Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 Tyres

Drive a Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (121) 96% 87% 90% 86% 83% 83% 90% 88% 986,389
Nokian zLine (77) 92% 92% 91% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 604,390
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Toyo R888 (33) 95% 69% 86% 85% 63% 59% 86% 77% 180,961
Dunlop Direzza DZ02 (1) 100% 50% 100% 70% 70% 40% 100% 76% 1,000
Nankang NS2 (201) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 61% 66% 1,755,759
Bridgestone Potenza S02A (5) 75% 65% 70% 65% 63% 63% 55% 65% 46,500
Michelin Pilot Alpin PA2 (2) 55% 35% 40% 30% 90% 60% 20% 48% 23,500

Porsche 996 911 Carrera 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian zLine given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Best tyres i have ever bought. This is the second set of tyres on my Porsche from Nokian and i can fault them at all. Grip and wear even at highe speeds and cornering - excellent!!
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-26 11:20:13
Writing about the Toyo R888 given 93% (295-30-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
These tyres are a hidden gem. I have had yoko and michelins but these take the cake. I think they have actually taken a second off the 0-100km/h sprint. I travel the M1 to Brisbane each day and can you believe I've already got 15,000km out of them. I didn't bank on that nor the fact I got them cheap initially but if I have to buy them again I see the price isn't on the low end. Highly recommended. The yokohamas can't compete with these. They do get better when warmed but that is ovestated as it takes 5 minutes only. Noisy but who cares. My suspension wanes before the tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-29 11:28:12
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
I have had two sets of these with differing rear size though.
- Initial set 225/40 18 + 265/35 18
- second set 225/40 18 + 285/30 18

The first set came with the car and did not have much life left. They were noisy, especially the rear tyres. Handling was good. The new set feels more comfortable and handling is at least as good as with the first set.

I can compare these to Michelin PSS and Potenza S02A. Comparing the Michelins the PS2 feel more linear and abrasive and PSS more rubbery. Herecy or not but my favorites are the S02A because they give more linear feel provide grip with lesser slip angle. They have the sharpest turn in and easiest (most predictable) transition to slide.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-21 23:10:04
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ02 given 76% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on track for 1000 spirited miles
Medium compound DZ02s on my spare wheels for trackdays. Seemed a bit slippy in the wet but felt better than the R888s.
tyre reviewed on 2008-02-19 17:28:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 3000 miles
I can compare these with PS2 and Potenza S02A on the same car.

Compared to PS2 the PSS feels more rubbery. It lives more sideways and IMO is a bit sluggish in turn in compared to PS2. However, I feel the PSS might have a bit more ulitmate grip. However, it is a bit vague at the limit and thus I prefer both PS2 and S02A over the PSS. The PSS is definitely a more quiet tyre than the PS2 ... about the same as S02A.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-21 23:16:19
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin PA2 given 46% (265-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 average miles
The side grip in the wet (on my car at least), is dangerously bad. The rear starts to loose its grip at approxomatly 30% of the g-force load of my summer tires when cornering. And once they start to loose it, it all happens very fast. Not good! They actually perform better on snow. They also tend to let go quite sudden in a straight line (still in the wet) if I accellarate hard in 90-110 Kilometers per hour (55-65 MPH). Theese characteristics are prominent on dry asfalt too. I mostly drive on wet, snowy or icy conditions during winter, as I live in Norway, and this car is my daily driver. I will never buy theese again (bought them last winter, and will be changing them soon). Thank god for the Continantals I have up front, saved my but with their grip and predictability compared to the widow makers at the rear!!! Stay away if You have a high performance car and drive it on wet/ icy/ snow covered roads during the winter.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-22 08:21:14
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 40% (285-35-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
This is the rear tire with about 80% life left. The manufacturing date is 2010 but I rarely use the car so only 20% treadwear. At 100km/hour, the rear tire burst on a straightaway. No signs of road hazard etc. Good thing our was the rear or I could have met grave accident. Replaced all remaining 3 after that.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-11 12:21:06
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S02A given 0% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
I can compare this tyre to PS2 and PSS on the same car but variations in widths and rim widths.

Maybe the S02A does not offer quite as much grip as the Michelin (I really can not tell the difference) by tests but I can tell that compared to both the Michelins the S02A gives better feedback. It is more linear and I would say it requires less slip angle to generate side force. However, the S02A are on 8.5 and 11 inch rims as the Michelins have been on an inch narrower rims.

I bopught these second hand but practically new. Of the three mentioned these are actually my favorites.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-21 23:00:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre