Mercedes Benz C63 AMG Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz C63 AMG? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz C63 AMG
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (51) 93% 89% 87% 88% 84% 88% 86% 88% 216,600
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70% 91% 83% 161,925
Continental Sport Contact 6 (41) 93% 93% 87% 82% 55% 81% 69% 80% 164,265
Nankang AR 1 (18) 91% 50% 87% 89% 78% 74% 87% 79% 49,591
Infinity Ecomax (24) 78% 72% 72% 68% 76% 74% 82% 75% 246,220
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (74) 86% 81% 79% 78% 56% 74% 58% 73% 614,626
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Continental Sport Contact 5 (179) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 56% 72% 1,923,448
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (26) 82% 65% 64% 68% 71% 66% 57% 68% 249,662
Nankang Noble Sport NS20 (26) 73% 59% 68% 60% 76% 71% 58% 67% 311,070
Yokohama ADVAN Sport (34) 76% 66% 64% 65% 47% 50% 45% 59% 314,562

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang Noble Sport NS20 given 100% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
These were already fitted when I purchased the car from a dealership. Initially I thought get them off & fit approved tyres but kept putting it off until here I am almost 3 years later & looking to fit a new set because told the rears have maybe another 2000 miles. That would mean these have lasted about 11000 miles which is not too shabby for this car at all. How have they been? Tremendous. OK I am not a high miler but I do tend to drive with lead boots & the roads around here a twisty. Not in the best shape either. Do like to go for it when it is safe to do so. Have to say these tyres have never let me down. I have never felt the car getting away from me. It has always remain planted. Road noise? Are you kidding? The lovewly sound of that naturally aspirated V8 engine/exhaust drowns all that out thank god!
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-19 12:18:44
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 97% (255-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Mind blowing.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-29 13:35:37
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 94% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I replaced Michelin PS2 tyres with these on my Mercedes Benz C63. I have to say, they're a vast improvement, front and back. There is plenty of predictability at the rear whereby the PS2 I found would go without much warning. Rear traction is very good, TCS rarely interrupts unless wet/cold and the front tyres dig in and guide you round with precision. The car is naturally quite tail happy but, after 5000 spirited miles on the rear, there's still a good 6mm of meat which, is contrary to the reviews I've read about fast wear. I do however have the geometry correct and don't melt the tyres driving like my life depends on it each way of my commute. Front wear I cannot comment on as these are newer but, so far so good. I'd like to try Michelin PSS next as a direct comparison, as they seem to be the only real contender but, I won't be upset if these 5P's last a while.

Road noise is low, and ride is slightly less crashy, a God send with this bone shaking suspension but by no means is the ride squishy, nor do the sidewalls give way; I'm not sure how they've done it.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-03 13:19:49
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 90% (255-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I don't understand why the rating is so low for this tyres. I have been driving very aggressive and they hold the road very well. Since I have so much power at the rear wheels. They actually grips very well. Noise is not a issue as with this super low profile tyres. And they are much quieter and more comfortable than my Golf Gti Mk6 with 225x40x18 tyres
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-26 19:27:07
Writing about the Toyo R1R given 87% (255-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Just went from standard Pirelli pzeros to these. I feel really bad having purchased pzeros before. These toyos crap all over them!
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-24 11:12:31
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 86% (265-35-18-)
Driving on track for 250 spirited miles
I run a somewhat modified AMG C63 in a Sprint/Hillclimb series in Western Australia. I have previously used Yokohama A050’s (at $2300 per set), and Hankook TD Z221’s (at $1800 per set). Whilst looking into options to reduce the financial blow when buying tyres, a fellow competitor came across these Nankang AR-1’s. We started asking around to find more information but there was virtually nobody in competition circles that knew anything about them. What we did find out that they are CHEAP for an R spec tyre. So we dove in and bought a set each. Mine were 2 x 235/40 R18 and 2 x 265/35 R18. Purchase price you ask? Just $950 FOR ALL 4! I had my doubts about performance because, as they say, you get what you pay for.
Well, I can report that after many competition rounds that these tyres are simply incredible. I don’t mean incredible based on the price either. These tyres are superb. They heat up quickly, grip comes in within just a few corners, very stable, provide excellent feedback and are proving to have excellent life despite competition level abuse and dozens of heat cycles. Many of my fellow competitors have asked about them and as a result of my always positive feedback, many have switched and are equally as impressed. Several new users have reported PB’s at circuits they know well (as have I). I’m now on my second set and I continue to be just as impressed. These tyres come with a very high recommendation.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-11 05:38:27
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 80% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
I bought a Mercedes C63 AMG with these tyres fitted from a dealership and assumed the worst. I have been driving on them for a year and they have really impressed in all weather. Obviously due to the car I don't go mad on wet corners but everyday wet driving has not been an issue. In the dry they have performed really well and I have grown to trust them on fast bends / corners. Would certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-05 23:39:31
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 80% (265-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31000 spirited miles
Rear tyres on a C63AMG can be reduced to nothing in very short order. That said, if you keep an eye on fuel consumption and don't drive like its stolen every day, you can get plenty from the rears. I like to 'push-on' wherever and whenever possible - Early Sunday AM blasts, etc. Yet managed to get 31,000miles from the rears, which I am told is pretty good. That is of course if you do not pick up nails/screws - which I have done twice on the fronts.... £1000 in front axle tyres in 9 months thanks to UK roads PLC and the lack of road sweeping/cleaning.. A German friend of mine states there would be a revolt in Germany if this were to happen.
Mich Pilot Super Sport M01 - standard factory fit on the 2016 C63 - simply amazing tyres in my view, good wear, great grip (wet and dry/summer & winter) confidence inspiring with good, even, wear characteristics. Bit on the noisy side though, but what can one expect from a performance estate car? Pricey ? yes. Too pricey when you consider that cannot be puncture repaired. Availability... currently having to wait two weeks for a set, not readily available it seems.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-27 11:21:29
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 80% (265-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 500 spirited miles
I replaced the Sport Contact 5P on my C63 which were close to the wear indicators resulting in wheel spin at the lights and even when changing gears. Had high hopes with new tyres opting for the Sport Contact 6 for all round performance, comfort and mainly wet grip using tyre tests as a guide. After 500 miles or so my opinion is that the grip has given me more confidence although switching from wearing tyres one should expect that anyway, but definitely good levels of grip. With so much torque in the car its hard to judge on wet grip but still more confident and braking is good. Another important factor for me was the comfort and these did feel more comfortable although I could have wished for less road noise from the tyres. Then there is the question of wear that so many reviewers have cited. Although after only a few miles I cannot comment on this apart from the fact it LOOKS like it will wear fast as there seems to be less depth to the tread than say a Goodyear tyre (I have purchased Goodyear Eagle F1AS2 for four cars). Am sure Continental mentioned there is less tread depth also but cannot confirm at this point. Overall a good tyre for fast cars.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-20 15:31:27
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Sport given 77% (255-30-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-23 16:53:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre