been first rate. Just ordered a set of replacement tyres Goodyear Wrangler HP of course from Blackcircles and looking forward to more pleasurable driving and towing.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-02 19:28:57
Writing about the Achilles Desert Hawk MT given 78% (255-55-19-)
Driving on track for 20000 average miles
I have a set of dedicated off-road wheels with these Achilles Desert Hawke MT's fitted. Only fit these wheels when seriously going off road for the weekend etc. Therefore limited on-road time. A great off-road tyre; excellent mud and snow traction, great on rocks and ruts with good side wall traction. They bag out well on lower pressures substantially increasing flotation on sand. A compromise on the road due to the aggressive nature of the tread. They were very noisy when new but have quietened down significantly after 15,000kms. Dry traction good, wet traction not bad. Proven to be very durable (no punctures or side wall damage) and long wearing. As a dedicated off-road tyre, can highly recommend, particularly at their very reasonable price point. Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-06 06:40:25
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather given 64% (225-55-19-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
These tires came new on my Discovery 4 HSE (3.0SD). I drive gently, mostly on highways with the occasional off road trip. The tires have done 40,000km without any problems or complaints and they still have 3.5-4mm tread left but they are now chipping right across the face on the front and have become noisy so time for replacement. I am looking at other brands, I probably wouldn't buy these again which is a pity as they worked quite well. I suspect other brands will provide better mileage and be less prone to chipping or flaking.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-11 05:07:22
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season given 42% (255-50-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
The wife recently put these on her Discovery 4.
Drove it today at 2 deg celsius with wet roads and a small amount of shallow standing water.
TERRIFYING.
I had a couple of moments with normal driving where I seriously thought I might end up rolling it.
The first just catching the edge of an old rubbed out white line, or similar, the second, more scary, on a drifting curve with just a few shallow patches of standing water, nasty little slide at 55mph.
Have driven for 40 years with all different types of rubber, mostly cheap to mid price and normally drive a 530d in reasonably spirited fashion in all weathers.
These are awful and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone, indeed I'm going to take them off even though they can have less than 2000 miles on them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-16 10:37:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre