Toyota 86 GT Tyres

Drive a Toyota 86 GT? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota 86 GT
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (35) 98% 76% 92% 93% 75% 72% 94% 86% 206,505
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (154) 93% 91% 86% 88% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,537,023
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (132) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 81% 85% 1,085,374
Michelin Primacy 4 (50) 86% 85% 77% 79% 85% 87% 73% 82% 723,030
Nexen N Fera SUR4G (2) 90% 85% 25% 90% 55% 50% 90% 69% 5,900
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (26) 82% 65% 64% 68% 71% 66% 57% 68% 249,662
Federal 595RSRR (2) 90% 25% 75% 80% 30% 40% 50% 56% 4,500
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429

Toyota 86 GT Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Fantastic wet grip, did a track day in heavy rain and they were performing better than most semi slick tyres do in wet. Dry grip is similarly good I can't see a road tyre being any better than this, comfort and noise level is surprisingly good and fuel economy doesn't suffer, can't comment on longevity as I used these tyres on track however they do perform fairly well on track
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-01 11:14:51
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 80% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
This is was a polarising tyre for me, at least in the beginning. After a bit of research, I decided to go with the Primacy 4 as I got a good deal, and my first choice, the Bridgestone S001, was out of stock here in SA. So I had them fitted to my GT86, and off I went. Initially, I got the same "slidey" feeling that others have mentioned, however I knew the tyres need to be run in before you get proper grip, so I soldiered on. After about 200 km, there wasn't much difference though. The comfort and road noise were very good, but the perceived grip and steering feel were off. I did notice that braking was good though. So I drove for another 250 km and was starting to wonder if I had made a mistake. Its weird, the tyres do grip but the perception is that there isn't much grip. I can confirm this because I chuck my car very hard into corners, and the rear end actually breaks out less than with my previous Yokohamas. At one stage I was thinking of offloading them and taking a loss, and just buying the Bridgestones that I wanted. What I did find out eventually is that they take a bit longer to run in , and to improve the steering feel, I'm running the fronts at a slightly higher tyre pressure ( have no idea why but this improved things ). I'm now happy with the tyres , and as mentioned they deliver excellent comfort and quietness. These are perfect for the high mileage rep, not the first choice for the sporty driver as its definitely a touring tyre, but I've worked out a tyre pressure setting that works, and overall its a quality tyre that should deliver for the average driver. I may even keep them now for the duration of the lifespan.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-18 18:23:52
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 67% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Tyres have great grip, but completely ruined turn in to corners. Car has lost that go-cart feel, much heavier to turn, very vague in the front end. Shoiuld have stayed with the P-zero's.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-29 04:44:15
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SUR4G given 67% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-27 05:47:54
Writing about the Federal 595RSRR given 60% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-27 05:50:40
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 47% (225-40-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Had them on the rear of my GT86 and they were useless compared the Yokohamas that were on there. Yes they were slightly quieter but the grip was a lot less. I moved them straight to the front of the car. Now there is not as much grip up front but thats better than death trap at the back. Now I can just feel them understeering in the fast bends where the yokohamas just gripped. Will go back to the yokohamas next set and hope these wear out soon.... The shoulder of the tyre is starting to show premature wear as i drive them hard. This did not happen on the previous Yoko's and these f1's were £15 more each!! I would not buy them again due to the reduced grip they give me.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-13 15:35:43
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 44% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Got set of these tyres after I was unable to find Dunlop Direzza(1st gen) as I was very happy with those.

First few days on Zero Nero GT were positive, driving up to 60kmh was fine and I felt that the tyre had much more wet grip than my old Dunlops, which was really positive given our 300 days of rain in Ireland.

Few days later, I decided to go for a road trip where I had traveled good 500km in one go and most of it was in speeds above 80kmh on motorway. This was very scary road trip and I completely lost all confidence in my car, and as soon as that happens, I am just not enjoying the road trip. When changing line while overtaking, I felt that the car was very wobbly to the point, where I felt like I cannot really even turn the wheel. I was scared of overtaking and changing lanes. But that was not the end of it. They performed this way when shifting as well, accelerating from toll booth meant that with each shift the car moves ever so slightly sideways.

Now I can imagine that this tyre will be really good on less hard suspension, it will perform just fine on any cruiser or car that is made for long trips. It is not a good tyre for a car with sharp handling and very stiff suspension. I regret the purchase but I need that confidence and knowing that my car will react sharp and to the point every single time without any wobble or hesitation
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-13 01:02:11
Writing about the Event WL905 given 14% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I bought a toyota 86 about a month ago and since purchasing i have almost had an accident numerous times in the wet weather.
I was so confused because the tread had not worn out at all.
I went to check out reviews on these tyres and see that so many other people have had the same problem!
These tyres should not even be allowed to be on the market! I have had to drive at such a slow speed in the wet weather because i am too afraid that i will have an accident.
Now i have to fork out money to replace these tyres just so that i can feel safe in my car again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-29 01:44:06
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre