Mazda 626 Tyres

Drive a Mazda 626? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda 626
Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 (3) 97% 93% 97% 97% 95% 87% 100% 95% 24,000
Toyo Proxes CF2 (62) 89% 87% 83% 83% 85% 86% 91% 86% 432,909
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (41) 87% 83% 80% 78% 81% 85% 85% 82% 222,300
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83% 90% 82% 478,215
Toyo TEO plus (14) 81% 68% 74% 76% 82% 86% 76% 77% 155,130
Continental Premium Contact 5 (101) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 80% 66% 76% 1,104,638
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Michelin Energy (38) 69% 63% 58% 61% 85% 75% 63% 68% 898,474
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (143) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,099,560
Maxtrek SU830 (5) 54% 32% 42% 42% 38% 40% 28% 39% 21,800

Mazda 626 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 given 98% (195-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Great winter tyres, on dry these Yokohamas are like summer tyres, grip is excellent. On wet there is no problem, even a few cm of water was not a big deal but that was not with highway speed, up to 80kmph. Snow traction is great, no problem in deep snow but I had only one trip on snow in town so it is hard to say how good they are on snow.
They are comfortable, but should be better. Will buy again definitelly.
Thread pattern is similar to Continental, but I like this one more :D.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-19 12:41:37
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 spirited miles
EXCELLENT TYRE!!
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-09 19:49:16
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 96% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Absolutely brillant! After 10000 miles tyres still keep the comfort. Wet and dry drive is excellent. I used them in snowy road and surprisingly good at snow. I will but it again or try next model.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-20 17:16:00
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 given 92% (195-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
My first Toyo tyres and not the last. I switched to these Toyo tyres after Continental ContiPremium 5. Conti were great, but every year worse and worse.

Tyres feels glued to the road on dry and wet conditions. I was too fast in one curve, which was sharper then I expected and I believed that I will slide but the tyres hold me on the road.
Sidewall is too soft, I can feel it during faster cornering but that means they are comfortable. Harder sidewalls a little and loosing some comfort would be better. Soft sidewall also means longer reaction when turning the steering wheel.
I have no problem with the tyres during heavy rain on highway with 130km/h speed, they feels safe on wet. No problem with braking on dry or wet. I think that they brake on wet much better then Continentals.

Wear is not visible yet, but I am low on mileage so no problem for me if wear too fast, I will have to change to new tyres after 4 year if weared to 3mm or 6mm.

No sliding the wheels during fast starts - kickdowns. I had a lot of these, usually on wet with Continentals..

Made in JAPAN.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-25 13:06:12
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 80% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5 average miles
very very good for price, Made in Japan
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-09 01:06:20
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus given 77% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
very good in winter conditions
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-09 19:39:47
Writing about the Michelin Energy given 74% (175-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 35000 average miles
The fronts lasted 19000 miles backs 35000 in fact still going when car was scrapped. I found the handling to be good but then i,m no boy racer. As with so many things in life tyres are a compromise. The compromise of a hard compound tyre such as Mechelin energy is some loss in grip. That why bike sports tyres are dual compound If i had a Mazda mx5 and not a 626 family saloon i would not buy Mechelin energy tyres. However because (in order of priority) i value safety comfort longevity and economy these tyres are the ones for me. And I think tread pattern can only do so much to improve handling. So as for Price per mile Michelin energy tyres just can't be beat. Boy racers these tyres are not for you!
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-02 13:56:40
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 60% (195-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
I bought these tyres because they won most tyre tests. I was verry happy with them when they were new. Good grip on dry and wet, I was able to go faster then other cars when heavy rain (but that may be in drivers heads or tyre size and not the actual tyres).

Every year, with depth of the tread going down, they were worse and worse. They got hard every year. Fifth year, they were worse then my winter tyres in spring when I changed tyres. They had about 4mm tread. So the more you drive, the worse the tyres get.
They were pretty expensive (comparing to others in this size) so I expected more from them.
Last year, I got puncture when I accidentally drive over hidden curb, sidewall was destroyed - 10 holes on outerside, 3 on innerside. Maybe my fault, but I got worse accident with different and older tyres (on old car) without problem.

Won't buy again, for me, Continental makes tyres for tests, tyres changes a lot with years and wear.
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-26 08:48:22
Writing about the Toyo TEO plus given 49% (185-70-14-S)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
My first Eco tyre and from this experience, I believe my last, at least for a while. While rolling resistance is appreciably reduced and car decelerates slower when coasting to traffic lights, there appear to be way too many compromises, at least in this iteration, for that lower rolling resistance which in my case translates to about 2-3 percent fuel saving.

Ride is a bit harder than all the other "touring" tyres I've had, and wet grip, especially braking on damp surfaces is pretty dismal. Additionally, this poor wet grip is not offset by low wear either, and it looks like I'll get just my average 20k miles from my set ("rotated" front-to-back just once). Wear though is even, and tyres retain their balance well.

On the plus side, the tyres are quiet on all surfaces and grip and handle pretty well in the dry. And they were reasonably priced.

I can't help but think that any of the touring (non Eco) tyres I used on this car would have outperformed this TEO Plus in ALL aspects, by just increasing their pressures 10 percent over recommended. I had definitely expected more from Toyo.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-02 12:54:23
Writing about the Maxtrek SU830 given 24% (225-80-19-H)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Dangerous on wet roads. Wheel slip on our Mazda 626 front wheel drive car

We need to drive slowly and use our other car if it rains. Don't buy, we need to replace them even though they are not worn out. Bad idea, was not helped by the tyre retailer.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-07 07:21:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre