Renault Clio IV TCe 90 Tyres

Drive a Renault Clio IV TCe 90? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Clio IV TCe 90
Continental Eco Contact 5 (64) 79% 67% 67% 67% 74% 67% 54% 68% 717,053
Nordexx NS9000 (10) 73% 57% 59% 57% 73% 60% 60% 63% 40,139

Renault Clio IV TCe 90 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nordexx NS9000 given 57% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
Cheap, terrible. Too soft at high speed. Hankooks much better except wear.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-27 23:44:29
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 5 given 56% (195-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-26 12:24:29
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 5 given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 14000 average miles
I have these tyres on my Renault Clio TCe 90 as OEM factory fitted tyres. During the first 4-6 months, they were 'ok' but soon after, these tyres became the most uncomfortable, rigid, noisy bumpy tyres I've had. And this is a situation of history repeating itself. Had the EcoContact 3 on my previous Renault Twingo and same thing happened. They are so uncomfortable, so unsettling, so rough and noisy that you will not believe that all this is coming from the tyres. Once, I had a bearing hum noise coming from the rear and I was 100% sure that it was the rear bearing since it had all the properties of a defected bearing (increase with speed, more on turns etc..) Went to my mechanic, almost ready to buy the wheel bearing when all of a sudden, he told me that surely it's not a bearing since the wheel free rotation was perfect. Changed the tyre with the spare wheel and the noise vanished! Incredible! Replaced my front tyres with brand new Goodyear Duragrip (which are relatively cheap to buy) and was astonished with the EXCELLENT comfort, grip, quietness and precision! And they lasted with such good characteristics for, at least 5 years!

On my new Clio, 1 year on, exactly the same problems. Will be replacing them with Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance in the coming future. Continental are disastrous. I can't understand why Renault have been fitting them as OEM tyres for all these years!
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-05 14:02:10
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 5 given 47% (195-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Fitted from new on a Scandinavian spec Renault Clio 0.9Tce Sport Tourer (estate).
Have now covered just over 4000mi / 6000km.

To summarise; these tyres have been good for fuel economy and reasonably grippy, but the steering and handling characteristics are not confidence inspiring or enjoyable, in my opinion. Can also be noisy on some surfaces.

These tyres might be ok if you want something for low speed city / town use, or if economy is your only major concern.

For me personally, I like a car to handle in a positive and responsive way. These tyres don't strike the balance I'm looking for, so they will soon be changed out for something more responsive.

Positive:
- Grip quite well in the dry
- Grip quite well in the wet too (no unexpected ABS / sliding / wheelspin to date)
- Low rolling resistance, hence good fuel economy.
- Seem to wear reasonably well (so far)

Negative:
- Slow / soggy steering response, seemingly due to soft sidewalls.
- Lack of steering feel or feedback. Numb around the dead-ahead.
- Car slops / wobbles around laterally on these tyres following a sudden steering input (e.g. if swerving to avoiding a pothole or something in the road). Seems to take a while for these tyres to settle following such a manoeuvre.
- Unexpectedly noisy on some road surfaces, though reasonably quiet on others.
- Not the most comfortable, despite apparent soft sidewalls. Can feel harsh / jittery over road imperfections such as drain covers and bridge expansion joints.
- Went out of balance within the first 3000km (2000mi).

Other Notes
Increasing the tyre pressures (above recommended for the Clio, but well within specification for tyre) helped to improve the steering response and feel, but the basic characteristics described above are still present.

Driving another Clio 0,9tce on a different brand of tyres (a dealer courtesy car) made me realise how lively the steering and handling on my car can / should be.


tyre reviewed on 2019-06-08 14:15:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre