Smart Fortwo MHD cabrio Tyres

Drive a Smart Fortwo MHD cabrio? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Smart Fortwo MHD cabrio
Kleber Quadraxer (40) 81% 87% 78% 70% 89% 86% 87% 83% 578,731
Vredestein Snowtrac 5 (5) 84% 86% 88% 78% 77% 84% 86% 83% 36,100
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (24) 82% 82% 80% 80% 86% 88% 83% 82% 249,642
Jinyu YW51 (16) 71% 71% 65% 60% 73% 71% 71% 69% 42,300

Smart Fortwo MHD cabrio Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 91% (195-50-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
I fitted a pair of these to my smart fortwo rear wheels only, unfortunately kleber doesnt make 175/55/R15 yet, but as soon as they do i will probably buy a pair. the tyres worked just as good as my continental winter contacts fitted on my BMW, and perform just as good, quality grip in snow and ice and the cars DSC worked really well with the tyres. the car was pretty much undriveable with summer tyres fitted to the smart car in snowy conditions. a very good purchase for any rear wheel drive car.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-27 18:02:08
Writing about the Vredestein Snowtrac 5 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
For a Smart car thats light these tyres can take you through snow drifts that a 4x4 would struggle with, direct and responsive to turns and grip is incredible. Expensive but safe and comfortable for any Smart for two
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-22 03:01:31
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 88% (175-55-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 800 average miles
My girlfriend needed new tyres on her Smart Cabrio rear wheel drive.
As we live in Switzerland (ski region) i was looking for a set of good 4 season tyres.
As the Kuhmo Winter Tyres on the Smart were completly done. (2mm left)
A cousin of my drove from Holland to Norway in wintertime with his Saab 9-5 on The Vredestein Quatrac 5.
He is (was) a really wintertyre fan in winterconditions╦ő as he was going every single year to Norway he was my perfect real experience person. He was so positive about these tyres in Norway that i decided to by 4 of them for the realwheeldrive Smart Cabrio.

Of my personal experience i can say the following:

Dry: handling is okey; brake and corners are standard
Wet: very good felt really safe with heavy heavy rain
Snow: as long as you use your brain this tyre is as food as a full winter tyre, good traction and breaking is even better.
Comfort: i was so surprised how quite this tyre really is, it felt almost as i was driving a different (newer) car.

Buy again ? absolutely!! The dutchies (Vredestein) are doing really well the last few years;
But only buy this tyre if you have a normal car with not to much power. If you have a lot of power and drive over snow covered roads I would go for the Vredestein Wintrac Pro,


tyre reviewed on 2018-12-29 14:28:45
Writing about the Jinyu YW51 given 50% (195-50-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I purchased these tyres for my Smart Car a couple of years ago, just before Christmas (ie Christmas Eve).
I was told there might be snow, and knowing how impossible it was to drive the car at all, even on dead flat, tarmac surfaces roads, I decided to get these from my local tyre merchant - meant to be good value, certaily in comparison to other makes - I've had winter tyres on a previous Smart car for a number of years and they had worked very well - indeed as the car is so light, I had had no need to change the tyres after the winter, and had kept them on for the next 30K miles.
These were a different car, different tyres and a ballgame!
The first journey was on a motorway - going away for 2 weeks holiday. There was a strongish cross-wind (not a gale) and I almost immediately noticed the back end moved about a bit, but I thought this was due to the weather. I travelled gingerly (no faster than 50mph) for the 250 miles, believing the weather was at fault.
Over the next week or so, the weather got warmer rather than colder but I had no need to drive as I was on holiday - so the tyres were not really required or tested further.
When I travelled home, I had exactly the same experience, even though there was no noticeable breeze.
I returned to the store and having had them check the wheel alignment and balance, I took the car out again for a 20-mile test drive, to find exactly the same problem. I returned to be told the tyres were fine and it was road conditions or my driving so I could not replace the tyres as they had been used for several hundred miles and not informing the store within 7 days (remember this was over Christmas week), there was nothing that could be done.
I took the car to Mercedes to check possible other problems, to be told the car was fine. They put 4 of Goodyear winter tyres on instead, these worked brilliantly - AND were actually cheaper!. I was told that above 7┬░C the Jingus might not have the tyre wall rigidity of other tyres.
I kept the Jingus to try again in cold/snowy weather. This winter, after 3 years/35000 miles full use, the Goodyears needed replacing. I swaped them for the Jingus.
Results:
Handling = rubbish (back of car extremely twitchy),
Actual road-holding (ie straightline stopping/starting) in snow - fine/good.
Clearly a problem with the tyres NOT the car.
Am changing them to summer tyres later today.
Will bin the Jingus.
Sadly not using MTS Banbury again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-07 11:01:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
Advertisement