Mazda 3 MPS Tyres

Drive a Mazda 3 MPS? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda 3 MPS
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (25) 91% 88% 84% 82% 77% 92% 93% 87% 158,600
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Falken Azenis FK510 (61) 91% 89% 86% 85% 78% 78% 87% 85% 538,071
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (48) 88% 84% 85% 83% 82% 83% 78% 83% 205,744
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (33) 88% 81% 80% 78% 80% 87% 84% 83% 385,360
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (25) 89% 83% 82% 83% 74% 79% 85% 82% 191,810
GT Radial Champiro HPY (22) 88% 80% 74% 73% 61% 77% 73% 75% 210,215
Achilles ATR Sport 2 (29) 76% 48% 67% 66% 79% 71% 62% 67% 161,812
Federal FZ201 (1) 100% 30% 80% 80% 10% 40% 50% 56% 1,000
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48% 31% 45% 155,400

Mazda 3 MPS Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1300 spirited miles
Supplementary to the previous review: When i wrote that SportMaxx RT2 are one class down than Goodyear Asymmetric 2, i meant about comfort and noise and not in general. Also i forgot to say that these tires need more air because they are soft. I put 2.6 bar in front and 2.3 bar in rear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-29 08:47:03
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 91% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1300 spirited miles
Had Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 before and i decided to buy from its subsidiary company Dunlop. I had Dunlop long ago to a previous car and what i remember most is that they were very sticky in the dry. And yes i get this feeling again! I have much better info from the steering wheel and you must go beyond the laws of physics to get the car out of the road when cornering! As for the progressiveness i like an "airy" sound they do when you corner to the limit so you know what it's going on. You get no fear from these tires as in every driving mode spirited or not all happens in smooth way! Goodyear was very quiet and very comfort. Maxx RT 2 are one class down than Goodyear.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-28 12:13:29
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 86% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Just swapped 4 worn Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres for new Goodyear Asymmetric 3 on my Mazda3 MPS. Haven't had these tyres very long hence the N/A rating for wear and progressiveness but overall there doesn't seem to be much difference between the two variants.

The car does seem to turn in marginally better, the new tyres are fractionally quieter, total grip and comfort levels are unchanged in my opinion.

The side wall height also looks the same, tread patterns are very similar but the rim protection is less pronounced than before and probably won't protect your alloys very much (the older ones didn't offer much protection but they were better than these) .

Excellent value for money at £380 for 4 very capable performance tyres. Hopefully the newer technology will see them out perform the older variant over the life span of the tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-08 10:35:00
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Driven 20k KM so far, still put a smile on my face.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-04 11:35:09
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 81% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Those tyres are best buy. I use them on a Mazdaspeed3, with several mods.
Previously, I had PS4, which were great, but wear was really bad. So I tought I should give those a try. Probably the wear will be worse, but the handling, dry grip and breaking were comparable, a little bit better on the PS4 but not miles away.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-09 13:11:14
Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport 2 given 76% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
Had a pair of these ATR Sport 2 on my car for a year, for the fronts.
First half with daily driving duties, while the second half it was used mainly on the weekend drives up winding roads / highway runs
With 450nm torque on the front tyres these tyres really put up a better-than-expected performance, similar to brands twice it’s price. Despite being 400treadwear rated, it grips very well in the dry, and in the wet it had decent performance (only towards the end of its useful life did it struggle for traction in the wet).
Feedback is superb as well, lots of warnings when it’s about to reach the limit of grip, fun on winding roads.
Not as noisy as the Kumho V720, grips like the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymm 2, and durability that exceeds both those brands, for its price i would definitely give it another go. Very pleased indeed
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-29 15:08:55
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 73% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 spirited miles
Very impressed at the overall performance of the tyre and consider it very good value for money.
Confidence inspiring and good feedback.
Only issue would be the wear & tear, which I feel could be better.
Definitely recommended and would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-22 15:50:03
Writing about the GT Radial Champiro HPY given 71% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Was surprised at the level of grip these GT Radials offered, grippy in the dry and was vert good with spirited driving. Even in the wet I experienced very little aquaplaning despite hitting some slight puddles on the highway.
It was still giving good feedback in the wet when slightly new, and decent levels of feedback towards the end of its life.
Highly recommended as a reasonable budget mid range performance tyre, if it held up well on a FWD 380Nm torque car like the Mazda 3 MPS, it can definitely be a good set for most performance JDM turbo sports sedans/coupes.hatchbacks.
Just be sure to rotate them accordingly.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-26 10:26:05
Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given 70% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-30 18:24:17
Writing about the Federal FZ201 given 56% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-14 03:43:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement