MG ZT 260 Tyres

Drive a MG ZT 260? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the MG ZT 260
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
Barum Bravuris 2 (125) 85% 78% 78% 71% 75% 80% 80% 78% 1,393,481
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (63) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86% 90% 77% 725,444
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Altenzo Comforter (86) 79% 60% 70% 62% 76% 80% 68% 71% 672,161
Maxxis MA V1 (19) 69% 61% 61% 53% 65% 61% 49% 60% 342,500
Pirelli P6000 (169) 67% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61% 38% 55% 2,433,782
Rotalla F105 (26) 63% 29% 43% 39% 58% 58% 31% 46% 170,502
Admiral 712 (7) 50% 39% 47% 43% 51% 41% 27% 43% 70,200

MG ZT 260 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Admiral 712 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-04 20:57:56
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 93% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Great tyres with lots of grip. Excellent rubber quality and design, very reliable on different road conditions. An economical buy and they're made in the UK. The best choice, no doubt!
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-19 13:34:16
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 92% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 850 spirited miles
To add to my initial review in December,I have now used them in the wet ! Also, they are fully "run in". They are FABULOUS - in the dry and in wet conditions. The handling/ cornering ability/ performance- of these tires-- is fantastic!

tyre reviewed on 2012-04-10 23:56:33
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 90% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Absolutely f a n t a s t i c . Much much better than the old TIR'S. These new T1 SPORT'S.. are extremely rigid/ feel so solid. Bur they are not harsh.. like some Bridegstones. In fact it had RE040'S on before, and these TOYO'S are seriously better. At first, they feel a little less communicative than the RE40'S.. but when scrubbed in, after a couple of hundred miles or so.. good god, what tires !! I havn't been brave enough to find their limits yet. On some tarmac types.. they are noisy, but what the hell ! At 150mph.. the car feels 100% dead solid on the road. Really safe trustworthy tires. Havn't used em in the wet yet.. but they are supposed to be BETTER in the wet than the dry.. so lORD KNOWS what they will be like, when I eventually use in the wet, IF thet are this goood in the dry !!! The cornering with them on is miles better than the RE40'S.. which were supposed to be excellent on the 260'S !! Plus..the Tires look BIGGER, ie w i d e r than the RE40's on the car ( same size ). All in all.. the best Peformance Tires I have had.. and I have had the whole lot over the years. BUY EM !!!
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-21 22:41:18
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 2 given 89% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
I drive a 4.6 V8 with rediculous amounts of torque. The Barum just handles it all with ease. Great tyres stupidly cheap. When the wife's SLK needs new tyres that's what I'll be putting on them - same pattern as Continentals.
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-07 11:41:16
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme given 88% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
First winter tyres I'd ever used. Very good in the snow on my MG ZT V8.Very good in the wet too.
However all four tyres have now split on the inside walls - they are dated 2010.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-08 07:26:40
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 84% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Nice dry grip, don't squeal too much and are very progressive as they let go. They also get better the warmer or the more they are worked. They clear a lot of water in the wet and are unlikely to aquaplane which is nice when the family are in the car. Grip wise they have good wet grip but maybe not as much as continental sc3 or other premium tyres. I drive more carefully in the wet but the feedback allows a bit of fun at low speeds. They give a good ride with low road noise. The size I have are xtra load or re-inforced they seem to suit the car well. All said if I had an endless supply of money I would choose a high performance tyre in high end premium brand. However for the price they are excellent performance/cost and far better than the mid-range tyres on the car before (the previous owners Maxxis tyres where a few months old when I changed for the ZZ3's).
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-04 15:16:01
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 83% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Fitted instead of the Goodyear AS2 I had asked for as the local dealer could not source the AS2 within a week and these were my second choice. First drive was a spirited drive in cold 1C and damp/wet/slush covering some 170 miles. Initial impression is they look like they will live up to the hype. Bloody good!!

tyre reviewed on 2012-12-24 19:48:36
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 80% (205-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 19600 spirited miles
These tyres were already fitted on my car when I bought it. At the time of purchase they had appx. 6mm of tread left. They have worn well, now finally needing replacement after nearly 20,000 miles of driving.

The dry grip is excellent, and the wet grip is great too - I have driven through monsoon like weather on the motorways, and these tyres have never let me down.

Feedback is great, road noise is minimal and the comfort level is good too.

I have noticed, though, that they are very "pressure affected" - that is, unless you check them often, and keep the pressures bang-on as small differences in pressure seem to make a biog difference in these tyres performance - do that and they are exceptional tyres for the money - being only about 10% more in cost than some 'budget' tyres.

I have already made up my mind to replace them with a set of the same.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-28 10:49:08
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 73% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Cope very will the power of a V8 RWD saloon. Grip in the dry and wet is very good. The tail can still be made to brake away, but its progressive and controllable. Only real negative comment is that are quite a soft compound, and so longevity isn't that great (my rears only lasted 5K miles) but if your priority is grip rather then mileage, then I haven't a better tyre for the money yet. I replaced my last set of ZZ3's with Falken 452's, but that has proven to be a mistake as the 452's haven't performed well at all, being particularly poor in the wet, and really struggling for grip in cooler conditions. Will definitely be buying another set of ZZ3's in the spring when my winter tyres are removed, and the 452' will be binned or sold despite having lots of life left.
tyre reviewed on 2011-12-11 14:06:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre